2017 Crude Oil Annual Export Summary

In 2017, total crude oil exports from Canada reached 3.3 MMb/d (528.1 thousand m³/d) an increase of 6.5% from 2016. Canada exported 2.5 MMb/d (404.9 thousand m³/d) of heavy crude oil and 0.77 MMb/d (123.1 thousand m³/d) of light crude oil. The average price of Canada’s crude oil exports also increased 28% in 2017 resulting in an overall increase in crude oil export values. The crude oil export summary is presented below.

Table 1: Oil Export Summary

Table 1: Export Summary
  2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Total Volume (10³m³/d) 415.74 453.70 483.99 492.72 528.05
Heavy 273.92 311.69 346.47 363.67 404.94
Light 141.82 142.01 137.52 129.05 123.11
Total Volume (Mb/d) 2 616.18 2 855.07 3 045.67 3 100.60 3 322.93
Heavy 1 723.73 1 961.41 2 180.26 2 288.51 2 548.22
Light 892.45 893.65 865.41 812.09 774.70
Total Average Price (C$/m³) 539.36 552.61 315.65 276.70 346.91
Heavy 489.83 518.65 290.23 252.05 326.36
Light 635.04 627.14 379.69 346.19 414.53
Total Average Price (US$/bbl) 83.17 79.67 39.40 33.25 42.50
Heavy 75.52 74.77 36.22 30.30 40.00
Light 97.94 90.42 47.41 41.55 50.72
Total Value (C$ Billions) 81.85 91.51 55.76 49.90 66.86
Heavy 48.97 59.00 36.70 33.55 48.24
Light 32.87 32.51 19.06 16.35 18.63

Notes:
m³= cubic metres
103m³/d = thousand cubic metres per day
106m³/d = million cubic metres per day
MMb/d = million barrels per day
Mb/d = thousand barrels per day
Bbl=barrels

Numbers may not add due to rounding

The data in this page are provided in Excel format (.XLSX) and are updated annually. Export data is filed with the Natural Energy Board (NEB) 30 days after the end of each month. For the latest export and import volume data, including updates and revisions, please see the Commodity Statistics reports and Crude Exports by Rail Statistics.

Contact cts-ssp@neb-one.gc.ca for further information.

Export Volumes

The NEB regulates the export of crude oil and petroleum products. Export orders or licences are required to export these commodities from Canada and holders of these authorizations report monthly volumes to the Board. The data that is reported to the Board is presented here.

Total crude oil exports in 2017 were 3.3 MMb/d (528.1 10³m³/d) an increase of 7% compared to 2016.

Heavy

In 2017, heavy crude oilFootnote 1 accounted for 77% of all crude oil exported from Canada. Since 2016, heavy crude oil exports increased 11% from 2.3 MMb/d to 2.5 MMb/d (363.7 10³m³/d to 404.9 10³m³/d). Over the past five years, heavy crude oil exports increased 48%.

Light

In 2017, 23% of exported crude oil was lightFootnote 2. In 2017, light crude oil exports decreased 6% from 0.81 MMb/d to 0.76 MMb/d (129.1 10³m³/d to 123.1 10³m³/d). Over the past five years, light crude oil exports decreased 13%.

Figure 1: Annual Heavy and Light Crude Oil Exports

Source and Description

Source: NEB’s Commodity Tracking System as of February 2018 Crude Oil – Total Exports (monthly report) and Crude Oil – Total Exports per Day (yearly report)

Figure Description:
In 2017, Canada exported 3.3 MMb/d of crude oil: 2.5 MMb/d of heavy crude oil and 0.8 MMb/d of light crude oil.
In 2016, Canada exported 3.1 MMb/d of crude oil: 2.3 MMb/d of heavy crude oil and 0.8 MMb/d of light crude oil.
In 2015, Canada exported 3.0 MMb/d of crude oil: 2.2 MMb/d of heavy crude oil and 0.9 MMb/d of light crude oil.
In 2014, Canada exported 2.9 MMb/d of crude oil: 2.0 MMb/d of heavy crude oil and 0.9 MMb/d of light crude oil.
In 2013, Canada exported 2.6 MMb/d of crude oil: 1.7 MMb/d of heavy crude oil and 0.9 MMb/d of light crude oil.

