Pipeline Profiles: Trans Quebéc & Maritimes

Pipeline system and key points

Updated September 2018

Trans Québec & Maritimes pipeline system map

The Trans Québec & Maritimes pipeline (TQM) transports natural gas in the province of Québec. The pipeline commenced operations in 1982. At the end of 2016, regulated assets include 572 km of pipeline and various auxiliary infrastructures. Gaz Métro Holding Inc., a wholly-owned subsidiary of Gaz Métro Limited Partnership and TransCanada PipeLines Limited are the general partners of TQM.

TQM extends from an interconnect with the TransCanada Mainline near Saint Lazare, Québec, to a point near Québec City in the municipality of Lévis on the south shore of the St. Lawrence River. TQM also extends from Terrebonne, north of Montreal, to a point on the Canada-U.S. border near East Hereford, Québec. The TQM pipeline has 31 delivery points and two compressor stations.

Key points on TQM include:

  • East Hereford – export interconnect with the Portland Natural Gas Transmission System at the Canada-U.S. border near East Hereford, Québec. TQM delivers natural gas customers in the U.S. states of Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine and Massachusetts.
  • Saint Lazare – interconnect with the TransCanada Mainline near Saint Lazare, Québec. The TransCanada Mainline delivers natural gas produced in the Western Canadian Sedimentary Basin and the Appalachian Basin.

Board documents related to the construction, operation and maintenance of the TQM pipeline can be found here: TQM pipeline regulatory documents [Folder 90703].

You can see the TQM pipeline and all NEB-regulated pipelines on the Board’s Interactive Pipeline Map. The map shows more detailed location information, the products carried by each pipeline, the operating status and more.

Condition Compliance

Updated September 2018

Every pipeline company in Canada must meet federal, provincial or territorial, and local requirements. This includes Acts, Regulations, rules, bylaws, and zoning restrictions. Pipelines are also bound by technical, safety, and environmental standards along with company rules, protocols and management systems. In addition to these requirements, the Board may add conditions to regulatory instruments that each company must meet. Condition compliance is monitored by the Board and enforcement action is taken when required. For a detailed list of conditions that TQM must meet, and their status, please see the condition compliance table and search for “Trans Québec and Maritimes Pipeline Inc.”

Safety Performance

Updated September 2018

The Board holds the companies it regulates accountable to protect the safety of Canadians and the environment. As part of this accountability, companies must report events such as incidents and unauthorized activities to the Board. For a summary of pipeline incidents and unauthorized activities on the TQM pipeline since 2008, visit the Safety performance dashboard and select “Trans Québec and Maritimes Pipeline Inc.”

Emergency Management

Updated September 2018

The NEB checks to make sure companies are keeping pipelines safe by doing inspections, in-depth safety audits, and other activities. Yet, even with these precautions, an emergency could still happen. Sound emergency management practices improve public safety and environmental protection outcomes, and provide for more effective emergency response.

The NEB holds its regulated companies responsible for anticipating, preventing, mitigating, and managing incidents of any size or duration. Each company must have an emergency management program that includes detailed emergency procedures manuals to guide its response in an emergency situation. We oversee the emergency management program of a regulated company’s projects until they cease to operate.

The Board requires companies to publish information on their emergency management program and their emergency procedures manuals on their websites so Canadians can access emergency management information. To view Trans Québec & Maritimes’ Emergency Response Plans, view TransCanada’s Central Region and Eastern Region plans at its Emergency Preparedness website.

Throughput and capacityFootnote 1

Updated quarterly

Open data can be freely used and shared by anyone for any purpose. The data for these graphs are available.

Tolls

Updated September 2018

A toll is the price charged by a pipeline company for transportation and other services. Tolls allow pipeline companies to safely operate and maintain pipelines. Tolls also provide funds for companies to recover capital (the money used to build the pipeline), pay debts, and provide a return to investors. The interactive graph below shows the TQM T-1 firm transportation toll for the system per month since 2006. Tolls increased in 2017 under the toll settlement from $6.6 million per month in 2016 to $7.3 million in 2017.

