Pipeline Profiles: TransCanada Mainline

Pipeline system and key points

Updated September 2018

TransCanada Mainline pipeline system map

TransCanada PipeLines Limited (TCPL) owns the TransCanada Mainline. The pipeline transports natural gas produced in the Western Canadian Sedimentary Basin to consumers in eastern Canada and the United States. Since the mid–2000s on the eastern portion of the Mainline some export points were reversed to become import points and bring natural gas produced in the Appalachian Basin into Canada.

The pipeline commenced operations in 1958. At the end of 2016, NEB-regulated assets included 14 125 km of pipeline and various auxiliary infrastructure.

The TransCanada Mainline extends from the Alberta/Saskatchewan border across Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Ontario, and through a portion of Quebec.

Key points on the TransCanada Mainline include:

  • Prairies (Empress):  interconnect with the NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. (NGTL) system at the Alberta/Saskatchewan border near Empress, Alberta. Empress is the largest receipt point on the Mainline.
  • Emerson: export interconnect with the Viking Gas Transmission Pipeline at the Canada-U.S. border near Emerson, Manitoba.
  • Emerson II: export/import interconnect with the Great Lakes Gas Transmission Pipeline on the Canada-U.S. border near Emerson, Manitoba.
  • Northern Ontario Line (NOL): segment of the Mainline which begins near compressor  41 in Manitoba and extends to compressor station 116 near North Bay, Ontario.
  • Eastern Triangle – NOL Receipts: includes receipts from the NOL segment which are measured at station 116 in North Bay, Ontario.
  • Eastern Triangle – Parkway Receipt: includes receipts from Parkway East, Parkway West and King’s North, all located in the greater Toronto area, Ontario.
  • Chippawa: import interconnect with the Empire Pipeline at the Canada-U.S. border near Niagara Falls, Ontario. Prior to 2015, Chippawa was an export point.
  • Niagara: import interconnect with the Tennessee Gas Pipeline and the National Fuel Gas Pipeline at the Canada-U.S. border near Niagara Falls, Ontario. Prior to 2012, Niagara was an export point.
  • Iroquois: export interconnect with the Iroquois Gas Transmission System at the Canada-U.S. border near Iroquois, Ontario.
  • Other US Northeast: export interconnects with three smaller U.S. pipelines at the Canada-U.S. border near Cornwall, Ontario and Napierville and Phillipsburg, Quebec. ‘Other US Northeast’ flows is an aggregate of these three export points.

TCPL has been adding pipeline facilities in the Eastern Triangle to meet market demand, relieve Mainline constraints and enable more natural gas to flow into Ontario from the U.S.

In November 2017, the Board approved [Document 3392379] the Iroquo the Ottawa Project and the Richmond Project which are collectively known as the SE Ontario Meter Station Project [Folder 3173053]. The project entails modifications to the Iroquois export meter station in Ontario to facilitate bi-directional flow and upgrades to existing meter stations in Ottawa.

In August 2016, the Board approved TCPL’s Vaughan Mainline Expansion Project [Folder 2856848] (Order XG-T211-020-2016) [Filing A78823]. The project was underpinned by 15-year contracts from 12 shippers for 425 terajoules per day (TJ/d) of incremental firm service and entailed construction of approximately 12 km of pipeline looping, valves and other associated facilities in Vaughn, Ontario. The project came online in November 2017.

In June 2015, the Board approved TCPL’s King’s North Connection Pipeline Project [Folder 2498195] (Order XG-T211-027-2015) [Filing A70496]. The project was underpinned by 15-year contracts from 2 shippers for 364 TJ/d of incremental firm service and entailed construction of approximately 11 km of pipeline looping, valves and other associated facilities in Toronto, Ontario. The project came online in November 2016.

In May 2015, the Board approved TCPL’s Greater Golden Horseshoe Facilities Project [Folder 2695030] (Order XG-T211-025-2015) [Filing A69916]. The project was underpinned by 15-year contracts from three shippers for 123 TJ/d of incremental receipts from Chippawa and 224 TJ/d from Niagara. The project came online in late 2015.

Official Board documents related to the construction, operation and maintenance of the TransCanada Mainline can be found here: TransCanada Mainline regulatory documents (facilities) [Folder 90715].

