2014 Electricity Exports and Imports Summary

  2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
Volumes (TW.h)
Exports (Sales) 43.6 51.1 57.6 62.6 58.4
Imports (Purchases) 18.6 14.4 10.9 10.7 12.8
Net Exports 25.0 36.7 46.7 51.9 45.6
Value (Cdn$ billions) NB: Including capacity and energy charges
Exports (Sales) 2.0 2.0 1.9 2.5 2.9
Imports (Purchases) 0.7 0.4 0.2 0.4 0.6
Net Revenue 1.3 1.6 1.7 2.1 2.3

Source: NEB international trade statistics (31 March 2015)

  • Export sales volumes, although down slightly from the previous year, are the second highest on record. Although imports increased slightly, net exports are still in the top three years of all time.
  • Canada’s net revenue has increased to 2.3 billion dollars Canadian and is approaching pre-recession levels of $2.5 billion in 2008. Although the value of export sales to the U.S. continued to increase in 2014, reaching 2.9 billion dollars Canadian, that value is still almost 25 per cent lower than the record $3.8 billion reached in 2008.
  • The value of export sales increased by more than 15 per cent over 2013 levels and reached the highest level in five years in 2014. Québec, Ontario, Manitoba and British Columbia earned almost 95 per cent of the export revenue in 2014.

Volumes

Figure 1: Annual Canadian Electricity Exports (Sales), 2005-2014

Figure 1: Annual Canadian Electricity Exports (Sales), 2005-2014

Source: NEB international trade statistics (31 March 2015)

  • In 2014, Canadian electricity exports totaled more than 58 TW.h, which is 4.2 TW.h or about 7 per cent lower than 2013 exports. Although not as high as the all-time high set in 2013, 2014 is the second highest record export year.
  • Total annual quantities of electricity exports to the U.S. have varied significantly. Over the past decade, gross electricity exports have ranged between approximately 40 TW.h and 63 TW.h annually, averaging about 51 TW.h.
  • Historically, provinces with hydro-based generation have exported large amounts of power. High export years typically coincide with high precipitation years.
  • Despite some modest provincial gains, such as British Columbia increasing slightly (from 7 TW.h to 7.4 TW.h), on the whole, Canadian exports decreased from 2013 to 2014. Exports from Quebec and Manitoba decreased respectively to 23.6 TW.h (down 12 per cent) and 8.6 TW.h (down 14 per cent). New Brunswick, which had increased exports by 150 per cent in 2013, managed to sustain those exports at 2 TW.h in 2014.

Figure 2: Annual Canadian Electricity Imports (Purchases), 2005-2014

Figure 2: Annual Canadian Electricity Imports (Purchases), 2005-2014

Source: NEB international trade statistics (31 March 2015)

  • Imports increased 20 per cent over 2013 to 12.8 TW.h, but remained low in 2014, continuing the trend of the last few years. Although the highest in three years, imports are still almost 25 per cent lower than the 10-year average of 16.7 TW.h. and about 45 per cent lower than the all-time high of 23.6 TW.h in 2003.
  • A slow U.S. recovery from the economic downturn continues to result in low electricity demand. Nationally, Canada has also not yet returned to pre-2009 electricity consumption levels. As Canadian supply was fairly strong, Canada’s import needs were still quite low.
  • Canadian provinces have a greater capacity to exchange electricity with American states along north-south interconnections than between neighbouring Canadian provinces. Therefore, although electricity pricing in U.S. markets is usually higher than in Canadian markets, provinces frequently import electricity from the U.S. when domestic supply is limited or transmission capacity to other Canadian jurisdictions is constrained.
  • British Columbia (B.C.), Alberta, and Saskatchewan were net importers of power in 2014. B.C imported about 9.7 TW.h, more than three-quarters of the 12.8 TW.h imported into Canada. Despite B.C. being a net importer in 2014, the province earned more money from its electricity exports ($388 million) than it paid for the imports ($306 million).

Figure 3: Annual Canadian Electricity Net Exports, 2005-2014

Figure 3: Annual Canadian Electricity Net Exports, 2005-2014

Source: NEB international trade statistics (31 March 2015)

  • Net exports (exports less imports) of electricity went from a record of 52 TW.h in 2013 to 45.6 TW.h in 2014, with exports of 58.4 TW.h and imports of 12.8 TW.h. This is more than 10 per cent lower than 2013 net export volumes and approximately 30 per cent higher than the 34.4 TW.h ten-year average.
  • Although gross exports averaged more than 51 TW.h annually over the last decade, net electricity exports averaged slightly below 35 TW.h over the same period.
  • Supply-demand conditions in 2014 resulted in Canadian net-exports reaching an electricity net-trade value of approximately C$2.3 billion. Despite high net exports, net-trade values are well below historical highs because of lower electricity prices as compared to pre-recession levels.
  • British Columbia trades significant amounts of electricity. Although the province imported more electricity than it exported in 2013, it earned more in export revenue than it paid for imports. Revenue can be earned by exporting when prices are high (on peak) and importing when prices are low (off peak), subject to system requirements and capacity.