Regional Export Volumes

The North American crude oil market has undergone significant change in recent years with the emergence of light crude oil production from shale plays in the U.S. However, the increase in U.S. shale production has not stopped the growth of Canadian crude oil exports. The U.S remains Canada’s main crude oil export market with exports showing steady growth over the past five years. The U.S. refineries have made heavy investments in technology that processes heavy crude, and still prefer heavy crude as a cheaper feedstock.

Figure 2 shows flows of crude oil exports from major exporting provincesFootnote 3 to the U.S. from the Petroleum Administration for Defense Districts (PADDs). The PADDs include the U.S. East Coast (PADD I), U.S. Midwest (PADD II), U.S. Gulf Coast (PADD III), U.S. Rockies (PADD IV), and U.S. West Coast (PADD V). The left side shows the percentage of total exported crude oil by the province in which the crude oil enters a main export pipeline. The right side shows the U.S. region where the crude oil is processed.

In 2017, the following U.S. regions received Canada’s crude oil:

  • U.S. Midwest (PADD II) received 63%
  • U.S. Gulf Coast (PADD III) received 16%
  • U.S. East Coast (PADD I) received 7%
  • U.S. Rockies (PADD IV) received 7%
  • U.S. West Coast (PADD V) received 6%

Figure 2: Yearly Crude Oil Export Flows to the U.S.

Source and Description

Source: National Energy Board’s Commodity Tracking System as of February 2018: Crude Oil Exports – Summary by Type and Destination (yearly report) and internal data

Figure Description:
PADD I: 7% of Canada’s crude oil exports to the U.S. went to PADD I (U.S. East Coast) in 2017. The crude oil was exported from Alberta, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Newfoundland and Labrador.
PADD II: 63% of Canada’s crude oil exports to the U.S. went to PADD II (U.S. Midwest) in 2017. The crude oil was exported from Alberta, Manitoba and Saskatchewan.
PADD III: 16% of Canada’s crude oil exports to the U.S. went to PADD III (U.S. Gulf Coast) in 2017. The crude oil was exported from Alberta, Saskatchewan and Newfoundland and Labrador.
PADD IV: 7% of Canada’s crude oil exports to the U.S. went to PADD IV (U.S. Rockies) in 2017. The crude oil was exported from Alberta.
PADD V: 6% of Canada’s crude oil exports to the U.S. went to PADD V (U.S. West Coast) in 2017. The crude oil was exported from Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Figure 3: Annual Historical Crude Oil Exports by Type and Province

Source and Description

Source: NEB internal data as of February 2018

Figure Description: This graph shows crude oil export volumes by province over the past 5 years. In 2017, Alberta exported 2.4 MMb/d of heavy crude oil and 0.5 MMb/d of light crude oil. In 2017, Manitoba exported 0.0 MMb/d of heavy and 0.1 MMb/d of light crude oil. In 2017, Newfoundland and Labrador exported 0.2 MMb/d of light crude oil. In 2017, Saskatchewan exported 0.1 MMb/d of heavy crude and 0.0 MMb/d of light crude oil.

Small volumes from British Columbia, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick are not shown.

Figure 4: Historical Crude Oil Exported to U.S. Regions

This map shows the U.S. PADD regions and the bar chart underneath shows monthly export volumes to each PADD for each year. PADD II continues to be the largest market for Canadian crude oil exports in 2017, while PADD V is the smallest market.

Source and Description

Source: NEB’s Commodity Tracking System as of February 2018: Crude Oil Exports – Summary by Destination (monthly report)

Figure Description:
Over the past 5 years, the majority of the crude oil exported from Canada was exported to PADD II (U.S. Midwest). In 2017, PADD V (U.S. West) was the smallest U.S. market for Canadian crude oil.

Figure 5: Yearly Crude Oil Average Export Prices and Values

The average crude oil export price increased 25%, from $276.7/m³ in 2016 to $346.9/m³ in 2017. Due to increased export prices and volumes, the total value of revenue from crude oil exports increased 33%, from $49.9 billion in 2016 to $66.9 billion in 2017.