TQM tolls are calculated in accordance with a toll settlement for 2017 to 2021 and are cost-based. The Board approved TQM’s tolling methodology in February 2017 (Order TG-001-2017) [Folder 3179270]. The TransCanada Mainline has a firm contract for all the capacity on TQM and demand charges are paid by TransCanada PipeLines, regardless of flows.

Official Board documents related to the traffic, tolls and tariffs for TQM can be found here: TQM toll documents [Folder 92841].

A list of shippers on the TQM pipeline is available in an annual filing TQM submits to the NEB, Application of 2018 Final Tolls (Contract Quantities, PDF page 15 of 26) [Folder 3546910].

Abandonment funding

Updated May 2018

The Board requires all pipelines to set aside funds to safely cease operation of a pipeline at the end of its useful life. In 2016, TQM estimated it would cost $116 million to do this. These funds will be collected over 25 years and are being set aside in a trust. Official Board documents related to abandonment funding can be found here, sorted by year and by company: abandonment funding documents [Folder 3300366].

Pipeline financial information

Updated March 2018

Pipeline companies report important financial information to the Board quarterly or annually. A solid financial position enables companies to maintain their pipeline systems, attract capital to build new infrastructure, and meet the market’s evolving needs. The data in this table comes from TQM’s Quarterly Surveillance Reports [Folder 155540].

TQM’s 2017-2021 Settlement Agreement and previous settlement agreements since 2010 set a fixed return on rate base and did not specify a capital structure or rate of return on equity. For illustrative purposes, TQM reports its rate of return on rate base based on the After Tax Weighted Average Cost of Capital (ATWACC) methodology as approved by the NEB’s most recent cost of capital decision for TQM, RH-1-2008 [Document 551438]. Because the ATWACC includes after-tax return on debt as well as return on equity on the full rate base, it is typically lower than return on equity reported on only the equity component of rate base. In recent years it has averaged about 6%. TQM’s revenue has been stable, and its costs and rate base have been declining.

Table 1: TQM financial data
TQM financial data> 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Revenues (millions) $82 $82 $82 $79 $81 $84 $81 $85
Fixed costs (millions) $70 $69 $69 $64 $60 $59 $56 $57
Average Rate base (millions) $413 $394 $373 $362 $353 $343 $340 $334
Return on equity 6.4% 6.47% 6.76% 5.66% 6.12% 5.91% 6.40% 5.32%

Corporate financial information

Updated January 2018

TQM is owned by Trans Québec & Maritimes Pipeline Inc. which is owned 50% by TransCanada PipeLines Limited and 50% by Gaz Métro Holding Inc., a wholly-owned subsidiary of Gas Métro Limited Partnership, the natural gas distribution company in Québec. Its credit rating is highly influenced by Trans Canada PipeLines’ credit rating, as nearly all of TQM’s earnings are from a long-term contract with TransCanada PipeLines Limited. All financial ratios have remained stable and TQM’s credit ratings remain investment grade.

Credit ratings and financial ratios provide an idea of the financial strength of a company, including its ability to attract capital to build new infrastructure and meet financial obligations. The credit ratings below are expert opinions of how likely the debt issuer is to live up to its obligations. The financial ratios provided below were calculated by DBRS.

Table 2: Trans Quebec & Maritimes Pipeline Inc. financial ratios and credit ratings
Trans Quebec & Maritimes Pipeline Inc. financial ratios and credit ratings 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Interest and fixed-charges coverage ratio 3.75 3.98 4.29 4.51 n/a
Cash flow-to-total debt and equivalents ratio 16.7% 17.7% 18.0% 18.7% n/a
DBRS credit rating A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low)
S&P credit rating n/a A- A- A- A-

Financial regulatory audits

Updated March 2018

The Board audits pipeline companies to confirm compliance with the National Energy Board Act, regulations, Board orders and Board decisions. Financial regulatory audits focus on toll and tariff matters such as detecting cross-subsidies. TQM’s last audit was completed in April 2011. Official Board documents related to TQM’s financial regulatory audits can be found here [Folder 646387].