Figure 4.1: Gross Electricity Exports from Canada to the Continental United States by Region, 2010-2014

Figure 4.1: Gross Electricity Exports from Canada to the Continental United States by Region, 2010-2014

Source: NEB international trade statistics (31 March 2015)

  • The Northeast received almost 36 TW.h, or approximately 60 per cent of all Canadian exports in 2014. Exports to this region decreased in 2014 from 2013 by just under 10 per cent. In 2014, almost 90 per cent of annual Canadian electricity exports (51 of 58.4 TW.h) were delivered into the U.S. Northeast and Midwest.
  • Canadian sales of electricity into the Midwest decreased by approximately 7 per cent, to 15 TW.h in 2014 from 16.1 TW.h, in 2013. Regional export share remained constant, representing just over 25 per cent of Canadian exports in 2014, as in 2013.

Figure 4.2: Gross Electricity Exports from Canada to the Northeastern United States by Region, 2010-2014

Figure 4.2: Gross Electricity Exports from Canada to the Northeastern United States by Region, 2010-2014

Source: NEB international trade statistics (31 March 2015)

Note: PJM (Pennsylvania-New Jersey-Maryland Interconnection), ISO New England (ISO-NE) and the New York ISO (NYISO) operate competitive wholesale electricity markets in the Northeast United States. Because market boundaries do not always coincide with categories used in NEB statistics, data is approximate.

  • The northeastern United States (U.S.) is the largest recipient of Canadian electricity exports, the majority of which is shared between the New England (ISO-NE) and New York (NYISO) markets.
  • New England received 18.1 TW.h, or just over 30 per cent, of total Canadian exports in 2014 (a decrease of approximately 0.8 TW.h, compared with 2013).
  • New York received 16.9 TW.h, or just under 30 per cent, of total Canadian exports in 2014 (a decrease of approximately 1.8 TW.h, compared with 2013).
  • Following the record high set in 2013, there has been a modest decrease in 2014 Canadian sales of electricity into the U.S. markets of New England and New York, of just under 5 per cent and 10 per cent, respectively. Overall however, sales into these two markets have been increasing steadily since 2010.

Quantities and Revenue

Figure 5: Annual Canadian Electricity Exports, Imports and Export Revenue, 2008-2014

Figure 5: Annual Canadian Electricity Exports, Imports and Export Revenue, 2008-2014

Source: NEB international trade statistics (31 March 2015)

  • Although the net quantity of electricity exports has risen since 2008, prices in export markets remain lower than historical values. For example, exports of just over 55 TW.h were valued at $3.8 billion in 2008, whereas in 2014 exports of just over 58 TW.h (5.4 per cent higher) were valued at only $2.9 billion (almost 25 per cent lower). However, export revenue has trended upwards since 2012 and is now higher than in the last six years.
  • Continental U.S. electricity prices have been relatively low since the 2008 financial crisis. In addition, low natural gas prices resulting from increased shale gas production put more downward pressure on electricity prices. Natural gas is a key fuel for U.S. electric generation and continues to increase its market share. However, prices in key exports markets such as New York and New England increased in 2014, driven by increases in spot natural gas prices and higher demand for electricity caused by cold weather in the beginning of 2014. This translated into higher revenue from exports for Canadian producers.

Commentary

The 2014 Canadian electricity market was again characterized by high exports and low imports. However, after four years of steadily increasing exports and decreasing imports, the trend reversed. Net exports decreased slightly in comparison to 2013, due both to decreasing exports and increasing imports. Despite the lower volumes, revenue from exports increased for the second year in a row as a result of higher prices in export markets.