Source and Description

Source: NEB internal data as of February 2018

Figure Description: The average crude oil export price was highest in 2011 when it reached $US 88.50/bbl and export values were $US 69.1 billion. Export values hit a peak in 2014, reaching $US 83.0 billion. The average export price remained relatively constant from 2011 through 2014. In 2015, global crude markets suffered and prices decreased to $US 39.40/bbl, resulting in a total exports valued at $US 43.8 billion. In 2017, the average export price was $US 42.50/bbl with a value of $US 51.1 billion.

Crude Oil Exports by Transportation Mode

In 2017, approximately 90% of crude oil exports moved by pipeline and the remaining crude oil moved by rail, marine, and truck.Footnote 4 In 2017, approximately 2% was exported by rail and 3% was exported by marine vessel to the U.S. The remaining exports by marine went to various destinations throughout the world.

In 2017, Canadian crude oil exports via pipeline increased almost 7% to 3.0 MMb/d (0.48 106m³/d) from 2.8 MMb/d (0.45 106m³/d) in 2016. At the same time crude by rail exports, shown by the red bars in Figure 6, increased 44% from 2016 to 2017. The increase of crude oil exports by rail in 2017 was largely due to pipeline capacity constraints in the Western Canada Sedimentary Basin. However, rail exports were not as high as the 0.16 MMb/d (0.03 106m³/d) reached in 2014 when rail infrastructure was being expanded to serve as overflow capacity for shippers. Monthly data on crude oil exports by rail is on the NEB website.

Figure 6: Crude Oil Exports by Transport Mode

Source and Description

Source: NEB’s Crude Exports by Rail Statistics and internal data as of February 2018

Figure Description: This figure shows export volumes from 2013 to 2017 by pipeline, marine and rail. Annual marine exports were 0.16 MMb/d in 2013; 0.19 MMb/d in 2014; 0.14 MMb/d in 2015; 0.19 MMb/d in 2016; and 0.18 MMb/d in 2017. Annual pipeline exports were 2.33 MMb/d in 2013; 2.51 MMb/d in 2014; 2.79 MMb/d in 2015; 2.83 MMb/d in 2016; and 2.99 MMb/d in 2017. Rail exports were 0.13 MMb/d in 2013; 0.16 MMb/d in 2014; 0.11 MMb/d in 2015; 0.09 MMb/d in 2016; and 0.13 MMb/d in 2017.

Complete data for all figures can be downloaded in Microsoft Excel format from the file at the top of this page. For more information about crude oil markets in 2017, refer to the crude oil Market Snapshots.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu des exportations annuelles de pétrole brut en 2017

En 2017, les exportations canadiennes de pétrole brut ont totalisé 3,3 Mb/j (528,1 10³m³/j), en hausse de 6,5 % par rapport à 2016. Le Canada a exporté 2,5 Mb/j (404,9 10³m³/j) de pétrole brut lourd et 0,77 Mb/j (123,1 10³m³/j) de pétrole brut léger. Le prix moyen à l’exportation du pétrole brut canadien a aussi affiché une augmentation en 2017, de 28 %, ce qui s’est traduit par un accroissement de la valeur totale des exportations. Un sommaire des exportations de pétrole brut est présenté ci-dessous.

Tableau 1 : Sommaire des exportations

Tableau 1 : Sommaire des exportations
  2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Volume total (en 10³m³/j) 415,74 453,70 483,99 492,72 528,05
Pétrole lourd 273,92 311,69 346,47 363,67 404,94
Pétrole léger 141,82 142,01 137,52 129,05 123,11
Volume total (en kb/j) 2 616,18 2 855,07 3 045,67 3 100,60 3 322,93
Pétrole lourd 1 723,73 1 961,41 2 180,26 2 288,51 2 548,22
Pétrole léger 892,45 893,65 865,41 812,09 774,70
Prix moyen total ($ CAN/m³) 539,36 552,61 315,65 276,70 346,91
Pétrole lourd 489,83 518,65 290,23 252,05 326,36
Pétrole léger 635,04 627,14 379,69 346,19 414,53
Prix moyen total ($ CAN/m³) 83,17 79,67 39,40 33,25 42,50
Pétrole lourd 75,52 74,77 36,22 30,30 40,00
Pétrole léger 97,94 90,42 47,41 41,55 50,72
Valeur totale (en G$ CAN) 81,85 91,51 55,76 49,90 66,86
Pétrole lourd 48,97 59,00 36,70 33,55 48,24
Pétrole léger 32,87 32,51 19,06 16,35 18,63
Notes :

m³ = mètre cube
10³m³/j = millier de mètre cube par jour
106m³/j = million de mètre cube par jour
Mb/j = million de barils par jour
kb/j = millier de barils par jour
b = barils

