The Ultimate Potential for Unconventional Petroleum from the Bakken Formation of Saskatchewan - Energy Briefing Note

The Ultimate Potential for Unconventional Petroleum from the Bakken Formation of Saskatchewan - Energy Briefing Note [PDF 969 KB]

Derricks

Energy Briefing Note

The Ultimate Potential for
Unconventional Petroleum from
the Bakken Formation of Saskatchewan

National Energy Board | Office national de l'énergie
Government of Saskatchewan

April 2015

Copyright/Permission to Reproduce

ISSN 1917-506X

Foreword

National Energy Board

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator established to promote safety and security, environmental protection and economic interest within the mandate set by Parliament for the regulation of pipelines, energy development and trade. The Board's main responsibilities include regulating the construction and operation of interprovincial and international oil and natural gas pipelines, international power lines, and designated interprovincial power lines.

For oil and natural gas exports, the Board’s role is to evaluate whether the oil and natural gas proposed to be exported is surplus to reasonably foreseeable Canadian requirements, having regard to the trends in the discovery of oil or gas in Canada.

If a party wishes to rely on material from this report in any regulatory proceeding before the Board, it may submit the material, just as it may submit any public document. Under these circumstances, the submitting party in effect adopts the material and could be required to answer questions pertaining to its content. This report does not provide an indication about whether any application will be approved or not. The Board will decide on specific applications based on the material in evidence before it at that time.

Saskatchewan Ministry of the Economy

Saskatchewan Ministry of the Economy was created in May 2012 to bring a sharper, more integrated approach to the province's economic growth. The ministry’s mission is to “advance economic growth to generate wealth and opportunity in Saskatchewan.”

It has three core lines of business:

  • to advance and regulate responsible resource development
  • to develop, attract and retain skilled workers
  • to enhance economic growth and competitiveness in the province

The new structure brings together key economic levers – including labour market development and immigration, energy and resource management, and economic development including First Nations, Métis and northern economic development. This integration will help achieve the objectives laid out in the Saskatchewan Plan for Growth, released in October 2012.

 

Figure 1: Generalized map showing the location of the Bakken Formation with an outline of the study area.

Figure 1: Generalized map showing the location of the Bakken Formation with an outline of the study area.

Executive Summary

The marketable unconventional oil and natural gas potential of the Bakken Formation in Saskatchewan has been jointly evaluated by the National Energy Board and the Saskatchewan Ministry of the Economy. Located in the southeast corner of the province, the unconventional, marketable resources of the Bakken are expected to be 223 million m³ (1,401 million barrels) of marketable oil and 81.2 billion m³ (2.9 trillion cubic feet (Tcf)) of marketable natural gas.

Introduction

The Bakken Formation in Saskatchewan (Figure 1) has been producing from conventional reservoirs since the mid-1950s. Since 2004, however, industry has shifted its focus to its unconventional tight oil, primarily because the combination of horizontal drilling and multi-stage hydraulic fracturing has made it economic to develop.

For this study, the National Energy Board and the Saskatchewan Ministry of the Economy focused on the unconventional resources contained within the siltstones and fine-grained sandstones above and below the conventional sandstone reservoir found in the middle of the formation. Both the in-place and marketable volumesFootnote 1 for oil and natural gas were assessed. This is the first publicly released study to examine the marketable, unconventional oil and natural gas potential of the Bakken Formation in Saskatchewan.

 

Figure 2: Stratigraphic chart showing the type-section geological
makeup of the Bakken Formation in Saskatchewan

Figure 2: Stratigraphic chart showing the type-section geological makeup of the Bakken Formation in Saskatchewan

Geological Description

The Bakken Formation was deposited about 360 million years ago as the Upper Devonian Period was ending and the Lower Mississippian Period was beginning. It has three members. The Upper and Lower Members are black, organic-rich shales that are generally 1 to 10 m thick. The Middle Bakken Member contains siltstones and sandstones and is further divided into Unit A at its bottom, Unit B in its middle, and Unit C at its top (Figure 2).Footnote 2,Footnote 3,Footnote 4

Unit A covers about 38,000 km² and is typically 1 to 12 m thick, thinning to zero at its northern and eastern edges. It is mostly a grey to greenish grey siltstone and is characterized by abundant bioturbation (i.e., ancient burrows and tracks left by marine animals that lived in or on the old sea bed) (Figure 3).Footnote 4,Footnote 5,Footnote 6 The amount of sand increases upward in Unit A until it becomes a silty sandstone near its top.

