Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) on NEB’s Participation Guidance

The following FAQs explain how the Board has implemented changes to who can participate in the Board’s hearings for pipelines and power lines under the NEB Act. These changes were set out in the National Energy Board Act by the 2012 Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act. This approach is used for all applications under the NEB Act for which hearing is held.

A detailed discussion of the creation of the Board’s Participation Framework was published in December 2014, in the Alberta Law Review.

Why did the NEB create this guidance?

This guidance provides transparency on how the Board hears from those who have a legal right to be heard, as well those who have information that the Board may need or want to make its decision, enabling the Board to allow for meaningful public participation in fair and efficient proceedings as it carries out its mandate in the Canadian public interest.

What changes to participation were made in 2012?

In section 55.2, Parliament created two ways by which a person could seek to gain standing(the ability to participate), in an NEB hearing on an application to construct and operate a facility.

Those people who are directly affected must be allowed to participate, and the Board has discretion, or may allow, but is not required to allow, the participation of those people who have relevant information or expertise.

What is the legal basis for standing?

Generally, a person ought to be heard when that person could be impacted by the decision, subject to certain legal restrictions. This is a legal entitlement to be heard. This legal entitlement may be reflected in the NEB Act or other Acts, such as the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012. Even if legislation is silent, standing to be heard is required by the common law (law that is made by the courts), through the application of the principles of natural justice. The Board is required to follow these principles because it is considered to be a quasi-judicial administrative tribunal (Quasi-judicial means that the Board has decision-making and other powers that are similar to those of a court).

In addition to a legal right to be heard, the Board can also use its discretion to give someone standing if they have relevant information or expertise. A person may have information that a decision-maker needs or wants to make its decision, and, as a result, his or her participation may add value to or assist a tribunal in making its decision. As the master of its own procedure, the Board has discretion to allow these people to participate.

What is natural justice?

Generally, there are two components to the principles of natural justice and fairness. First, a party must have an adequate opportunity to be heard before a decision is made affecting that party’s interest. The second component is that the decision must be made by an independent and impartial decision-maker.

Among other things, the principles of natural justice require that a person be given an adequate opportunity to be heard before a decision is made affecting their interests. There still needs to be a sufficiently direct impact to trigger a natural justice right to participate.

The content of the principles of natural justice and fairness will vary from case to case. Essentially, what is “fair” requires a balance between what is necessary for the effective and efficient performance of public duties, as mandated under an empowering statute, and what is necessary for the protection of the interests of the parties affected.

Is standing the same thing as level of participation?

No. Standing refers to the ability to participate. Level of participation refers to how someone can participate.

To have standing means that you are allowed to make representations to the Board and that the Board will consider this information before making its decision or recommendation on an application. These representations could be oral or only in writing. Typically, participants with standing in a hearing are Commenters, Intervenors, and the company who made the application (Applicant).

Once you have standing, the next step is for the Board to determine how you can participate, or the level of participation that you should be granted. That determination may rely on what the NEB Act says, natural justice considerations, or be a discretionary decision based on any number of factors. Practical or logistical factors may include the type of evidence required by the Board (technical versus Traditional Knowledge as an example), the capabilities of participants, and fairness and efficiency of the proceedings. Number of participants and time limits for the assessment process may also be a factor in the levels of participation available and how much time may be allowed for each Participant.

What did the Board consider when developing the Participation Guidance and criteria?

The Board considered the wording in section 55.2 of the NEB Act and the wording of CEAA 2012. Clear wording about who can participate that is written in any Act will prevail over common law requirements. The Board also looked at the context, purpose and objectives of the NEB Act and CEAA 2012.

Common law principles of natural justice were also used. As noted above, these principles apply to the Board in its exercise of its quasi-judicial functions, such as application assessment.

What is the Section 55.2 test?

The Board will consider whether you are:

  • directly affected or
  • have relevant information or expertise.

You can fall into either or both of these categories.

If you are directly affected, you will be allowed to participate. If you have relevant information or expertise, the Board may allow you to participate.

If the project being considered by the Board is one that that falls under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 is the standing test the same?