  • Many provinces have high reserve margins. This means they have more supply than needed on a day to day basis, above the standard 12 to 15 per cent emergency buffer. Examples are the hydro producing provinces of Manitoba and Quebec as well as Ontario with its abundance of nuclear resources. Lower continental electricity consumption following the 2008 economic downturn has given rise to or increased surplus generating capacity in some markets.
  • The amount of surplus changes year-to-year in response to a variety of factors including domestic demand, outages and precipitation levels which impact hydroelectric generation.
  • Although Canadian electricity demand has not yet reached pre-recession levels, it has trended upwards in 2013 and 2014. At the same time, electricity supply continues to expand. For example, more than 1 GW of wind and hydro capacity came online in Ontario in2014 and more than 800 MW of wind was added in Quebec in the same year.
Date modified:

Résumé des exportations et importations d’électricité en 2014

  2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
Volumes (TWh)
Exportations (Ventes) 43,6 51,1 57,6 62,6 58,4
Importations (Achats) 18,6 14,4 10,9 10,7 12,8
Exportations nettes 25,0 36,7 46,7 51,9 45,6
Valeur (G$ CAN) - Incluant les charges liées à la capacité et à l’énergie
Exportations (Ventes) 2,0 2,0 1,9 2,5 2,9
Importations (Achats) 0,7 0,4 0,2 0,4 0,6
Revenu net 1,3 1,6 1,7 2,1 2,3

Source : Statistiques de l’Office national de l’énergie sur le commerce international (31 mars 2015)

  • Les volumes de ventes à l’exportation sont les deuxièmes meilleurs enregistrés, bien qu’ils soient légèrement inférieurs à ceux de l’année précédente. Les importations ont connu une légère augmentation, mais les exportations nettes se classent encore parmi les trois meilleures années de tous les temps.
  • Le revenu net du Canada s’est monté à 2,3 milliards de dollars canadiens et se rapproche des 2,5 milliards de dollars enregistrés avant la récession en 2008. Bien que la valeur des ventes à l’exportation vers les États-Unis ait continué d’augmenter en 2014, atteignant 2,9 milliards de dollars canadiens, elle est encore de 25 % inférieure au record de 3,8 milliards de dollars obtenu en 2008.
  • La valeur des ventes à l’exportation a augmenté de plus de 15 % par rapport à celle de 2013, atteignant le plus haut niveau en cinq ans en 2014. Le Québec, l’Ontario, le Manitoba et la Colombie-Britannique ont gagné près de 95 % du revenu d’exportation en 2014.

Volumes

Figure 1 : Exportations annuelles canadiennes d’électricité (ventes), 2005-2014

Figure 1 : Exportations annuelles canadiennes d’électricité (ventes), 2005-2014

Source : Statistiques de l’Office national de l’énergie sur le commerce international (31 mars 2015)

  • En 2014, les exportations canadiennes d’électricité ont totalisé plus de 58 TWh, ce qui représente 4,2 TWh ou environ 7 % de moins qu’en 2013. L’année 2014 arrive au deuxième rang pour les exportations comptabilisées, après le sommet sans précédent atteint en 2013.
  • Les quantités annuelles totales d’exportations d’électricité vers les États-Unis ont varié considérablement. Au cours de la dernière décennie, les exportations brutes d’électricité ont oscillé entre environ 40 TWh et 63 TWh par année, pour une moyenne approximative de 51 TWh.
  • Habituellement, les provinces à vocation hydroélectrique exportent de grandes quantités d’électricité. Les années d’exportations élevées coïncident généralement avec les années de fortes précipitations.
  • En dépit de certains gains provinciaux modestes, notamment en Colombie-Britannique où une légère augmentation (de 7 TWh à 7,4 TWh) a été enregistrée, dans l’ensemble, les exportations canadiennes ont diminué de 2013 à 2014. Les exportations du Québec et du Manitoba ont diminué respectivement à 23,6 TWh (12 % de moins) et 8,6 TWh (14 % de moins). Le Nouveau-Brunswick, dont les exportations ont augmenté de 150 % en 2013, a maintenu le niveau à 2 TWh en 2014.

Figure 2 : Importations annuelles canadiennes d’électricité (achats), 2005-2014

Figure 2 : Importations annuelles canadiennes d’électricité (achats), 2005-2014

Source : Statistiques de l’Office national de l’énergie sur le commerce international (31 mars 2015)