Unit B (Figure 3) is a fine-grained sandstone only found in certain places of the project area. It is generally less than 5 m thick, but in some locations is over 14 m thick. Unit B contains conventional oil in southeast Saskatchewan where a “trap” exists to hold that oil in place. Where it is present, conventional oil in Unit B can be produced with vertical wells.

Unit C is aerially more extensive, covering about 62,000 km². It has an average thickness of 3 m and thins to zero at its northern edge.  It is recognized by laminated dolomitic siltstone and very fine grained sandstone. Bioturbation and other soft sediment deformation are very prevalent in Unit C (Figure 3). No oil well has been proven to produce solely from Unit C.

Figure 3. Units C, B and A of the
Bakken Formation

Figure 3. Units C, B and A of the Bakken Formation

Units A and C are considered to be unconventional reservoirs since they have extremely low permeability (less than one millidarcy) and require horizontally drilled wells in addition to high-energy stimulation to attain commercial oil production. Three zones were defined in units A and C for the assessment in this study:

  1. The ‘Viewfield zone’, where oil migrated into the area from the south and was trapped within low permeability siltstones and sandstones of Unit A. Currently, most unconventional oil production from the Bakken Formation in Saskatchewan comes from the Viewfield pool.
  2. The ‘Border Continuous zone’, where organic-rich shales at the top and bottom of the Bakken were heated enough to generate oil and now this oil is trapped within Bakken siltstones and sandstones over a wide geographic area.
  3. The ‘Transition zone’ where no established pools in the Bakken exist, but miscellaneous oil wells have been drilled.  Migrated oil might be trapped within Bakken Formation siltstones and sandstones. Heat anomalies might be present and oil could have been generated locally in the Bakken’s organic-rich shales.

Methods

The methods used in this study are similar to those used in the 2013 study of the unconventional petroleum resources of the Montney Formation of British Columbia and Alberta.Footnote 7 In-place volumes of oil were calculated using a standard volumetric equation where the variables were determined from map grids of geological data. This allowed the model to reflect the changing characteristics of the reservoir over its geographic extent. Statistical distributions were then applied to some of the variables in the equations after which Monte Carlo simulations estimated low, expected and high values.Footnote 8 The model outputs a set of in-place and marketable volumes for oil and natural gas on a township basis.

The three geographic assessment zones split the Bakken into six assessment groupings, each with two stratigraphic units (A and C). The ultimate recovery varies widely between each of these assessment groups and, to a large extent, reflects their differences in geology and in the possibility of finding oil that can be produced. Areas outside the Viewfield zone for example, have been less prospective so far and the estimates of their potential recoveries are lower on a per township basis than in the other zones. The ultimate recovery of these less prospective areas within the Bakken could increase over time as more exploration occurs, leading to more discoveries and a better understanding of the geological setting of the zones.

Assessment Results and Observations

The ultimate potential for unconventional oil in the Bakken in Saskatchewan is considerable, with expected volumes of 223 million m³ (1,401 million barrels) of marketable oil (Table 1). The uncertainty in these estimates is represented by the range between the low and high estimated valuesFootnote 9.

Table 1. Ultimate potential for Bakken unconventional oil in Saskatchewan
Oil - million m³
(million barrels)
In-Place Marketable
Low Expected High Low Expected High
8,420
(52,984)
11,279
(70,970)
14,627
(92,033)
132
(835)
223
(1,401)
345
(2,173)

Production from the Bakken Formation has been continuous in Saskatchewan, albeit at a smaller scale, since the mid-1950s when conventional resources were exploited. Then in 2004 unconventional oil began to receive attention and areas within the Viewfield zone were targeted. There is considerably more well data in the Viewfield zone, which in turn leads to a higher degree of confidence that the amount of oil produced by the play at the end of its productive life will be closer to the expected value (Table 2). The assessment of the Border Continuous zone and Transition zones are based on fewer well data and as such there is less certainty as to where within the range of low to high values the final production tally will fall.

Table 2. Expected ultimate potential for unconventional oil resources by assessment zone.
Oil – million m³
(million barrels)
In-Place Marketable
Low Expected High Low Expected High
Viewfield 838
(5,429)
1,144
(7,200)
1,487
(9,359)
43
(273)
74
(464)
114
(717)
Border Continuous 414
(2,604)
573
(3,606)
750
(4,717)
22
(139)
38
(240)
61
(385)
Transition 7,144
44,951
9,562
60,164
12,390
(77,957)
67
(423)
111
(697)
170
(1,071)

Each year, 3.5 million m³ (22 million barrels) of unconventional oil are produced from the Bakken in Saskatchewan. When considering cumulative production of 25 million m³ (160 million barrels) to year end 2014, there are 198 million m³ (1,241 million barrels) remaining. This does not take into account future improvements in drilling, production, or completion technologies which could further add to the recoverable resource base.