Date modified:

Profils des sociétés pipelinières : Gazoduc Trans Québec & Maritimes

Réseau et principaux points

Mise à jour : septembre 2018

Carte du réseau pipelinier de Gazoduc Trans Québec & Maritimes

Le réseau de Gazoduc TransQuébec & Maritimes Inc. (le « réseau TQM ») transporte du gaz naturel dans la province de Québec. Il a été mis en service en 1982. À la fin de 2016, les actifs réglementés de TQM comprenaient 572 km de canalisations ainsi que diverses infrastructures auxiliaires. Gaz Métro Holding Inc., société à part entière de Gaz Métro Limited Partnership, et TransCanada PipeLines Limited sont les commandités de TQM.

Le réseau TQM s’étend d’un point d’interconnexion avec le réseau principal de TransCanada PipeLines Limited, près de Saint-Lazare, au Québec, jusqu’à un point situé près de Québec, plus précisément dans la municipalité de Lévis, sur la rive Sud du Saint-Laurent. Le réseau TQM relie également Terrebonne, au nord de Montréal, à un point situé à la frontière canado-américaine, près d’East Hereford, au Québec. Il compte 31 points de livraison et deux stations de compression.

Principaux points du réseau TQM

  • East Hereford – Point d’exportation où le réseau se raccorde au réseau de Portland Natural Gas Transmission System, à la frontière canado-américaine près d’East Hereford, au Québec, afin d’acheminer du gaz naturel vers des marchés du Vermont, du New Hampshire, du Maine et du Massachusetts.
  • Saint-Lazare – Point d’interconnexion avec le réseau principal de TransCanada près de Saint-Lazare, au Québec. Le réseau principal de TransCanada transporte du gaz naturel produit dans le bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien et le bassin des Appalaches.

Les documents officiels de l’Office portant sur la construction, l’exploitation et l’entretien du réseau TQM se trouvent ici : documents de réglementation relatifs au réseau TQM [dossier 90703].

La carte interactive des pipelines montre ceux de TQM ainsi que tous les autres qui sont réglementés par l’Office. Elle renferme des renseignements détaillés sur l’emplacement de chacun, les produits transportés, l’état d’exploitation et plus encore.

Conformité aux conditions

Mise à jour : septembre 2018

Au Canada, les sociétés pipelinières sont tenues de satisfaire à des exigences fédérales, provinciales ou territoriales et locales, qu’il s’agisse notamment de lois, règlements municipaux ou autres, règles ou restrictions de zonage. Par ailleurs, les pipelines doivent respecter des normes techniques ainsi qu’en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement, sans oublier les règles internes d’une société, ses protocoles et ses systèmes de gestion. L’Office peut aussi intégrer des conditions aux instruments réglementaires qui lient les sociétés. Il s’assure ensuite de leur respect et des mesures d’exécution sont prises au besoin. Pour une liste détaillée des conditions que TQM doit remplir et savoir ce qu’il en est au juste à ce sujet, prière de consulter le tableau de conformité aux conditions pour « Gazoduc Trans Québec & Maritimes ».

Bilan de sécurité

Mise à jour : septembre 2018

L’Office tient les sociétés qu’il réglemente responsables d’assurer la sécurité des Canadiens et de protéger l’environnement. À cette fin elles doivent notamment déclarer certains événements, comme les incidents et les activités non autorisées. Pour un résumé des incidents pipeliniers et des activités non autorisées sur le réseau de TQM depuis 2008, prière de visiter le bilan du rendement en matière de sécurité pour « Gazoduc Trans Québec & Maritimes ».