  • Les importations ont augmenté de 20 % par rapport à 2013 pour atteindre 12,8 TWh, mais elles sont demeurées faibles en 2014, suivant la tendance des dernières années. Bien que les importations soient au niveau le plus élevé en trois ans, elles restent inférieures de presque 25 % à la moyenne décennale de 16,7 TWh, s’établissant à environ 45 % en deçà du sommet sans précédent de 23,6 TWh atteint en 2003. Aux États-Unis, la lente reprise après le ralentissement économique continue d’entraîner une demande d’électricité faible.
  • À l’échelle nationale, le Canada n’a pas encore retrouvé les niveaux de consommation d’électricité enregistrés avant 2009. Comme l’offre globale au Canada était passablement forte, les besoins d’importation sont restés assez faibles.
  • Les provinces canadiennes ont une plus grande capacité d’échange d’électricité avec les États américains le long des interconnexions nord-sud qu’entre provinces voisines. En conséquence, bien que le prix de l’électricité dans les marchés américains soit habituellement plus élevé que dans les marchés canadiens, les provinces importent souvent de l’électricité des États-Unis quand l’offre intérieure est limitée ou la capacité de transport vers d’autres territoires canadiens est restreinte.
  • La Colombie-Britannique, l’Alberta et la Saskatchewan ont été des importateurs nets d’électricité en 2014. La Colombie-Britannique a importé près de 9,7 TWh, soit plus de trois quarts des 12,8 TWh importés au Canada. Même si la Colombie-Britannique a été un importateur net en 2014, elle a obtenu plus d’argent pour ses exportations d’électricité (388 millions de dollars) qu’elle en a payé pour ses importations (306 millions de dollars).

Figure 3 : Exportations nettes annuelles canadiennes d’électricité, 2005-2014

Figure 3 : Exportations nettes annuelles canadiennes d’électricité, 2005-2014

Source : Statistiques de l’Office national de l’énergie sur le commerce international (31 mars 2015)

  • Les exportations nettes (exportations moins importations) d’électricité sont passées d’un niveau record de 52 TWh en 2013 à 45,6 TWh en 2014, avec des exportations de 58,4 TWh et des importations de 12,8 TWh. Ce résultat est plus de 10 % inférieur aux volumes d’exportations nettes de 2013, et environ 30 % plus élevé que la moyenne sur 10 ans de 34,4 TWh.
  • Bien que les exportations brutes se soient élevées en moyenne à plus de 51 TWh annuellement au cours des 10 dernières années, la moyenne des exportations nettes d’électricité a été légèrement inférieure à 35 TWh pendant la même période.
  • Les conditions de l’offre et de la demande en 2014 ont donné lieu à des exportations nettes canadiennes équivalant à une valeur d’échange net d’électricité d’environ 2,3 milliards de dollars canadiens. Malgré les exportations nettes élevées, les valeurs d’échange net sont bien en deçà des sommets historiques en raison des prix plus bas de l’électricité comparativement à ce qu’ils étaient avant la récession.
  • La Colombie-Britannique fait le commerce d’importantes quantités d’électricité. Bien que cette province ait importé plus d’électricité qu’elle en a exportée en 2013, elle a tiré des recettes d’exportation supérieures à ce qu’elle a payé pour les importations. Des gains peuvent être réalisés en exportant quand les prix sont élevés (période de pointe) et en important quand ils sont bas (période hors pointe), à condition bien sûr que le réseau le permette et de disposer de la capacité nécessaire.

Figure 4.1 : Exportations brutes d’électricité du Canada à la zone continentale des États-Unis par région, 2010-2014

Figure 4.1 : Exportations brutes d’électricité du Canada à la zone continentale des États-Unis par région, 2010-2014

Source : Statistiques de l’Office national de l’énergie sur le commerce international (31 mars 2015)

  • Le Nord-Est a reçu un peu moins de 36 TWh, ou presque 60 % de toutes les exportations canadiennes en 2014. Les exportations vers cette région ont diminué d’un peu moins de 10 % en 2014 par rapport à 2013. En 2014, presque 90 % des exportations annuelles canadiennes d’électricité (51 TWh sur 58,4 TWh) ont été livrées au Nord-Est et au Midwest des États-Unis.
  • Les ventes canadiennes d’électricité au Midwest ont diminué de 7 % approximativement, jusqu’à 15 TWh en 2014; elles s’élevaient à 16,1 TWh en 2013. La part d’exportation régionale est demeurée constante, représentant juste un peu plus de 25 % des exportations canadiennes en 2014, comme en 2013.

Figure 4.2 : Exportations brutes d’électricité du Canada au Nord-Est des États-Unis par région, 2010-2014

Figure 4.2 : Exportations brutes d’électricité du Canada au Nord-Est des États-Unis par région, 2010-2014

Source : Statistiques de l’Office national de l’énergie sur le commerce international (31 mars 2015)

Remarque : PJM (Pennsylvania-New Jersey-Maryland) Interconnection, ISO New England (ISO-NE) et New York ISO (NYISO) surveillent les marchés concurrentiels de l’électricité dans le Nord-Est des États-Unis. Comme les limites des marchés ne correspondent pas toujours aux catégories utilisées dans les statistiques de l’Office, les données sont approximatives.

