Canada’s Pipeline Transportation System 2016

Trans Quebec & Maritimes Pipeline Inc.’s Trans Quebec & Maritimes Pipeline

Table 10.6.1: Trans Quebec & Maritimes Pipeline Inc.’s Trans Quebec & Maritimes Pipeline
Commodity and NEB Group Natural Gas
(Group 1)
Annual average capacity 24 106m³/d
(0.8 Bcf/d)
Average utilization 2015 62%
Primary receipt points TransCanada Mainline near Saint-Lazare, QC
Primary delivery points Montreal, Quebec City, East Hereford, QC
Rate base 2015 $343 million
Cost of Service 2015 $84 million
Abandonment Cost Estimate and Collection PeriodFootnote a $102 million;
25 years
Map – Trans Quebec & Maritimes Pipeline

Source: NEB

Text version of this map

This map provides an overview of the Trans Quebec and Maritimes Pipeline from west of Montreal to Quebec and East Hereford.

Overview

The 572 km Trans Quebec & Maritimes Pipeline system (TQM) extends from an interconnection with the TransCanada Mainline near Saint-Lazare, QC, to a point near Quebec City in the Municipality of Lévis on the south shore of the St. Lawrence River. TQM also extends from Terrebonne, north of Montreal, to a point on the Canada-U.S. border near East Hereford, QC.

The TQM pipeline has 31 delivery points and two compressor stations. At East Hereford, TQM connects to the Portland Natural Gas Transmission System, which supplies natural gas to the U.S. Northeast market, primarily Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine and Massachusetts. TQM is equally owned by TransCanada Corporation and a subsidiary of Gaz Métro Limited Partnership. The TransCanada Mainline holds contracts for all of the capacity on TQM.

Key Developments

There have been no recent major developments on the TQM pipeline.

Utilization

Figure 10.6.1 shows capacity and throughput on TQM for 2010-2015. Capacity is 24 106m³/d (0.8 Bcf/d). Throughput varies seasonally with utilization rates as high as 95% in winter months and as low as 41% in the summer. In 2015, throughput averaged 15 106m³/d (0.5 Bcf/d).

Figure 10.6.1: TQM Throughput vs. Capacity

Figure 10.6.1: TQM Throughput vs. Capacity

Sources: TransCanada, NEB

Text version of this graphic

This bar chart shows throughput and capacity on the Trans Quebec and Maritimes Pipeline between 2010 and 2015. Capacity in 2015 was 24 106m³/d (0.8 Bcf/d). Throughput averaged 15 106m³/d (0.5 Bcf/d) in 2015, compared to 14 106m³/d (0.49 Bcf/d) in 2014.

Figure 10.6.2 shows capacity and throughput at the East Hereford export point for 2010-2015. Capacity is 6 106m³/d (0.2 Bcf/d), and in 2015 throughput averaged 6 106m³/d (0.2 Bcf/d). Throughputs at the East Hereford were high in 2015, due to decreased natural gas production offshore Nova Scotia and increased demand in the U.S. Northeast market, particularly during the winter season.

Figure 10.6.2: East Hereford Throughput vs. Capacity

Figure 10.6.2: East Hereford Throughput vs. Capacity

Source: Sources: TransCanada, NEB

Text version of this graphic

This bar chart shows throughput and capacity at the East Hereford export point on the Trans Quebec and Maritimes Pipeline between 2010 and 2015. Capacity in 2015 was 6 106m³/d (0.2 Bcf/d). Throughput averaged 6 106m³/d (0.2 Bcf/d) in 2015, compared to 4 106m³/d (0.14 Bcf/d) in 2014.

Tolls

TQM has operated under toll settlements from 2010-2016. The TransCanada Mainline has firm contracts for all the capacity on TQM and demand charges are paid by TransCanada Pipelines, regardless of flows.

Figure 10.6.3 shows the TQM benchmark tollNote 1 (T-1 demand charge for they system per month) and the GDP deflator (normalized) for 2010-2015. Tolls decreased slightly from 2010 to 2012 under the toll settlement. Expected throughput increased from 2012 to 2014, reducing tolls each of those years.

Figure 10.6.3: TQM Benchmark Toll

Figure 10.6.3: TQM Benchmark Toll

Source: NEB toll filings

Text version of this graphic

This graph shows the TQM benchmark toll as a solid red line and the GDP deflator as a black dashed line. The benchmark toll decreased from $6.9 million per month in 2010 to a low of of $6.4 million in 2013 then increased up to $7.4 million in 2015.