No. The wording in the NEB Act and the CEAA 2012 are slightly different.

Under the CEAA 2012, the Board must provide any interested party with an opportunity to participate in the environmental assessment of a project that falls under CEAA 2012. Interested party is defined as a person who, in the Board’s opinion, is directly affected or who has relevant information or expertise.

As a result, for those projects that require a CEAA 2012 environmental assessment, the Board will use the broader standing test set out in CEAA 2012, and will grant standing to those people who are directly affected and to those people who have relevant information or expertise to provide information or comment on the environmental assessment.

Is there guidance for who can participate in other types of hearings?

There are sections of the NEB Act where there is no standing test set out. In those sections, the Board has provided guiding principles for its standing decisions. Since the goal and foundations for standing are the similar for all types of applications, the Board created a similar test to the one in the NEB Act. The Board has called this Non-Statutory Guidance on Participation in NEB Hearings. This guidance, with some exceptions,[1] is intended to be used when section 55.2 does not apply.

The Board will allow you to participate if your interest is sufficiently impacted by the Board’s decision. Standing may also be granted if the Board finds your participation would assist the Board’s decision-making. You can fall into either or both of these categories.

How does the Board decide whether I am sufficiently impacted?

To be sufficiently impacted, you need to demonstrate an interest that is impacted and that the decision on the application would cause a sufficient impact to that interest.

The Board decides on a case-by-case basis who is sufficiently impacted. The Board will consider the nature of your interest, and whether you have specific and detailed interest, rather than a general public interest. Examples of interests that could support participation, depending on the type of application, are commercial, property or other financial interest (including employment); personal use and occupancy of land and resources; or use of land and resources for traditional Aboriginal purposes.

The Board also considers whether the decision on the application causes a sufficient impact on your interest. For example, it looks at whether your interest relates to issues that are relevant to the hearing, the likelihood that the Board’s decision will impact your interest, and whether your interest may be impacted to a sufficient degree.

How does the Board decide whether I can provide assistance to the Board?

The Board considers, on the facts of each case, the source of your knowledge (for example, local, regional, Aboriginal); your qualifications (for example, if you have specialist knowledge and expertise); the extent to which the information relates to the application; and how much your participation will add value to, or assist the Board in making, its decision.

Once I am allowed to participate, can I participate in any way that I want?

No. There are no guaranteed level of procedural rights for a person granted standing.

When you apply to participate, you will identify your preferred method of participating.

Once the Board determines that you are allowed to participate, it will decide how you can participate.

The Board will provide the process and participation rights it decides are appropriate for you to have your representations considered by the Board. In making its decision, the Board must comply with the principles of natural justice and requirements in the NEB Act, or other relevant Acts.

The process and participation rights given to a hearing participant will depend on the circumstances. An oral portion of a hearing, with cross-examination and oral final argument, is not always required for every hearing. Some hearings will be conducted entirely in writing.

If I am granted standing and participation rights at the highest level (Intervenor), do I have to participate fully in all steps?

No. You are provided the opportunity to participate, but you are not required to do so. For example, if you are allowed to participate and granted Intervenor status, you do not have to file written evidence, ask questions or provide final arguments, but you have the opportunity to do so. If you are not planning to do any of these things, it may be better for you to ask to be a Commenter. Being an active Intervenor requires a commitment of time and effort.

If you decide to exercise those participation rights, you must also fulfill the responsibilities that are associated with those rights. For example, if you decide to file written evidence, it is your responsibility to serve (send a copy of) that evidence to all the other parties by the deadline set by the Board.

If you have questions on the NEB hearing process or need help about a specific hearing, please contact the NEB at 1-800-899-1265 and ask to speak to a process advisor.

For more information, please see the Hearing Process Handbook.

[1] For example, detailed route approval hearings would not follow this test, as there is a legislated standing test and process set out in sections 34 to 39.