You can see the TransCanada Mainline and all NEB-regulated pipelines on the Board’s Interactive Pipeline Map. The map shows more detailed location information, the products carried by each pipeline, the operating status and more.

Condition Compliance

Updated September 2018

Every pipeline company in Canada must meet federal, provincial or territorial, and local requirements. This includes Acts, Regulations, rules, bylaws, and zoning restrictions. Pipelines are also bound by technical, safety, and environmental standards along with company rules, protocols and management systems. In addition to these requirements, the Board may add conditions to regulatory instruments that each company must meet. Condition compliance is monitored by the Board and enforcement action is taken when required. For a detailed list of conditions that TCPL must meet, and their status, please see the condition compliance table and search for “TransCanada PipeLines Limited”.

Safety Performance

Updated September 2018

The Board holds the companies it regulates accountable to protect the safety of Canadians and the environment. As part of this accountability, companies must report events such as incidents and unauthorized activities to the Board. For a summary of pipeline incidents and unauthorized activities on the TransCanada Mainline since 2008, visit the Safety performance dashboard and select “TransCanada PipeLines Limited”.

Emergency Management

Updated September 2018

The NEB checks to make sure companies are keeping pipelines safe by doing inspections, in-depth safety audits, and other activities. Yet, even with these precautions, an emergency could still happen. Sound emergency management practices improve public safety and environmental protection outcomes, and provide for more effective emergency response.

The NEB holds its regulated companies responsible for anticipating, preventing, mitigating, and managing incidents of any size or duration. Each company must have an emergency management program that includes detailed emergency procedures manuals to guide its response in an emergency situation. We oversee the emergency management program of a regulated company’s projects until they cease to operate.

The Board requires companies to publish information on their emergency management program and their emergency procedures manuals on their websites so Canadians can access emergency management information. To view TransCanada Mainline’s Emergency Response Plans, view TransCanada’s Rocky Mountain Region, Central Region, Northern Ontario Region, and Eastern Region plans at its Emergency Preparedness website.

Throughput and capacityFootnote 1

Updated quarterly

Open data can be freely used and shared by anyone for any purpose. The data for these graphs are available.

Tolls

Updated September 2018

A toll is the price charged by a pipeline company for transportation and other services. Tolls allow pipeline companies to safely operate and maintain pipelines. Tolls also provide funds for companies to recover capital (the money used to build the pipeline), pay debts, and provide a return to investors. The interactive graph below shows TransCanada Mainline tolls on major long-haul and short-haul paths. Long-haul paths have Empress as a receipt point, while short-haul paths have receipt points east of Saskatchewan, such as Union Parkway Belt. Tolls increased in January 2015 to cover costs of new facilities in the Eastern Triangle.

For several years, contracts on the TransCanada Mainline showed two distinct trends. First, long-haul contracts (from Empress across the Prairies and NOL) declined and short-haul contracts (in the Eastern Triangle) increased. Across the lower utilized Prairies and NOL sections, shippers were switching to interruptible or short-term firm contracts rather than using full-year firm service.

From 2007 to 2011, the TransCanada Mainline operated under a negotiated settlement based on a cost of service toll methodology. As average throughput declined and tolls increased, TransCanada and its shippers worked to find solutions. TransCanada filed a contested toll application (Application for Business and Services Restructuring Proposal and 2012 and 2013 Mainline Final Tolls [Folder 711778], RH-003-2011), the outcome of which resulted in much lower multi-year fixed tolls. Also in this decision, the Board gave TransCanada discretion in the pricing of interruptible transportation capacity. When the RH-003-2011 Decision was implemented in mid-2013, firm contracts from Empress increased.

TransCanada and three eastern local distribution companies (LDCs) returned to the Board at the end of 2013 with an application for a new toll regime incenting TransCanada to build new facilities in the Eastern Triangle (Application for Approval of Mainline 2015-2030 Settlement) [Folder 2397890]. The Board approved this application in December 2014, resulting in somewhat higher tolls, a return to cost of service tolls, and other features. This toll methodology was expected to be in place until 2020 with a review in 2017. On 18 December 2017 TransCanada filed an Application for 2018-2020 Mainline Tolls [Filing A88754].

