Canada’s Pipeline Transportation System 2016

Foothills Pipe Lines Ltd.’s Foothills Pipeline System

Table 10.3.1: Foothills Pipe Lines Ltd.’s Foothills Pipeline System
Commodity and NEB GroupNote a Natural Gas
(Group 1)
Annual average capacity BC: 85 106m³/d
(2.9 Bcf/d)
SK: 66 106m³/d
(2.2 Bcf/d)
Average utilization 2015 BC: 65%
SK: 62%
Primary receipt points Caroline, AB
Primary delivery points Kingsgate BC,
Monchy, SK
Rate base (Zone 8 and 9) 2016 $341 million
Cost of service (Zone 8 and 9) 2016 $106 million
Abandonment Cost Estimate and Collection PeriodNote b $198 million,
30 years
Map – Foothills Pipeline System

Source: NEB

Text version of this map

This map provides an overview of the Foothills Pipe Lines system.

Overview

Capacity in Alberta on Zones 6 and 7 of the Foothills Pipeline System (Foothills) is contracted by NGTL under a transportation-by-others arrangement. This report discusses Zone 8 (Foothills BC) and Zone 9 (Foothills SK).

Foothills is approximately 1 240 km in length and transports natural gas from an interconnect with NGTL near Caroline, AB, through BC and SK. The Foothills BC system transports natural gas from the WCSB to a point on the Canada-U.S. border near Kingsgate, BC. At the border, Foothills BC connects to the Gas Transmission Northwest system, which serves markets in the Pacific Northwest, California and Nevada. The Foothills SK system transports natural gas from the WCSB to the Canada-U.S. border near Monchy, SK. At the border, it connects to the Northern Border pipeline, which serves markets in the U.S. Midwest. Foothills is wholly owned by TransCanada Corporation.

Key Developments

Throughput on Foothills SK decreased in 2014 and 2015 as Canadian exports to the U.S. Midwest declined. Throughputs on Foothills BC have remained relatively steady.

Utilization

Figure 10.3.1 shows capacity and throughput on Foothills BC for 2010-2015. Capacity varies seasonally from 81 106m³/d (2.9 Bcf/d) in summer to 85 106m³/d (3 Bcf/d) in winter. In 2015, throughput at the Alberta/BC border averaged 54 106m³/d (1.9 Bcf/d).

Figure 10.3.1: Foothills BC Throughput vs. Capacity

Figure 10.3.1: Foothills BC Throughput vs. Capacity

Sources: TransCanada, NEB

Text version of this graphic

This bar chart shows throughput and capacity on the B.C. segment of Foothills Pipe Lines between 2010 and 2015. Capacity in 2015 was 85 106m³/d (2.9 Bcf/d). Throughput averaged 54 106m³/d (1.9 Bcf/d) in 2015, compared to 49 106m³/d (1.73 Bcf/d) in 2014.

Figure 10.3.2 shows capacity and throughput on Foothills SK for 2010-2015. Capacity at the Saskatchewan-U.S. border varies seasonally from 62 106m³/d (2.2 Bcf/d) in summer to 66 106m³/d (2.3 Bcf/d) in winter. In 2015, throughput averaged 39 106m³/d (1.4 Bcf/d).

Figure 10.3.2: Foothills SK Throughput vs. Capacity

Figure 10.3.2: Foothills SK Throughput vs. Capacity

Sources: TransCanada, NEB

Text version of this graphic

This bar chart shows throughput and capacity on the Saskatchewan segment of Foothills Pipe Lines between 2010 and 2015. Capacity in 2015 was 66 106m³/d (2.2 Bcf/d). Throughput averaged 39 106m³/d (1.4 Bcf/d) in 2015, compared to 40 106m³/d (1.4 Bcf/d) in 2014.

Tolls

Foothills operated under a settlement agreement from 2003-2015. Figure 10.3.3 shows the benchmark tolls for Foothills SK and BC and the GDP deflator (normalized) for 2010-2015. The Foothills BC benchmark toll (FS-1 Firm Service) increased in 2011 and 2012 due to declines in the volume of firm contracts. In 2012, this was partially offset by higher revenue from other services. The toll declined in 2013 due to lower expenses and refunding of over-collections in 2012.

Figure 10.3.3: Foothills Benchmark Tolls

Figure 10.3.3: Foothills Benchmark Tolls

Sources: NEB toll filings and NEB calculations

Text version of this graphic

This graph shows the benchmark toll for Foothills B.C. as a solid red line, the benchmark toll for Foothills SK as a solid blue line and the GDP deflator as a black dashed line. The B.C. toll varied between a high of 9.4 cents and low of 7.6 cents. The SK toll varied between a high of 6.3 cents and a low of 2.7 cents.