Date modified:

FAQ sur les Lignes directrices sur la participation de l’Office

La foire aux questions (FAQ) suivante explique comment l’Office national de l’énergie a mis en œuvre des modifications à la liste des personnes qui peuvent participer à ses audiences sur les pipelines et les lignes de transport d’électricité en vertu de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie (la Loi). Ces modifications ont été définies dans la Loi par la Loi sur l’emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable de 2012. Cette approche est utilisée pour toutes les demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi pour lesquelles une audience est tenue.

Une discussion approfondie sur la création du cadre de travail pour la participation de l’Office a été publiée en décembre 2014 dans la publication Alberta Law Review (anglais seulment).

Pourquoi l’Office a-t-il créé ces lignes directrices?

Les lignes directrices assurent la transparence quant à la manière dont l’Office entend ceux qui ont un droit légal d’être entendus, ainsi que ceux qui possèdent des renseignements dont il pourrait avoir besoin ou qu’il pourrait vouloir pour rendre sa décision, ce qui lui permet d’autoriser une participation publique significative à des instances équitables et efficaces, tandis qu’il remplit son mandat dans l’intérêt public canadien.

Quels changements ont été apportés à la participation en 2012?

À l’article 55.2, le Parlement a créé deux façons par lesquelles une personne peut acquérir le droit de participation (la capacité de participer) dans une audience de l’Office portant sur la demande de construire et d’exploiter une installation. L’Office doit permettre aux personnes directement touchées de participer et il a le pouvoir discrétionnaire de permettre la participation des personnes qui possèdent des renseignements pertinents ou une expertise appropriée, mais il n’est pas tenu de le faire.

Quel est le fondement juridique du droit de participation?

En général, une personne devrait être entendue lorsqu’elle pourrait être touchée par la décision, sous réserve de certaines restrictions légales. C’est un droit légal à se faire entendre. Ce droit légal peut être défini dans la Loi ou d’autres lois, comme la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012). Même si la législation ne le précise pas, le droit de se faire entendre est requis par la common law (la jurisprudence), dans le cadre de la mise en pratique des principes de la justice naturelle. L’Office est tenu de respecter ces principes parce qu’il est considéré comme un tribunal administratif quasi judiciaire (l’expression « quasi judiciaire » signifie que l’Office détient des pouvoirs décisionnels et d’autres pouvoirs qui sont semblables à ceux d’un tribunal).

En plus d’avoir le droit légal de se faire entendre, l’Office peut aussi utiliser son pouvoir discrétionnaire pour accorder le droit de participation à quelqu’un s’il possède des renseignements pertinents ou une expertise appropriée. Une personne peut détenir des renseignements dont un décideur a besoin ou que celui-ci veut pour rendre sa décision et, par conséquent, sa participation peut ajouter de la valeur ou aider un tribunal à rendre sa décision. En tant que maître de sa propre procédure, l’Office a le pouvoir discrétionnaire de permettre à des personnes de participer.

Qu’est-ce que la justice naturelle?

En général, les principes de justice naturelle et d’équité comprennent deux composantes. Premièrement, une partie doit avoir une possibilité adéquate de se faire entendre avant qu’une décision qui touche à ses intérêts soit rendue. Deuxièmement, la décision doit être rendue par un décideur indépendant et impartial.

Les principes de la justice naturelle nécessitent, entre autres, qu’une personne ait une possibilité adéquate de se faire entendre avant qu’une décision qui touche à ses intérêts soit rendue. Il doit quand même y avoir une incidence suffisamment directe pour donner lieu au droit de participation selon la justice naturelle.

Le contenu des principes de justice naturelle et d’équité variera d’un cas à l’autre. Essentiellement, pour être « équitable », il faut trouver un juste milieu entre ce qui est nécessaire pour remplir les devoirs publics de façon efficace et efficiente, conformément aux pouvoirs accordés par une loi, et ce qui est nécessaire pour protéger les intérêts des parties.

Est-ce que le droit de participation est la même chose que le niveau de participation?

Non. Le droit de participation renvoie à la capacité de participer. Le niveau de participation renvoie à la façon dont quelqu’un peut participer.