Gestion des situations d’urgence

Mise à jour : septembre 2018

L’Office veille au grain pour s’assurer que les pipelines des sociétés ne présentent pas de danger, que ce soit au moyen d’inspections, d’audits approfondis de la sécurité ou d’autres activités. Ces précautions peuvent ne pas toujours suffire et de saines pratiques de gestion des situations d’urgence améliorent la sécurité du public, en plus de mieux protéger l’environnement et de permettre des interventions plus efficaces.

L’Office tient les sociétés qu’il réglemente responsables de prévoir, de prévenir, d’atténuer et de gérer les incidents, peu importe leur ampleur et leur durée. Chacune doit disposer d’un programme de gestion des urgences qui comprend des manuels détaillés des mesures à prendre afin de bien orienter l’intervention selon la situation. L’Office surveille la teneur de ces programmes à l’égard des projets d’une société réglementée jusqu’à la cessation d’exploitation de ces derniers.

Les sociétés sont obligées de publier sur leur site Web de l’information au sujet du programme et des manuels précités de manière que les Canadiens y aient accès pour la gestion des situations d’urgence. Pour prendre connaissance des plans d’intervention de Gazoduc Trans Québec & Maritimes, rendez-vous sur le site Web de TransCanada pour les régions Centre [anglais seulement] et Est [anglais seulement] après avoir cliqué sur la page traitant de la préparation aux situations d’urgence [anglais seulement].

Débit et capacitéFootnote 1

Mise à jour chaque trimestre.

Les données ouvertes peuvent être utilisées et transmises librement. Les données pour ces graphiques sont disponibles.

Droits

Mise à jour : septembre 2018

Un droit est le prix exigé par une société pipelinière pour les services de transport et autres. Les droits permettent aux sociétés pipelinières d’exploiter et d’entretenir les pipelines de façon sûre. Les droits procurent également aux sociétés des fonds pour récupérer le capital engagé (l’argent ayant servi à construire le pipeline), payer les dettes et verser un rendement aux investisseurs. Le graphique interactif ci-dessous indique les droits mensuels de transport garanti TQM T-1 qui sont exigibles sur le réseau depuis 2006. L’entrée en vigueur d’un nouveau règlement a fait passer les droits mensuels de 6,6 millions de dollars en 2016 à 7,3 millions de dollars en 2017.

Les droits exigibles sur le réseau TQM sont fondés sur le coût, conformément au règlement à cet égard pour la période de 2017 à 2021. En février 2017, l’Office a approuvé la méthode de conception des droits proposée par TQM (ordonnance TG-001-2017) [dossier 3179270]. Toute la capacité du réseau TQM fait l’objet d’un contrat de service garanti avec TransCanada PipeLines Limited, qui se charge des droits liés à la demande, peu importe le sens d’écoulement.

Les documents officiels de l’Office portant sur le transport, les droits et les tarifs pour le réseau TQM se trouvent ici : documents de réglementation relatifs au réseau TQM [dossier 92841].

Une liste des expéditeurs présents sur le réseau de TQM est disponible dans la demande visant les droits définitifs exigibles en 2018 (quantités contractuelles à la page 15 sur 26 du document PDF en anglais) [dossier 3546910].

Financement de la cessation d’exploitation

Mise à jour : mai 2018

L’Office exige que toutes les sociétés pipelinières mettent de côté des fonds pour assurer la sûreté des activités de cessation d’exploitation à la fin de la vie utile des pipelines. En 2016, TQM a estimé le coût de la cessation d’exploitation à 116 millions de dollars. Recueillie sur une période de 25 ans, la somme est versée dans un compte en fiducie. Les documents officiels de l’Office sur le financement de la cessation d’exploitation, classés par année et par société, sont accessibles ici : documents sur le financement de la cessation d’exploitation [dossier 3300366].

Renseignements financiers sur le réseau

Mise à jour : mars 2018

Chaque trimestre ou chaque année, les sociétés pipelinières déclarent des renseignements financiers importants à l’Office. Une position financière solide permet aux sociétés d’entretenir leur réseau pipelinier, d’attirer des capitaux pour construire de nouvelles infrastructures et de répondre aux besoins changeants du marché. Les données du tableau ci-après proviennent des rapports de surveillance trimestriels de TQM [dossier 155540].