Though small in comparison to the oil resource of the Bakken, the amount of dissolved natural gas within the play was also assessed. The Bakken is expected to contain 82 billion m³ (2.89 Tcf) of marketable natural gas. (Table 3)

Table 3. Ultimate potential for Bakken unconventional natural gas in Saskatchewan
Natural Gas - billion m³
(trillion cubic feet)
In-Place Marketable
Low Expected High Low Expected High
2,281
(81)
3,041
(107)
3,944
(139)
48
(1.69)
82
(2.89)
128
(4.52)

 

Date modified:

Potentiel ultime d’hydrocarbures non classiques de la formation de Bakken en Saskatchewan - Note d’information sur l’énergie

Potentiel ultime d’hydrocarbures non classiques de la formation de Bakken en Saskatchewan - Note d’information sur l’énergie [PDF 878 ko]

Derricks

Note d’information sur l’énergie

Potentiel ultime d’hydrocarbures
non classiques de la formation
de Bakken en Saskatchewan

Office national de l'énergie | National Energy Board
Government of Saskatchewan

Avril 2015

Droit d’auteur et droit de reproduction

ISSN 1917-5078

Avant-propos

Office national de l’énergie

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme de réglementation indépendant de compétence fédérale créé afin de promouvoir la sûreté et la sécurité, la protection de l’environnement et l’efficience économique en vertu du mandat conféré par le Parlement au chapitre de la réglementation des pipelines, de la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et du commerce de l’énergie. La réglementation de la construction et de l’exploitation des oléoducs et des gazoducs internationaux et interprovinciaux, des lignes internationales de transport d’électricité et de lignes interprovinciales désignées comptent au nombre des principales responsabilités de l’Office.

Pour les exportations de pétrole et de gaz naturel, le rôle de l’Office consiste à déterminer si les volumes d’exportation proposés excèdent les besoins raisonnablement prévisibles du Canada, eu égard aux perspectives liées aux découvertes de pétrole et de gaz au pays.

Quiconque souhaite utiliser le présent rapport dans une instance réglementaire devant l’Office peut le soumettre à cette fin, comme c’est le cas pour tout autre document public. En agissant ainsi, la partie en question fait siens les documents déposés et pourrait devoir répondre à des questions sur leur contenu. Le présent rapport ne fournit aucune indication relativement à l’approbation ou au rejet d’une demande quelconque. L’Office étudie chaque demande en se fondant sur les documents qui sont versés au dossier de la preuve.

Ministère de l’Économie de la Saskatchewan

Le ministère de l’Économie de la Saskatchewan a été créé en mai 2012 afin d’adopter une démarche mieux ciblée et davantage intégrée pour la croissance économique de la province. La mission du ministère est de favoriser la croissance économique pour créer de la richesse et des occasions en Saskatchewan.

Cette mission s’articule autour des trois composantes de base suivantes :

  • favoriser une mise en valeur responsable des ressources et adopter des règlements en ce sens;
  • attirer, former et fidéliser une main-d’œuvre qualifiée;
  • améliorer la croissance économique et rehausser le caractère concurrentiel de la province.

La nouvelle structure réunit des leviers économiques clés – y compris le développement du marché du travail et l’immigration, la gestion de l’énergie et des ressources, ainsi que l’inclusion des Premières Nations, des Métis et du Nord. Une telle intégration facilitera l’atteinte des objectifs exposés dans le plan de croissance de la Saskatchewan publié en octobre 2012.

 

Figure 1 : Carte générale illustrant l’emplacement de la formation de Bakken avec un encadré de la zone d’étude.

Figure 1 : Carte générale illustrant l’emplacement de la formation de Bakken avec un encadré de la zone d’étude.

Résumé

Le potentiel du pétrole et du gaz naturel commercialisables non classiques dans la formation de Bakken a été évalué conjointement par l’Office national de l’énergie et le ministère de l’Économie de la Saskatchewan. Ces ressources se trouvent dans le coin sud-est de la province et, selon les prévisions, seraient de l’ordre de 223 millions de mètres cubes (Mm³) de pétrole commercialisable, ce qui équivaut à 1 401 millions de barils (Mb) et de 81,2 milliards de mètres cubes (Gm3) de gaz naturel commercialisable, ce qui équivaut à 2 900 milliards de pieds cubes (Gpi3).

Introduction

Les réservoirs classiques de la formation de Bakken en Saskatchewan (figure 1) sont en exploitation depuis le milieu des années 1950. Toutefois, depuis 2004, l’industrie s’est tournée davantage vers les réservoirs étanches, principalement parce que la combinaison du forage horizontal et de la fracturation hydraulique en plusieurs étapes représente une solution rentable.