Financial

The 2014-2016 TQM Settlement Agreement fixed return on rate base and did not specify a capital structure or rate of return on equity. For illustrative purposes, TQM reports its rate of return on rate base based on the After Tax Weighted Average Cost of Capital (ATWACC) methodology as approved by the NEB’s most recent cost of capital decision for TQM, RH-1-2008. Because the ATWACC includes return on debt as well as return on equity, it is typically lower than return on equity. In recent years it has averaged about 6%.

TQM’s revenue has been stable, and its costs and rate base have been declining. Due to less debt in its capital structure, coverage ratios have improved in 2014 and 2015. Its credit rating, as issued by DBRS, remains investment grade.

Table 10.4.2: Trans Quebec & Maritimes Pipeline Inc.
Trans Quebec & Maritimes Pipeline Inc. 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Revenues (millions) $82.0 $82.3 $82.2 $78.6 $80.8 83.7%
Fixed Costs (millions) $69.6 $69.0 $68.8 $63.6 $60.0 $58.8
Rate Base (millions) $412.9 $393.8 $373.3 $362.3 $352.7 $343.0
After Tax Weighted Average Cost of Capital 6.4% 6.47% 6.76% 5.66% 6.12% 5.91%
Interest and Fixed-Charges Coverage RatioNote a 3.20 4.54 4.31 3.75 3.98 4.24
Cash Flow-to-Total Debt and Equivalents RatioNote a 16.4% 19.8% 18.8% 16.7% 17.7% 17.7%
DBRS Credit Rating A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low)
Photos: left: A pump jack silhouetted against the setting sun; centre: The grey valves and wheels of a pump station on clear day; right: Folded hands hold a pen on a board room table in a large meeting room.

 

Date modified:

Le réseau pipelinier du Canada 2016

10.6 Réseau de Gazoduc Trans Québec & Maritimes Inc.

Tableau 10.6.1 : Réseau de Gazoduc Trans Québec & Maritimes Inc.
Produit et groupe de l’Office Gaz naturel
Groupe 1
Capacité annuelle moyenne 24 106m³/j
(0,8 Gpi³/j)
Taux d’utilisation moyen en 2015 62 %
Point de réception principal Réseau principal de TransCanada, près de Saint Lazare (Québec)
Points de livraison principaux Montréal, Québec et East Hereford (Québec)
Base tarifaire en 2015 343 M$
Coût du service en 2015 84 M$
Coûts estimatifs de la cessation d’exploitation et période de prélèvement Note a 102 M$
25 ans
Carte – Réseau de Gazoduc Trans Québec & Maritimes

Source : Office national de l'énergie

Version textuelle de la carte

Cette carte donne une vue d’ensemble du réseau de Gazoduc Trans Québec & Maritimes, qui relie Québec, l’ouest de Montréal et East Hereford.

Aperçu

D’une longueur de 572 km, le réseau de Gazoduc Trans Québec & Maritimes (TQM) s’étend d’une part d’un raccordement au réseau principal de TransCanada situé près de Saint-Lazare, au Québec, jusqu’à un point dans la municipalité de Lévis, sur la rive sud du Saint-Laurent, près de Québec, et d’autre part de Terrebonne, au nord de Montréal, jusqu’à la frontière canado-américaine, près d’East Hereford, au Québec.

Le réseau de TQM comporte 31 points de livraison et deux stations de compression. À East Hereford, il se raccorde avec le réseau Portland Natural Gas Transmission, qui alimente le marché des États du Nord-Est, principalement le Vermont, le New Hampshire, le Maine et le Massachusetts. Le réseau appartient à TransCanada Corporation et à une filiale de la Société en commandite Gaz Métro. Toute la capacité du réseau fait l’objet de contrats avec réseau principal de TransCanada.

Faits marquants

Aucun événement marquant n’est récemment survenu.

Utilization

La figure 10.6.1 indique la capacité et le débit du réseau de TQM de 2010 à 2015. La capacité est de 24 106m³/j (0,8 Gpi³/j), et le débit varie d’une saison à l’autre; le taux d’utilisation peut atteindre 95 % en hiver et aussi peu que 41 % en été. Le débit moyen s’élevait à 15 106m³/j (0,5 Gpi³/j) en 2015.

Figure 10.6.1 : Débit et capacité du réseau de TQM

Figure 10.6.1 : Débit et capacité du réseau de TQM

Source : TransCanada, Office national de l’énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique à barres indique le débit et la capacité du réseau de Gazoduc Trans Québec & Maritimes de 2010 à 2015. La capacité était de 24 106m³/j (0,8 Gpi³/j) en 2015. Le débit moyen était de 15 106m³/j (0,5 Gpi³/j) en 2015, et de 14 106 m³/j (0,49 Gpi³/j) en 2014.