  • Le Nord-Est des États-Unis est la région qui importe le plus d’électricité du Canada, dont la majorité est partagée entre le marché de l’ISO-NE et celui du NYISO.
  • La Nouvelle-Angleterre a reçu 18,1 TWh, soit juste au-dessus de 30 %, des exportations canadiennes totales en 2014 (diminution d’environ 0,8 TWh comparativement à 2013).
  • New York a reçu 16,9 TWh, ou juste en deçà de 30 %, des exportations canadiennes totales en 2014 (diminution d’environ 1,8 TWh comparativement à 2013).
  • Après le niveau record établi en 2013, il y a eu une diminution modeste en 2014 des ventes canadiennes d’électricité aux marchés américains de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et de New York, d’un peu moins de 5 % et 10 %, respectivement. Dans l’ensemble cependant, les ventes à ces deux marchés ont augmenté de façon régulière depuis 2010.

Quantité et revenu

Figure 5 : Exportations et importations annuelles canadiennes d’électricité et revenu d’exportation, 2008-2014

Figure 5 : Exportations et importations annuelles canadiennes d’électricité et revenu d’exportation, 2008-2014

Source : Statistiques de l’Office national de l’énergie sur le commerce international (31 mars 2015)

  • Quoique la quantité nette des exportations d’électricité ait augmenté depuis 2008, les prix dans les marchés d’exportation restent inférieurs aux valeurs historiques. À titre d’exemple, en 2008, la valeur des exportations, qui totalisaient un peu plus de 55 TWh, s’élevait à 3,8 milliards de dollars. En 2014, des exportations d’un peu plus de 58 TWh (5,4 % plus élevées) ont rapporté seulement 2,9 milliards (presque 25 % de moins). Néanmoins, le revenu d’exportation a suivi une tendance à la hausse depuis 2012 et il est maintenant plus élevé qu’au cours des six dernières années.
  • Dans la zone continentale des États-Unis, les prix de l’électricité sont relativement bas depuis la crise financière de 2008. De surcroît, les prix bas du gaz naturel attribuables à la production accrue de gaz de schiste exercent encore plus de pression vers le bas sur les prix de l’électricité. Le gaz naturel est un carburant clé pour la production d’électricité aux États-Unis et sa part du marché continue de croître. Toutefois, les prix dans les principaux marchés d’exportation comme New York et la Nouvelle-Angleterre ont augmenté en 2014, stimulés par la hausse des cours au comptant et la demande d’électricité plus élevée attribuable au temps froid au début de 2014. Cela s’est traduit par un revenu d’exportation plus élevé pour les producteurs canadiens.

Commentaires

Le marché canadien de l’électricité de 2014 s’est caractérisé encore une fois par des exportations élevées et des importations faibles. Cependant, après quatre années d’exportations en croissance soutenue et d’importations décroissantes, la tendance s’est inversée. Les exportations nettes ont diminué légèrement comparativement à 2013, en raison des exportations décroissantes et des importations croissantes. Malgré les volumes plus faibles, le revenu d’exportation a augmenté pour la deuxième année de suite grâce aux prix plus élevés sur les marchés d’exportation.

  • Beaucoup de provinces ont des marges de réserve élevées. L’approvisionnement dépasse donc ce dont elles ont besoin au jour le jour, s’établissant au-delà du volume tampon d’urgence normal de 12 % à 15 %. Les provinces productrices d’hydroélectricité, le Manitoba et le Québec, en sont des exemples, de même que l’Ontario avec ses ressources nucléaires abondantes. La baisse de consommation enregistrée dans la zone continentale à la suite du ralentissement économique de 2008 a contribué au surplus accru de capacité de production dans certains marchés.
  • La quantité de surplus change aussi d’une année à l’autre en réponse à divers facteurs, dont la demande intérieure, les pannes et les niveaux de précipitation, qui ont un impact sur la production hydroélectrique.
  • La demande canadienne d’électricité n’est pas encore revenue aux niveaux enregistrés avant la récession, mais la tendance a été à la hausse en 2013 et 2014. Parallèlement à cela, l’approvisionnement en électricité continue de croître. Ainsi, plus de 1 GW de capacité éolienne et hydroélectrique a été mis en service en Ontario en 2014 et plus de 800 MW de capacité éolienne ont été ajoutés au Québec la même année.

 

Date de modification :