In October 2017, the Board approved TransCanada’s Dawn Long-Term Fixed Price (Dawn LTFP) [Folder 3224371] service. Under the Dawn LTFP service, 23 shippers subscribed to transport 1.5 PJ/d from Empress to Dawn for a ten-year term, at a fixed price of $0.77/GJ.

In July 2017, the Board approved TransCanada’s Herbert Long-Term Fixed Price service [Folder 3173691]. Under this service, one shipper subscribed to transport 58 TJ/d from Empress to the Herbert delivery point in Saskatchewan for a 10-year term, at a fixed price of $0.12/GJ.

A list of shippers on the TransCanada Mainline is available on the TransCanada website (Contract Demand Energy, Future Contract Demand Energy reports).

Official Board documents related to the traffic, tolls and tariffs for the TransCanada Mainline can be found here: TransCanada Mainline regulatory documents (tolls and tariffs) [Folder 92843].

Abandonment funding

Updated May 2018

The Board requires all pipelines to set aside funds to safely cease operation of a pipeline at the end of its useful life. In 2016, TCPL estimated it would cost $2.9 billion to do this for the Mainline. These funds will be collected over 25 years and are being set aside in a trust. Official Board documents related to abandonment funding can be found here, sorted by year and by company: abandonment funding documents [Folder 3300366].

Pipeline financial information

Updated March 2018

Pipeline companies report important financial information to the Board quarterly or annually. A solid financial position enables companies to maintain their pipeline systems, attract capital to build new infrastructure, and meet the market’s evolving needs. The data in this table comes from TransCanada Mainline’s Quarterly Surveillance Reports [Folder 155521].

The Mainline’s revenue increased from 2014 on due to increased contracting and the ability to set higher tolls for non-firm services.

Table 1: TransCanada Mainline financial data
  2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Revenues (millions) $1 818 $1 856 $1 559 $1 519 $1 645 $2 397 $2 128 $1 900
Net income (millions) $263 $247 $266 $273 $293 $201 $187 $180
Average rate base (millions) $6 447 $6 165 $5 776 $5 752 $5 612 $4 617 $4 074 $3 924
Deemed equity ratio 40% 40% 40% 40% 40% 40% 40% 40%
Return on equity 10.2% 10% 11.5% 11.88% 13.06% 10.86% 11.50% 11.50%

Corporate financial information

Updated January 2018

The TransCanada Mainline is owned and operated by TransCanada PipeLines Limited (TCPL). TCPL has operations in Canada, the United States and Mexico and operates three core businesses: natural gas pipelines, liquids pipelines and energy. In 2016, the Mainline accounted for approximately 10% of TCPL’s net income. All financial ratios have remained stable and TCPL’s credit ratings remain investment grade.

Credit ratings and financial ratios provide an idea of the financial strength of a company, including its ability to attract capital to build new infrastructure and meet financial obligations. The credit ratings below are expert opinions of how likely the debt issuer is to live up to its obligations. The financial ratios provided below were calculated by DBRS.

Table 2: TransCanada PipeLines Limited financial ratios and credit ratings
  2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Interest and fixed-charges coverage ratio 2.40 2.68 2.55 2.37 n/a
Cash flow-to-total debt and equivalents ratio 15.5% 15.9% 13.8% 11.0% n/a
DBRS credit rating A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low)
S&P credit rating A- A- A- A- A-
Moody’s credit rating A3 A3 A3 A3 A3

Financial regulatory audits

Updated March 2018

The Board audits pipeline companies to confirm compliance with the National Energy Board Act, regulations, Board orders and Board decisions. Financial regulatory audits focus on toll and tariff matters such as detecting cross-subsidies. TransCanada Mainline’s last audit was completed in March 2017. Official Board documents related to TransCanada Mainline’s financial regulatory audits can be found here: [Folder 571547].

 

Date modified:

Profils des sociétés pipelinières : Réseau principal de TransCanada

Réseau et principaux points

Mise à jour : septembre 2018

Carte du réseau pipelinier principal de TransCanada

Le réseau principal de TransCanada appartient à TransCanada PipeLines Limited (« TCPL »). Il achemine du gaz naturel produit dans le bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien vers les consommateurs de l’Est du Canada et des États-Unis. Vers le milieu des années 2000, le sens d’écoulement de certains points d’exportation de la partie est du réseau a été inversé afin d’en faire des points d’importation de gaz naturel provenant du bassin appalachien.