Tout comme les ententes de règlement précédentes concernant les années 2010 à 2016, l’entente de règlement visant le réseau TQM pour la période de 2017 à 2021 fixe le taux de rendement sur la base tarifaire, sans préciser la structure du capital ou le taux de rendement du capital-actions. Par exemple, TQM calcule le taux de rendement sur la base tarifaire conformément à la méthode approuvée dans la dernière décision de l’Office relativement au coût de son capital (RH-1-2008) [Document 551438], c’est-à-dire en fonction du coût moyen pondéré du capital après impôt (le « CMPCAI »). Parce que le CMPCAI tient compte d’un rendement de la dette après impôt en plus du rendement total du capital-actions (pour l’ensemble de la base tarifaire), il est normalement inférieur au rendement sur le capital-actions dont il est fait état pour la composante capital-actions de la base tarifaire. Ces dernières années, il s’est chiffré en moyenne à 6 %. Les produits de TQM sont stables, mais ses coûts et sa base tarifaire sont en baisse.

Tableau 1 : Données financières sur le réseau TQM
  2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Revenus (en millions) 82 $ 82 $ 82 $ 79 $ 81 $ 84 $ 81 $ 85 $
Coûts fixes (en millions) 70 $ 69 $ 69 $ 64 $ 60 $ 59 $ 56 $ 57 $
Base tarifaire moyenne (en millions) 413 $ 394 $ 373 $ 362 $ 353 $ 343 $ 340 $ 334 $
Rendement du capital-actions 6,4 % 6,47 % 6,76 % 5,66 % 6,12 % 5,91 % 6,40 % 5,32 %

Renseignements financiers sur la société

Mise à jour : janvier 2018

Le réseau TQM appartient à Gazoduc Trans Québec et Maritimes Inc., qui est une filiale à parts égales de TransCanada PipeLines Limited et de Gaz Métro Holding Inc. Cette dernière est une société à part entière de Société en commandite Gaz Métro, société de distribution du gaz naturel au Québec. La cote de solvabilité de TransCanada PipeLines Limited a une grande incidence sur la cote de solvabilité de Gazoduc TransQuébec & Maritimes Inc., étant donné que la quasi-totalité du bénéfice de cette dernière provient d’un contrat à long terme avec TransCanada PipeLines Limited. Tous les ratios financiers sont demeurés stables et les cotes de solvabilité de la société continuent d’être jugées de qualité placement.

Les cotes de solvabilité et les ratios financiers reflètent la solidité financière d’une société, y compris sa capacité d’attirer des capitaux pour construire de nouvelles infrastructures et de remplir ses obligations financières. Les cotes de solvabilité qui suivent sont des opinions d’expert sur la probabilité que le débiteur remplisse ses obligations. Les ratios financiers ci-dessous ont été calculés par le Dominion Bond Rating Service, ou DBRS.

Tableau 2 : Ratios financiers et cotes de solvabilité de Gazoduc Trans Québec et Maritimes Inc.
  2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Ratio de couverture des intérêts et des charges fixes 3,75 3,98 4,29 4,51 s.o.
Ratio flux de trésorerie-dette totale et quasi-dette 16,7 % 17,7 % 18,0 % 18,7 % s.o.
Cote accordée par DBRS A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible)
Cote accordée par S&P s.o. A- A- A- A-

Audit au titre de la réglementation financière

Mise à jour : mars 2018

L’Office audite les sociétés pipelinières afin de confirmer le respect de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, des règlements ainsi que de ses ordonnances et décisions. Les audits au titre de la réglementation financière portent essentiellement sur des questions de droits et tarifs, pour relever, notamment, les cas d’interfinancement. Le dernier audit auprès de TQM a été effectué le avril 2011. Les documents officiels de l’Office concernant les audits au titre de la réglementation financière de TQM se trouvent ici [dossier 646387].

 

Date de modification :