Les chiffres ont été arrondis et leur addition peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux indiqués.

Les données présentées ici sont fournies en format Excel (.XLSX) et sont mises à jour annuellement. Les données sur les exportations sont transmises à l’Office national de l’énergie 30 jours après la fin de chaque mois. Pour obtenir les données les plus récentes sur les volumes des exportations, y compris les mises à jour et les révisions, veuillez consulter les portails Statistiques sur les produits de base et les données de l’exportation de pétrole brut par chemin de fer.

Pour un complément d’information, veuillez écrire à cts-ssp@neb-one.gc.ca.

Volumes des exportations

L’Office réglemente l’exportation de pétrole brut et de produits pétroliers. Une ordonnance ou une licence d’exportation est requise pour exporter des produits de base depuis le Canada, et les titulaires de ces autorisations doivent faire rapport tous les mois des volumes concernés. Les données qui sont transmises à l’Office sont présentées ici.

En 2017, les exportations totales de pétrole brut s’élevaient à 3,3 Mb/j (528,1 10³m³/j), soit une hausse de 7 % par rapport à 2016.

Pétrole lourd

En 2017, le pétrole brut lourdNote de bas de page 1 comptait pour 77 % des exportations canadiennes totales de pétrole brut. Depuis 2016, elles ont augmenté de 11 %, étant passées de 2,3 Mb/j à 2,5 Mb/j (363,7 10³m³/j à 404,9 10³m³/j). Au cours des cinq dernières années, les exportations de pétrole brut lourd ont connu un essor de 48 %.

Pétrole léger

En 2017, le pétrole brut léger représentait 23 % des exportations totales de pétrole brut.Note de bas de page 2 La même année, les exportations de pétrole brut léger ont reculé de 6 %, pour passer de 0,81 Mb/j à 0,76 Mb/j (129,1 10³m³/j à 123,1 10³m³/j). Depuis cinq ans, elles ont fléchi de 13 %.

Figure 1 : Exportations annuelles de pétrole brut lourd et de pétrole brut léger

Source et description

Source : Système de suivi des produits de base de l’Office national de l’énergie jusqu’en février 2018 Pétrole brut – Exportations totales (rapport mensuel) et Pétrole brut – Exportation totales par jour (rapport annuel)

Description de la figure :
En 2017, le Canada a exporté 3,3 Mb/j de pétrole brut : 2,5 Mb/j de lourd et 0,8 Mb/j de léger.
En 2016, le Canada a exporté 3,1 Mb/j de pétrole brut : 2,3 Mb/j de lourd et 0,8 Mb/j de léger.
En 2015, le Canada a exporté 3,0 Mb/j de pétrole brut : 2,2 Mb/j de lourd et 0,9 Mb/j de léger.
En 2014, le Canada a exporté 2,9 Mb/j de pétrole brut : 2,0 Mb/j de lourd et 0,9 Mb/j de léger.
En 2013, le Canada a exporté 2,6 Mb/j de pétrole brut : 1,7 Mb/j de lourd et 0,9 Mb/j de léger.

Volumes des exportations selon la région

Le marché nord-américain du pétrole brut a subi de profonds changements au cours des dernières années avec l’essor de la production de pétrole brut léger tiré des zones schisteuses aux États-Unis. En dépit de cette hausse de la production, les exportations canadiennes de pétrole brut ont continué d’augmenter. Les États-Unis demeurent le principal marché d’exportation de pétrole brut canadien, comme en témoigne la croissance constante des exportations au cours des cinq dernières années. Les raffineries américaines ont investi d’énormes sommes dans la technologie pour pouvoir traiter le brut lourd, et elles continuent de privilégier ce produit qui constitue une charge d’alimentation moins chère.