Le réseau est entré en service en 1958. À la fin de 2016, les actifs réglementés par l’Office national de l’énergie comprenaient 14 125 km de canalisations ainsi que diverses infrastructures auxiliaires.

Le réseau s’étend de la limite territoriale de l’Alberta jusqu’au Québec, en passant par la Saskatchewan, le Manitoba et l’Ontario.

Principaux points du réseau principal de TransCanada

  • Prairies (« Empress ») – Point de raccordement au réseau de NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. (« NGTL ») situé près d’Empress, en Alberta, à la limite entre l’Alberta et la Saskatchewan. Il s’agit du plus important point de réception du réseau.
  • Emerson – Point d’exportation où le réseau se raccorde au réseau de Viking Gas Transmission Pipeline, à la frontière canado-américaine près d’Emerson, au Manitoba.
  • Emerson II – Point d’exportation et d’importation où le réseau se raccorde au réseau de Great Lakes Gas Transmission Pipeline, à la frontière canado-américaine, près d’Emerson, au Manitoba.
  • Canalisation du Nord de l’Ontario (« CNO ») – Tronçon du réseau principal qui prend son origine près de la station de compression 41, au Manitoba, et s’étend jusqu’à la station de compression 116, près de North Bay, en Ontario.
  • Triangle de l’Est – CNO – Les réceptions à ce point proviennent notamment du tronçon de la CNO dont le débit et la capacité sont mesurés à la station 116, près de North Bay, en Ontario.
  • Triangle de l’Est – Parkway – Les réceptions à ce point proviennent des tronçons Parkway East, Parkway West et King’s North, tous dans la région du Grand Toronto.
  • Chippawa – Point d’importation où le réseau se raccorde au pipeline Empire, à la frontière canado-américaine, près de Niagara Falls, en Ontario. Avant 2015, Chippawa était un point d’exportation.
  • Niagara – Point d’importation où le réseau se raccorde au réseau de Tennessee Gas Pipeline et de National Fuel Gas Pipeline, à la frontière canado-américaine, près de Niagara Falls, en Ontario. Avant 2012, Niagara était un point d’exportation.
  • Iroquois – Point d’exportation où le réseau se raccorde au réseau d’Iroquois Gas Transmission System, à la frontière canado-américaine, près d’Iroquois, en Ontario.
  • Nord-Est des États-Unis (autre) – Point d’exportation où le réseau se raccorde à trois petits réseaux américains : en Ontario, à la frontière canado-américaine, près de Cornwall, et au Québec, près de Napierville et de Phillipsburg. Le débit au point Nord-Est des États-Unis (autre) est un agrégat du débit à ces trois points d’exportation.

TCPL ajoute régulièrement de nouvelles installations pipelinières au triangle de l’Est, afin de répondre à la demande du marché, de faire face aux contraintes sur le réseau et d’accroître le débit de gaz naturel des États-Unis vers l’Ontario.

En novembre 217, l’Office a approuvé [document 3392379] les projets Iroquois, Ottawa et Richmond, collectivement désignés sous le nom de projet de stations de comptage dans le Sud-Est de l’Ontario [dossier 3173053]. Ce projet prévoit la modification de la station de comptage au point d’exportation Iroquois afin de permettre un écoulement bidirectionnel et de mettre à niveau les stations de comptage se trouvant à Ottawa.

En août 2016, l’Office a approuvé le projet d’agrandissement du réseau principal à Vaughan [dossier 2856848] de TCPL (ordonnance XG-T211-020-2016) [dépôt A78823]. Le projet, qui était appuyé par 12 contrats de transport d’une durée de 15 ans chacun pour un service garanti supplémentaire de 425 TJ/j, visait la construction d’un nouveau doublement d’environ 12 km de long, ainsi que des vannes et des ouvrages connexes, à Vaughan, en Ontario. Il a été mis en service en novembre 2017.