Pour cette étude, L’Office national de l’énergie et le ministère de l’Économie de la Saskatchewan se sont concentrés sur les ressources non classiques contenues dans la siltite et le grès à grains fins au-dessus et en dessous du réservoir classique dans les grès se trouvant au milieu de la formation. Les volumes en place et commercialisablesNote de bas de page 1 de pétrole et de gaz naturel ont été évalués. Il s’agit de la première étude publiée examinant le potentiel du pétrole et du gaz naturel commercialisables et non classiques de la formation de Bakken en Saskatchewan.

 

Figure 2 : Diagramme stratigraphique montrant la composition géologique de la formation de Bakken en Saskatchewan.

Figure 2 : Diagramme stratigraphique montrant la composition géologique de la formation de Bakken en Saskatchewan.

Description géologique

La formation de Bakken s’est déposée il y a environ 360 millions d’années alors que la période du Dévonien supérieur prenait fin et que la période du Mississippien inférieur débutait. Il y a trois membres. Les membres supérieur et inférieur sont constitués de schistes noirs riches en matière organique d’une épaisseur qui se situe habituellement entre 1 et 10 m. Composé de siltite et de grès, le membre central se divise en trois unités, soit A, B et C de bas en haut (figure 2)Note de bas de page 2,Note de bas de page 3,Note de bas de page 4

L’unité A couvre environ 38 000 km² et est typiquement d’une épaisseur de 1 à 12 m. Elle s’amincit graduellement jusqu’à disparition complète au nord et à l’est. Il s’agit essentiellement d’une siltite de gris à gris verdâtre, caractérisée par une abondante bioturbation (c’est-à-dire d’anciens tunnels et des traces laissées par des animaux marins qui vivaient jadis dans les fonds marins (figure 3)Note de bas de page 4,Note de bas de page 5,Note de bas de page 6 La quantité de sable augmente vers le haut dans l’unité A, jusqu’à se transformer en grès silteux dans sa partie supérieure.

L’unité B (Figure 3) est constituée de grès fins qui ne se trouvent qu’à certains endroits de la zone du projet. Son épaisseur est généralement de moins de 5 m, mais atteint parfois plus de 14 m à certains endroits. L’unité B renferme du pétrole classique dans le sud-est de la Saskatchewan, où il est « emprisonné ». Ce pétrole peut être exploité au moyen de puits verticaux.

L’unité C est plus vaste, couvrant environ 62 000 km². D’une épaisseur moyenne de 3 m, elle s’amincit graduellement jusqu’à disparaître complètement du côté nord. Elle se caractérise par de la siltite dolomitique laminée et des grès très fins. Une bioturbation et d’autres déformations des sédiments meubles sont très prévalents dans l’unité C (figure 3). Aucun puits de pétrole foré exclusivement dans l’unité C n’a été productif.

Figure 3 : Les unités C, B et A de la formation de Bakken

Figure 3 : Les unités C, B et A de la formation de Bakken

Les unités A et C sont considérées comme des réservoirs non classiques puisqu’elles sont très peu perméables (moins d’un millidarcy) et requièrent des puits forés horizontalement en plus d’une stimulation à haute énergie pour obtenir une production de pétrole commerciale. Trois zones ont été définies dans les unités A et C pour l’évaluation dans cette étude.

  1. La « zone de Viewfield », où le pétrole a migré à partir du sud et a été emprisonné dans la siltite et les grès de faible perméabilité de l’unité A. Actuellement, la majorité de la production de pétrole non classique de la formation de Bakken en Saskatchewan provient du gisement de Viewfield.
  2. La « zone frontalière continue », où les schistes riches en matière organique des membres supérieur et inférieur de la formation de Bakken ont été suffisamment chauffés pour générer du pétrole qui est maintenant emprisonné dans la siltite et les grès sur un grand territoire géographique.
  3. La « zone de transition », où il n’existe aucun gisement établi bien que divers puits de pétrole y aient été forés. Il se peut que du pétrole y ait migré et y soit emprisonné dans la siltite et les grès de la formation de Bakken. Des anomalies thermiques peuvent être présentes et du pétrole pourrait avoir été généré localement dans les schistes riches en matière organique.