La figure 2 présente les exportations de pétrole brut depuis les principales provinces productricesNote de bas de page 3 vers les États-Unis, selon les régions appelées « Petroleum Administration for Defense Districts » (« PADD »). Les régions PADD sont les suivantes : côte Est américaine (PADD I), Midwest américain (PADD II), côte américaine du golfe du Mexique (PADD III), Rocheuses américaines (PADD IV) et côte Ouest américaine (PADD V). Dans la partie gauche de la figure, on retrouve le pourcentage des exportations totales de pétrole brut selon la province où le pétrole brut entre dans un grand oléoduc d’exportation. La partie droite indique les régions aux États-Unis où le pétrole brut est traité.

En 2017, les régions suivantes des États-Unis ont reçu des exportations canadiennes de pétrole brut :

  • Midwest américain (PADD II) : 63 %
  • Côte américaine du golfe du Mexique (PADD III) : 16 %
  • Côte Est américaine (PADD I) : 7 %
  • Rocheuses américaines (PADD IV) : 7 %
  • Côte Ouest américaine (PADD V) : 6 %

Figure 2 : Volumes annuels des exportations de pétrole brut vers les États Unis

Source et description

Source : Office national de l’énergie – Système de suivi des produits de base jusqu’en février 2018 Exportations de pétrole brut – Sommaire par destination (rapport annuel) et données internes

Description de la figure :
PADD I : En 2017, 7 % des exportations canadiennes de pétrole brut vers les États-Unis étaient destinées à la région PADD I (côte Est américaine). Le pétrole provenait de l’Alberta, du Manitoba, de la Saskatchewan et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.
PADD II : En 2017, 63 % des exportations canadiennes de pétrole brut vers les États-Unis étaient destinées à la région PADD II (Midwest américain). Le pétrole provenait de l’Alberta, du Manitoba et de la Saskatchewan.
PADD III : En 2017, 16 % des exportations canadiennes de pétrole brut vers les États-Unis étaient destinées à la région PADD III (côte américaine du golfe du Mexique). Le pétrole provenait de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.
PADD IV : En 2017, 7 % des exportations canadiennes de pétrole brut vers les États-Unis étaient destinées à la région PADD IV (Rocheuses américaines). Le pétrole provenait de l’Alberta.
PADD V : En 2017, 6 % des exportations canadiennes de pétrole brut vers les États-Unis était destinées à la région PADD V (côte Ouest américaine). Le pétrole provenait de l’Alberta et de la Saskatchewan.

Figure 3 : Historique des exportations annuelles de pétrole brut par type et province

Source et description

Source : Données internes de l’Office jusqu’en février 2018

Description de la figure : Ce diagramme présente les volumes des exportations de pétrole brut selon la province au cours des cinq dernières années. En 2017, l’Alberta a exporté 2,4 Mb/j de pétrole brut lourd et 0,5 Mb/j de pétrole brut léger. En 2017, le Manitoba a exporté 0,0 Mb/j de pétrole brut lourd et 0,1 Mb/j de pétrole brut léger. En 2017, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador a exporté 0,2 Mb/j de pétrole brut léger. En 2017, la Saskatchewan a exporté 0,1 Mb/j de pétrole brut lourd et 0,0 Mb/j de pétrole brut léger.

De petits volumes provenant de la Colombie-Britannique, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Nouveau-Brunswick ne sont pas représentés.

Figure 4 : Historique des exportations de pétrole brut par région aux États-Unis

Cette carte illustre les régions PADD américaines. Le diagramme à barres présente les volumes mensuels des exportations vers chacune de ces régions pour chaque année. En 2017, la région PADD II est demeurée le plus important marché d’exportation pour le pétrole brut canadien, tandis que la région PADD V a été son plus petit marché.

Source et description

Source : Office national de l’énergie – Système de suivi des produits de base jusqu’en février 2018 Exportations de pétrole brut – Sommaire par destination (rapport mensuel)

Description de la figure :
Au cours des cinq dernières années, la plus grande partie des exportations de pétrole brut canadien a exporté a été vers la région PADD II (Midwest américain). En 2017, la région PADD V (Côte Ouest américaine) été le marché américain le plus petit d’exportation pour le pétrole brut canadien.