En juin 2015, l’Office a approuvé le projet de pipeline de raccordement King’s North [dossier 2498195] de TCPL (ordonnance XG-T211-027-2015) [dépôt A70496)]. Le projet, qui était appuyé par deux contrats de transport d’une durée de 15 ans chacun pour un service garanti supplémentaire de 364 TJ/j, visait la construction d’un nouveau doublement d’environ 11 km de long, ainsi que des vannes et des ouvrages connexes, à Toronto, en Ontario. Le projet a été mis en service en novembre 2016.

En mai 2015, l’Office a approuvé le projet de construction et d’exploitation des installations Greater Golden Horseshoe [dossier 2695030] de TCPL (ordonnance XG-T211-025-2015) [dépôt A69916]. Le projet était appuyé par trois contrats d’une durée de 15 ans chacun pour une capacité supplémentaire de réception de 123 TJ/j en provenance de Chippawa et de 224 TJ/j en provenance de Niagara. Il a été mis en service à la fin de 2015.

Les documents officiels de l’Office portant sur la construction, l’exploitation et l’entretien du réseau principal de TransCanada se trouvent ici : documents de réglementation sur le réseau principal de TransCanada (installations) [dossier 90715].

La carte interactive des pipelines montre ceux du réseau principal de TransCanada ainsi que tous les autres qui sont réglementés par l’Office. Elle renferme des renseignements détaillés sur l’emplacement de chacun, les produits transportés, l’état d’exploitation et plus encore.

Conformité aux conditions

Mise à jour : septembre 2018

Au Canada, les sociétés pipelinières sont tenues de satisfaire à des exigences fédérales, provinciales ou territoriales et locales, qu’il s’agisse notamment de lois, règlements municipaux ou autres, règles ou restrictions de zonage. Par ailleurs, les pipelines doivent respecter des normes techniques ainsi qu’en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement, sans oublier les règles internes d’une société, ses protocoles et ses systèmes de gestion. L’Office peut aussi intégrer des conditions aux instruments réglementaires qui lient les sociétés. Il s’assure ensuite de leur respect et des mesures d’exécution sont prises au besoin. Pour une liste détaillée des conditions que TCPL doit remplir et savoir ce qu’il en est au juste à ce sujet, prière de consulter le tableau de conformité aux conditions pour « TransCanada PipeLines Limited ».

Bilan de sécurité

Mise à jour : septembre 2018

L’Office tient les sociétés qu’il réglemente responsables d’assurer la sécurité des Canadiens et de protéger l’environnement. À cette fin elles doivent notamment déclarer certains événements, comme les incidents et les activités non autorisées. Pour un résumé des incidents pipeliniers et des activités non autorisées sur le réseau principal de TransCanada depuis 2008, prière de visiter le bilan du rendement en matière de sécurité pour « TransCanada PipeLines Limited ».

Gestion des situations d’urgence

Mise à jour : septembre 2018

L’Office veille au grain pour s’assurer que les pipelines des sociétés ne présentent pas de danger, que ce soit au moyen d’inspections, d’audits approfondis de la sécurité ou d’autres activités. Ces précautions peuvent ne pas toujours suffire et de saines pratiques de gestion des situations d’urgence améliorent la sécurité du public, en plus de mieux protéger l’environnement et de permettre des interventions plus efficaces.

L’Office tient les sociétés qu’il réglemente responsables de prévoir, de prévenir, d’atténuer et de gérer les incidents, peu importe leur ampleur et leur durée. Chacune doit disposer d’un programme de gestion des urgences qui comprend des manuels détaillés des mesures à prendre afin de bien orienter l’intervention selon la situation. L’Office surveille la teneur de ces programmes à l’égard des projets d’une société réglementée jusqu’à la cessation d’exploitation de ces derniers.

Les sociétés sont obligées de publier sur leur site Web de l’information au sujet du programme et des manuels précités de manière que les Canadiens y aient accès pour la gestion des situations d’urgence. Pour prendre connaissance des plans d’intervention sur le réseau principal de TransCanada, rendez-vous sur son site Web pour les régions Rocky Mountain [anglais seulement], Centre [anglais seulement], Nord de l’Ontario [anglais seulement] et Est [anglais seulement] après avoir cliqué sur la page traitant de la préparation aux situations d’urgence [anglais seulement].

Débit et capacitéNote 1

Mise à jour chaque trimestre.

Les données ouvertes peuvent être utilisées et transmises librement. Les données pour ces graphiques sont disponibles.