Méthodes

Les méthodes utilisées pour cette étude sont semblables à celles adoptées dans l’étude de 2013 des ressources en hydrocarbures de la formation de Montney de la Colombie-Britannique et de l’AlbertaNote de bas de page 7. Les volumes en place de pétrole ont été calculés au moyen de l’équation volumétrique standard où les variables sont déterminées à partir de grilles cartographiques de données géologiques. Ainsi, le modèle reflète les caractéristiques changeantes du réservoir selon l’endroit. Des distributions statistiques ont ensuite été appliquées à certaines des variables dans les équations, après quoi les simulations Monte Carlo ont permis d’estimer les valeurs faibles, médianes et élevéesNote de bas de page 8. Le modèle est à l’origine de données sur les volumes de pétrole et de gaz naturel en place et commercialisables par canton.

Les trois zones géographiques permettent de diviser la formation de Bakken en six groupes d’évaluation, chacun composé de deux unités stratigraphiques (A et C). La récupération ultime varie largement entre ces groupes et, dans une grande mesure, reflète les écarts qui existent sur le plan géologique et par rapport à la possibilité de trouver du pétrole qui peut être exploité. À l’extérieur de la zone de Viewfield, par exemple, la situation semble pour le moment moins prometteuse et les estimations de récupération par canton sont inférieures à ce qu’elles sont ailleurs. La récupération ultime pour ces zones moins prometteuses de la formation de Bakken pourrait augmenter au fil des travaux d’exploration, et mener à de nouvelles découvertes ainsi qu’à une meilleure compréhension de la disposition géologique des zones.

Résultats d’évaluation et observations

Le potentiel ultime pour le pétrole non classique dans la formation de Bakken en Saskatchewan est considérable, les volumes prévus étant de 223 Mm3 (1 401 Mb) de pétrole commercialisable (tableau 1). L’incertitude dans ces estimations est représentée par l’intervalle des valeurs estimatives entre les niveaux faible à élevéNote de bas de page 9.

Tableau 1. Potentiel ultime pour le pétrole non classique en ce qui concerne Bakken en Saskatchewan
Pétrole - Mm3
(Mb)
En place Commercialisable
Faible Prévu Élevé Faible Prévu Élevé
8 420
(52 984)
11 279
(70 970)
14 627
(92 033)
132
(835)
223
(1 401)
345
(2 173)

La production de la formation de Bakken a été continue en Saskatchewan, bien qu’à plus petite échelle, depuis le milieu des années 1950, lorsque les ressources classiques étaient exploitées. Puis, en 2004, le pétrole non classique a commencé à éveiller l’attention alors que des endroits précis à l’intérieur de la zone de Viewfield ont été ciblés. Il y a considérablement plus de données sur les puits dans cette zone, ce qui fait que la quantité de pétrole produit à la fin de sa durée de vie utile devrait normalement être plus près de la valeur attendue (Tableau 2). L’évaluation de la zone frontalière continue et de la zone de transition est fondée sur un volume inférieur de données sur les puits ainsi que sur une plus grande part d’incertitude quant à savoir où se situeront les chiffres de la production finale dans l’intervalle des valeurs des niveaux faible à élevé.

Tableau 2. Potentiel ultime attendu pour le pétrole non classique par zone d’évaluation
Pétrole – Mm3 (Mb) En place Commercialisable
Faible Prévu Élevé Faible Prévu Élevé
Zone de Viewfield 838
(5 429)
1 144
(7 200)
1 487
(9 359)
43
(273)
74
(464)
114
(717)
Zone frontalière continue 414
(2 604)
573
(3 606)
750
(4 717)
22
(139)
38
(240)
61
(385)
Zone de transition 7 144
44 951
9 562
60 164
12 390
(77 957)
67
(423)
111
(697)
170
(1 071)

Chaque année, 3,5 Mm3 (22 Mb) de pétrole non classique sont produits à partir de la formation de Bakken en Saskatchewan. En tenant compte d’une production cumulative de 25 Mm3 (160 Mb) jusqu’à la fin de l’année 2014, il reste 198 Mm3 (1 241 Mb). Ces chiffres ne prennent pas en compte d’éventuelles améliorations en matière de technologies de forage, de production ou de réalisation qui pourraient augmenter la base des ressources récupérables.

Quoique petite comparativement aux ressources pétrolières, la quantité de gaz naturel dissous a aussi été évaluée. On s’attend ainsi que la formation de Bakken renferme 82 Gm3 (2 890 Gpi3) de gaz naturel commercialisable (tableau 3).

Tableau 3. Potentiel ultime pour le gaz naturel non classique dans la formation de Bakken en Saskatchewan
Gaz naturel – Gm3
(Gpi3)
En place Commercialisable
Faible Prévu Élevé Faible Prévu Élevé
2 281
(81 000)
3 041
(107 000)
3 944
(139 000)
48
(1 690)
82
(2 890)
128
(4 520)

 

Date de modification :