The Foothills SK benchmark toll (Zone 9 FT Demand Rate) decreased in 2011 due to higher interruptible and short-term firm volumes and lower expenses. The toll increased in 2012 due to a large decline in firm contracts. In 2013, tolls dropped due to refunding of over-collections in 2012. Tolls increased in 2014 and 2015 with lower throughput.

Financial

Foothills operates under a cost of service tolling methodology as negotiated with shippers. This has allowed return on equity to remain stable in recent years, while throughput and revenue have decreased. Foothills is a wholly-owned subsidiary of TransCanada Pipelines Ltd, which is a subsidiary of TransCanada Corporation. Foothills represents approximately 2% of TransCanada Corporations’ earnings. See the appendix in section 12 for TCPL credit ratings.

Table 10.3.2: Foothills Pipe Lines Ltd. (all Zones)
Foothills Pipe Lines Ltd. (all Zones) 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Revenues (millions) $204.1 $192.3 $194.2 $193.4 $181.8 $178.9
Net Income (millions) $25.4 $23.5 $21.7 $20.9 $19.4 $17.7
Rate Base (millions) $654.6 $605.1 $557.3 $518.4 $480.6 $437.7
Deemed Equity Ratio 40% 40% 40% 40% 40% 40%
Return on Equity 9.7% 9.7% 9.7% 10.1% 10.1% 10.1%
Photos: left: A pump jack silhouetted against the setting sun; centre: The grey valves and wheels of a pump station on clear day; right: Folded hands hold a pen on a board room table in a large meeting room.

 

Date modified:

Le réseau pipelinier du Canada 2016

Réseau Foothills de Foothills Pipe Lines Ltd.

Tableau 10.3.1 : Réseau Foothills de Foothills Pipe Lines Ltd.
Produit et groupe de l’OfficeNote a Gaz naturel
Groupe 1
Capacité annuelle moyenne C.-B. : 85 106m³/j
(2,9 Gpi³/j)
Sask. : 66 106m³/j
(2,2 Gpi³/j)
Taux d’utilisation moyen en 2015 C.-B. : 65 %
Sask. : 62 %
Point de réception principal Caroline (Alb.)
Points de livraison principaux Kingsgate (C.-B.);
Monchy (Sask.)
Base tarifaire en 2016 (zones 8 et 9) 341 M$
Coût du service en 2016 (zones 8 et 9) 106 M$
Coûts estimatifs de cessation d’exploitation et période de prélèvementNote b 198 M$
30 ans
Carte – Réseau Foothills

Source : Office national de l'énergie

Version textuelle de la carte

Cette carte donne une vue d’ensemble du réseau de Foothills.

Aperçu

La capacité des zones 6 et 7 du réseau Foothills (Foothills), en Alberta, est souscrite par NGTL en vertu d’un accord de transport par des tiers. Ce rapport fait seulement état des zones 8 (Foothills BC) et 9 (Foothills Saskatchewan).

D’une longueur d’environ 1 240 km, Foothills se raccorde au réseau de NGTL près de Caroline, en Alberta, ainsi qu’en Colombie-Britannique et en Saskatchewan. Le réseau Foothills BC transporte du gaz naturel depuis le BSOC jusqu’à la frontière canado-américaine, près de Kingsgate, en Colombie-Britannique, où il se raccorde au réseau de Gas Transmission Northwest, qui approvisionne les marchés du Nord-Ouest des États-Unis, de la Californie et du Nevada. Le réseau Foothills Saskatchewan transporte quant à lui du gaz naturel du BSOC à la frontière canado-américaine près de Monchy, en Saskatchewan, où il se raccorde au pipeline Northern Border, qui approvisionne les marchés du Midwest américain. Foothills est une propriété exclusive de TransCanada Corporation.

Faits marquants

Le débit de Foothills Saskatchewan a diminué en 2014 et en 2015 en raison de la baisse des exportations canadiennes dans le Midwest américain. Le débit de Foothills BC est quant à lui demeuré relativement stable.

Utilisation

La figure 10.3.1 indique la capacité et le débit de Foothills BC de 2010 à 2015. La capacité varie de 81 106m³/j (2,9 Gpi³/j) en été à 85 106m³/j (3 Gpi³/j) en hiver. En 2015, le débit moyen à la frontière entre l’Alberta et la Colombie-Britannique était de 54 106m³/j (1,9 Gpi³/j).