La figure 10.6.2 indique la capacité et le débit du réseau au point d’exportation d’East Hereford de 2010 à 2015. La capacité est de 6 106m³/j (0,2 Gpi³/j), ce qui correspond également au débit moyen de 2015. Le débit élevé de 2015 a été entraîné par la diminution de la production de gaz naturel dans la zone extracôtière de la Nouvelle-Écosse et l’augmentation de la demande dans le marché des États du Nord-Est, en particulier durant l’hiver.

Figure 10.6.2 : Débit et capacité à East Hereford

Figure 10.6.2 : Débit et capacité à East Hereford

Source : TransCanada, Office national de l’énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique à barres indique le débit et la capacité du réseau de Gazoduc Trans Québec & Maritimes au point d’exportation de East Hereford de 2010 à 2015. La capacité était de 6 106m³/j (0,2 Gpi³/j) en 2015. Le débit moyen était de 6 106m³/j (0,2 Gpi³/j) en 2015, et de 4 106m³/j (0,14 Gpi³/j) en 2014.

Droits

Le réseau de TQM a fait l’objet de règlements sur les droits de 2010 à 2016. Toute la capacité du réseau est visée par des contrats de service garanti avec TransCanada, laquelle s’acquitte des frais liés à la demande, peu importe le débit.

La figure 10.6.3 indique les droits repères du réseauNote de bas de page 1, soit les frais mensuels liés à la demande T1, ainsi que le déflateur du PIB (normalisé) de 2010 à 2015. Les droits ont légèrement diminué de 2010 à 2012 en raison du règlement. Le débit prévu a augmenté de 2012 à 2014, réduisant ainsi les droits de ces années.

Figure 10.6.3 : Droits repères du réseau de TQM

Figure 10.6.3 : Droits repères du réseau de TQM

Source : Documents concernant les droits présentés à l’Office national de l’énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique présente le droit repère de TQM (ligne pleine rouge) et le déflateur du PIB (tireté noir). Le droit repère est passé de 6,9 M$/mois en 2010 à un creux de 6,4 M$/mois en 2014, puis a augmenté à 7,4 M$/mois en 2015.

Données financières

L’entente de règlement de 2014 à 2016 a établi le rendement de la base tarifaire, mais la structure du capital et le taux de rendement du capital-actions n’y étaient pas précisés. À titre indicatif, TQM calcule le taux de rendement de la base tarifaire selon le coût moyen pondéré du capital après impôts, méthode approuvée par l’Office dans sa plus récente décision sur le coût du capital de TQM (RH 1 2008). Comme cette méthode tient compte à la fois du rendement des capitaux d’emprunt et du rendement du capital-actions, son résultat est généralement inférieur au rendement du capital-actions. Dans les dernières années, il s’élevait en moyenne à environ 6 %.

Les produits de TQM sont demeurés stables, alors que ses coûts et sa base tarifaire diminuent. En raison de la diminution de la dette dans la structure du capital, le ratio de couverture s’est amélioré en 2014 et en 2015. La cote de solvabilité attribuée par DBRS est toujours de catégorie investissement.

Tableau 10.4.2 : Trans Quebec & Maritimes Pipeline Inc.
Trans Quebec & Maritimes Pipeline Inc. 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Produits (en millions) 82.0 $ 82.3 $ 82.2 $ 78.6 $ 80.8 $ 83.7% $
Coûts fixes (en millions) 69.6 $ 69.0 $ 68.8 $ 63.6 $ 60.0 $ 58.8 $
Base tarifaire (en millions) 412.9 $ 393.8 $ 373.3 $ 362.3 $ 352.7 $ 343.0 $
Coût moyen pondéré du capital après impôt 6.4 % 6.47 % 6.76 % 5.66 % 6.12 % 5.91 %
Ratio de couverture des intérêts et des charges fixesNote a 3.20 4.54 4.31 3.75 3.98 4.24
Ratio flux de trésorerie/dette totale et quasi-detteNote a 16.4 % 19.8 % 18.8 % 16.7 % 17.7 % 17.7 %
Cote de solvabilité attribuée par DBRS A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible)
Photos: gauche: Silhouette d’un appareil de pompage au soleil couchant; centre: Vannes et volants de manœuvre d’une station de pompage par une journée ensoleillée; droit: Deux mains tenant un stylo pendant une réunion.

 

Date de modification :