Droits

Mise à jour : septembre 2018

Un droit est le prix exigé par une société pipelinière pour les services de transport et autres. Les droits permettent aux sociétés pipelinières d’exploiter et d’entretenir les pipelines de façon sûre. Les droits procurent également aux sociétés des fonds pour récupérer le capital engagé (l’argent ayant servi à construire le pipeline), payer les dettes et verser un rendement aux investisseurs. Le graphique interactif ci-dessous montre les droits visant les principaux parcours à courte et à longue distances du réseau principal de TransCanada. Les parcours à longue distance ont le point de réception Empress, tandis que les parcours à courte distance aboutissent à des points de réception à l’est de la Saskatchewan (p. ex., Union Parkway Belt). TCPL a augmenté les droits visant le réseau en janvier 2015, afin de couvrir le coût de nouvelles installations dans le triangle de l’Est.

Deux tendances distinctes ont pu être observées pendant des années relativement au réseau principal de TransCanada : les contrats à grande distance (au départ d’Empress, via les Prairies et la CNO) diminuaient, alors que les contrats à courte distance (au sein du triangle de l’Est) augmentaient. En plus de moins recourir aux tronçons des Prairies et de la CNO, les expéditeurs délaissaient les contrats de transport garanti toute l’année pour privilégier les contrats de service interruptible ou de transport garanti à court terme.

De 2007 à 2011, TCPL a exploité le réseau principal conformément à un règlement négocié qui était fondé sur la méthode de conception des droits liée au coût de service. Au fil des baisses de débit et des augmentations des droits, TransCanada et ses expéditeurs ont dû collaborer pour trouver des solutions. En 2011, TransCanada a déposé devant l’Office une demande d’approbation de droits contestés, la demande visant la restructuration des activités et des services, ainsi que les droits exigibles sur le réseau principal en 2012 et 2013 [dossier 711778] (RH-003-2011), qui a donné lieu à une baisse marquée des droits fixes pluriannuels. Dans sa décision, l’Office a donné à TransCanada une certaine latitude en ce qui concerne la tarification du service de transport interruptible. L’application de la décision RH-003-2011 vers le milieu de 2011 a également entraîné une hausse des contrats à partir d’Empress.

À la fin de 2013, TransCanada et trois sociétés de distribution locale de l’Est ont demandé à l’Office d’approuver un nouveau régime de tarification qui inciterait TransCanada à construire de nouvelles installations dans le triangle de l’Est (demande d’approbation de l’entente de règlement pour le réseau principal pour la période de 2013 à 2030) [dossier 2397890]. L’approbation de la demande par l’Office, en décembre 2014, a donné lieu à une hausse des droits, dans une certaine mesure, au retour à la méthode de conception des droits liée au coût de service et à d’autres caractéristiques. La méthode de conception des droits devait être en vigueur jusqu’en 2020, sous réserve d’un examen en 2017. Le 18 décembre 2017, TransCanada a déposé devant l’Office une demande concernant les droits exigibles sur son réseau principal de 2018 à 2020 [dépôt A88754].

En octobre 2017, l’Office a approuvé la demande de TransCanada pour un service de transport à prix fixe longue durée jusqu’à Dawn [dossier 3224371]. Selon les modalités de ce service, 23 expéditeurs se sont engagés à faire transporter 1,5 PJ/j de gaz, d’Empress à Dawn, pendant une période de 10 ans au prix fixe de 0,77 $/GJ.

L’Office a approuvé la demande de TransCanada pour un service de transport à prix fixe longue durée jusqu’à Herbert [dossier 3173691] en juillet 2017. Selon les modalités de ce service, un expéditeur s’est engagé à faire transporter 58 TJ/j de gaz, du point de réception Empress au point de livraison Herbert, pendant une période de 10 ans au prix fixe de 0,12 $/GJ.

Une liste des expéditeurs présents sur le réseau principal de TransCanada est disponible dans son site Web (rapports sur la demande contractuelle actuelle et future en anglais).

Les documents officiels de l’Office portant sur le transport, les droits et les tarifs pour le réseau principal de TransCanada se trouvent ici : documents de réglementation visant le réseau principal de TransCanada (droits et tarifs) [dossier 92843].