Figure 10.3.1 : Débit et capacité de Foothills BC

Figure 10.3.1 : Débit et capacité de Foothills BC

Source : TransCanada, Office national de l’énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique à barres indique le débit et la capacité du tronçon britanno-colombien du réseau de Foothills de 2010 à 2015. La capacité était de 85 106m³/j (2,9 Gpi³/j) en 2015. Le débit moyen était de 54 106m³/j (1,9 Gpi³/j) en 2015, et de 49 106m³/j (1,73 Gpi³/j) en 2014.

La figure 10.3.2 indique la capacité et le débit de Foothills Saskatchewan de 2010 à 2015. La capacité à la frontière entre la Saskatchewan et les États-Unis varie de 62 106m³/j (2,2 Gpi³/j) en été à 66 106m³/j (2,3 Gpi³/j) en hiver. En 2015, le débit moyen était de 39 106m³/j (1,4 Gpi³/j).

Figure 10.3.2 : Débit et capacité de Foothills Saskatchewan

Figure 10.3.2 : Débit et capacité de Foothills Saskatchewan

Source : : TransCanada, Office national de l’énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique à barres indique le débit et la capacité du tronçon saskatchewanais du réseau de Foothills de 2010 à 2015. La capacité était de 66 106m³/j (2,2 Gpi³/j) en 2015. Le débit moyen était de 39 106m³/j (1,4 Gpi³/j) en 2015, et de 40 106m³/j (1,4 Gpi³/j) en 2014.

Droits

Foothills a fait l’objet d’une entente de règlement de 2003 à 2015. La figure 10.3.3 indique les droits repères de Foothills Saskatchewan et de Foothills BC ainsi que le déflateur du PIB (normalisé) de 2010 à 2015. Les droits repères de Foothills BC pour le service garanti SG-1 ont augmenté en 2011 et en 2012 en raison de la diminution des contrats de service garanti. En 2012, cette augmentation a été partiellement contrebalancée par la hausse des produits tirés des autres types de services. La diminution des dépenses et le remboursement des prélèvements excédentaires de 2012 ont cependant entraîné une basse des droits en 2013.

Figure 10.3.3 : Droits repères de Foothills

Figure 10.3.3 : Droits repères de Foothills

Sources : Documents concernant les droits présentés à l’Office national de l’énergie, calculs de l’Office national de l’énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique présente les droits repères de Foothills BC (ligne pleine rouge) et de Foothills SK (ligne pleine bleue) ainsi que le déflateur du PIB (tireté noir). Le droit de Foothills BC a varié entre 0,094 et 0,076 $/GJ, et celui de Foothills Saskatchewan, entre 0,063 et 0,027 $/GJ.

Les droits repères de Foothills Saskatchewan, soit les droits liés à la demande de service garanti pour la zone 9, ont diminué en 2011 en raison de la baisse des dépenses et de la hausse des contrats de service interruptible et de service garanti à court terme, puis ont augmenté en 2012 à cause d’une importante diminution des contrats de service garanti. Le remboursement des prélèvements excédentaires de 2012 a entraîné une baisse des droits en 2013, qui ont à nouveau augmenté en 2014 et en 2015 en raison de la baisse du débit.

Données financières

Foothills est exploité selon une méthode de conception des droits fondée sur le coût du service et négociée avec les expéditeurs, grâce à laquelle le rendement du capital-actions est demeuré stable dans les dernières années malgré la baisse de débit et de produits. Foothills est une filiale en propriété exclusive de TransCanada PipeLines Ltd., qui est elle-même une filiale de TransCanada Corporation. Foothills rapporte environ 2 % des bénéfices de TransCanada Corporation. Les cotes de solvabilité de TransCanada figurent à l’annexe de la section 12.

Tableau 10.3.2 : Foothills Pipe Lines Ltd. (toutes les zones)
Foothills Pipe Lines Ltd. (toutes les zones) 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Produits (en millions) 204,1 $ 192,3 $ 194,2 $ 193,4 $ 181,8 $ 178,9 $
Produits (en millions) Bénéfice net (en millions) 25,4 $ 23,5 $ 21,7 $ 20,9 $ 19,4 $ 17,7 $
Base tarifaire (en millions) 654,6 $ 605,1 $ 557,3 $ 518,4 $ 480,6 $ 437,7 $
Ratio présumé du capital-actions 40 % 40 % 40 % 40 % 40 % 40 %
Ratio présumé du capital-actions Rendement du capital-actions 9,7 % 9,7 % 9,7 % 10,1 % 10,1 % 10,1 %
Photos: gauche: Silhouette d’un appareil de pompage au soleil couchant; centre: Vannes et volants de manœuvre d’une station de pompage par une journée ensoleillée; droit: Deux mains tenant un stylo pendant une réunion.
Date de modification :