Figure 5 : Prix annuels moyens des exportations de pétrole brut et valeur des exportations

En 2017, le prix moyen d’exportation du pétrole brut a augmenté de 25 %, passant de 276,7 $/m³ en 2016 à 346,9 $/m³ en 2017. Étant donné la hausse des prix à l’exportation et des volumes exportés, les valeurs totales ont connu un essor de 33 %, passant de 49,9 milliards de dollars en 2016 à 66,9 milliards de dollars en 2017.

Source et description

Source : Données internes de l’Office jusqu’en février 2018

Description de la figure : Le prix moyen du pétrole brut à l’exportation a atteint un sommet de 88,50 $ USD/b en 2011; les valeurs d’exportation s’étaient alors chiffrées à 69,1 milliards de dollars américains. Les valeurs d’exportation ont culminé à 83,0 milliards de dollars américains en 2014. Le prix moyen à l’exportation est demeuré relativement stable de 2011 jusqu’en 2014. En 2015, les marchés mondiaux du brut ont été durement touchés et où les prix ont chuté à 39,40 $ USD/b, ramenant du coup les valeurs totales à 43,8 milliards de dollars américains. En 2017, le prix moyen à l’exportation s’est établi à 42,50 dollars américains le baril, et les valeurs à 51,1 milliards de dollars américains.

Exportations de pétrole brut selon le mode de transport

En 2017, environ 90 % des exportations de pétrole brut ont été acheminées par pipeline, le reste l’ayant été par chemin de fer, navires et camions.Note de bas de page 4 En 2017, le chemin de fer a compté pour environ 2 % et les navires pour 3 % des exportations vers les États-Unis. Les autres exportations par la mer ont pris la direction de diverses destinations dans le monde.

En 2017, les exportations canadiennes de pétrole brut par pipeline ont augmenté de près de 7 %, passant de 2,8 Mb/j (0,45 106m³/j) en 2016 à 3,0 Mb/j (0,48 106m³/j) en 2017. Pendant la même période, les exportations de brut par chemin de fer, représentées par les barres rouges dans la figure 6, étaient en hausse de 44 % par rapport à 2016. Cet essor s’explique principalement par des contraintes de capacité pipelinière dans le bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien. Cependant, les exportations par chemin de fer sont demeurées en deçà du sommet de 0,16 Mb/j (0,03 106m³/j) enregistré en 2014, lorsque l’on agrandissait l’infrastructure ferroviaire pour offrir aux expéditeurs un débouché pour leur excédents. Les données mensuelles sur les exportations de pétrole brut par chemin de fer sont publiées dans le site Web de l’Office.

Figure 6 : Exportations de pétrole brut selon le mode de transport

Source et description

Source : Office national de l’énergie – les données de l’exportation de pétrole brut par chemin de fer et données internes jusqu’en février 2018

Description de la figure : Cette figure présente les volumes des exportations par pipelines, navires et chemin de fer, de 2013 à 2017. Les exportations annuelles par navires ont été les suivantes : 0,16 Mb/j en 2013; 0,19 Mb/j en 2014; 0,14 Mb/j en 2015; 0,19 Mb/j en 2016; 0,18 Mb/j en 2017. Celles par pipeline ont été les suivantes : 2,33 Mb/j en 2013; 2,51 Mb/j en 2014; 2,79 Mb/j en 2015; 2,83 Mb/j en 2016; 2,99 Mb/j en 2017. Et celles par chemin de fer, les suivantes : 0,13 Mb/j en 2013; 0,16 Mb/j en 2014; 0,11 Mb/j en 2015; 0,09 Mb/j en 2016; 0,13 Mb/j en 2017.

Les données complètes ayant servi à produire toutes les figures peuvent être téléchargées en format Microsoft Excel à partir du fichier indiqué dans la partie supérieure de la présente page. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’évolution des marchés du pétrole brut en 2017, veuillez consulter les aperçus du marché dans le site Web de l’Office national de l’énergie.

Date de modification :