Financement de la cessation d’exploitation

Mise à jour : mai 2018

L’Office exige que toutes les sociétés pipelinières mettent de côté des fonds pour assurer la sûreté des activités de cessation d’exploitation à la fin de la vie utile des pipelines. En 2016, TCPL a estimé à 2,9 milliards de dollars le coût d’une éventuelle cessation d’exploitation du réseau principal. Recueillie sur une période de 25 ans, la somme est versée dans un compte en fiducie. Les documents officiels de l’Office sur le financement de la cessation d’exploitation, classés par année et par société, sont accessibles ici : documents sur le financement de la cessation d’exploitation.

Renseignements financiers sur le réseau

Mise à jour : mars 2018

Chaque trimestre ou chaque année, les sociétés pipelinières déclarent des renseignements financiers importants à l’Office. Une position financière solide permet aux sociétés d’entretenir leur réseau pipelinier, d’attirer des capitaux pour construire de nouvelles infrastructures et de répondre aux besoins changeants du marché. Les données du tableau ci-après proviennent des rapports trimestriels de surveillance du réseau principal de TransCanada [dossier 155521].

Les produits du réseau principal ont commencé à augmenter en 2014, en raison de l’accroissement des contrats et de la capacité d’établir des droits plus élevés pour les services de transport non garanti.

Tableau 1 : Données financières sur le réseau principal de TransCanada
Données financières sur le réseau principal de TransCanada 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Produits (en millions) 1 818 $ 1 856 $ 1 559 $ 1 519 $ 1 645 $ 2 397 $ 2 128 $ 1 900 $
Bénéfice net (en millions) 263 $ 247 $ 266 $ 273 $ 293 $ 201 $ 187 $ 180 $
Base tarifaire moyenne (en millions) 6 447 $ 6 165 $ 5 776 $ 5 752 $ 5 612 $ 4 617 $ 4 074 $ 3 924 $
Ratio présumé du capital-actions ordinaires 40 % 40 % 40 % 40 % 40 % 40 % 40 % 40 %
Rendement du capital-actions ordinaires 10,2 % 10 % 11,5 % 11,88 % 13,06 % 10,86 % 11,50 % 11,50 %

Renseignements financiers sur la société

Mise à jour : janvier 2018

TCPL est la propriétaire-exploitante du réseau principal de TransCanada. TCPL a des installations au Canada, aux États-Unis et au Mexique. Elle est présente dans trois grands secteurs commerciaux : les gazoducs, les pipelines de liquides et l’électricité. Environ 10 % du bénéfice net de TCPL en 2016 a été généré par le réseau principal. Tous les ratios financiers sont demeurés stables et les cotes de solvabilité de TCPL continuent d’être jugées de qualité placement.

Les cotes de solvabilité et les ratios financiers reflètent la solidité financière d’une société, y compris sa capacité d’attirer des capitaux pour construire de nouvelles infrastructures et de remplir ses obligations financières. Les cotes de solvabilité qui suivent sont des opinions d’expert sur la probabilité que le débiteur remplisse ses obligations. Les ratios financiers ci-dessous ont été calculés par le Dominion Bond Rating Service, ou DBRS.

Tableau 2 : Ratios financiers et cotes de solvabilité de TransCanada PipeLines Limited
Ratios financiers et cotes de solvabilité de TransCanada PipeLines Limited 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Ratio de couverture des intérêts et des charges fixes 2,40 2,68 2,55 2,37 s.o.
Ratio flux de trésorerie-dette totale et quasi-dette 15,5 % 15,9 % 13,8 % 11,0 % s.o.
Cote accordée par DBRS A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible)
Cote accordée par S&P A- A- A- A- A-
Cote accordée par Moody’s A3 A3 A3 A3 A3

Audit au titre de la réglementation financière

Mise à jour : mars 2018

L’Office audite les sociétés pipelinières afin de confirmer le respect de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, des règlements ainsi que de ses ordonnances et décisions. Les audits au titre de la réglementation financière portent essentiellement sur des questions de droits et tarifs, pour relever, notamment, les cas d’interfinancement. Le dernier audit auprès de TransCanada a été effectué le mars 2017. Les documents officiels de l’Office concernant les audits au titre de la réglementation financière de TransCanada se trouvent ici : [dossier 571547].

 

Date de modification :