Si vous avez le droit de participation, cela signifie que vous avez le droit de présenter des observations à l’Office et que l’Office tiendra compte de ces renseignements avant de rendre une décision ou de faire une recommandation définitive concernant une demande. Ces observations peuvent être orales ou écrites seulement. En général, les participants ayant le droit de participation à une audience sont les auteurs d’une lettre de commentaires, les intervenants et la société qui a présenté la demande (demandeur).

Une fois que vous avez obtenu le droit de participation, l’étape suivante nécessite que l’Office détermine comment vous pouvez participer ou le niveau de participation qui devrait vous être accordé. Cette détermination peut dépendre de ce qui est écrit dans la Loi ou des considérations relatives à la justice naturelle, ou elle peut être une décision discrétionnaire qui est fondée sur un nombre quelconque de facteurs. Les facteurs pratiques et logistiques peuvent inclure le type de preuve nécessaire par l’Office (par exemple, des connaissances techniques par rapport à des connaissances traditionnelles), les capacités des participants et l’équité et l’efficacité des instances. Le nombre de participants et les délais du processus d’examen peuvent également avoir une incidence sur le niveau de participation accordé et le temps alloué à chaque participant.

De quoi l’Office a-t-il tenu compte pendant l’élaboration des Lignes directrices sur la participation et des critères y afférents?

L’Office tient compte de la formulation de l’article 55.2 de la Loi et de la formulation de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012) [LCEE (2012)]. Ce qui est écrit dans les lois sur les personnes qui peuvent participer l’emportera sur les exigences liées à la common law. L’Office a également examiné le contexte, le but et les objectifs de la Loi et de la LCEE (2012).

Les principes de common law de la justice naturelle sont aussi utilisés. Comme c’est indiqué ci-dessus, ces principes s’appliquent à l’Office dans l’exercice de ses fonctions quasi judiciaires, comme l’examen des demandes.

Quels sont les critères énoncés à l’article 55.2?

L’Office prendra en considération si :

  • vous êtes directement touché;
  • vous possédez des renseignements pertinents ou une expertise appropriée.

Vous pouvez appartenir à l’une de ces catégories ou au deux.

Si vous êtes directement touché, vous serez autorisé à participer. Si vous possédez des renseignements pertinents ou une expertise appropriée, l’Office pourrait vous permettre de participer.

Si le projet à l’étude par l’Office est l’un de ceux qui font l’objet de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012), les critères liés au droit de participation sont-ils les mêmes?

Non. La formulation dans la Loi est légèrement différente de celle dans la LCEE (2012).

En vertu de la LCEE (2012), l’Office doit donner à toute partie intéressée l’occasion de participer à l’évaluation environnementale d’un projet qui relève de la LCEE (2012). Une partie intéressée est toute personne qui, selon l’Office, est directement touchée ou qui possède des renseignements pertinents ou une expertise appropriée.

Par conséquent, en ce qui concerne les projets qui nécessitent une évaluation environnementale aux termes de la LCEE (2012), l’Office aura recours aux critères généraux liés au droit de participation prévu dans la LCEE (2012) et il accordera le droit de participation aux personnes qui sont directement touchées et à celles qui possèdent des renseignements pertinents ou une expertise appropriée pour fournir des renseignements ou des commentaires sur l’évaluation environnementale.

Y a-t-il des lignes directrices relatives aux personnes qui peuvent participer à d’autres types d’audiences?

Il y a des articles de la Loi dans lesquels aucun critère lié au droit de participation n’est énoncé. Dans ces articles, l’Office a prévu des principes directeurs pour ses décisions concernant le droit de participation. Puisque le but et les fondements du droit de participation sont semblables pour tous les types de demandes, l’Office a créé des critères semblables à ceux dans la Loi. L’Office les a intitulés Lignes directrices non prévues par la Loi sur la participation à des audiences de l’Office. Ces lignes directrices, avec quelques exceptions[1], sont conçues pour être utilisées lorsque l’article 55.2 ne s’applique pas.

L’Office vous autorisera à participer si vos intérêts sont suffisamment touchés par sa décision. Le droit de participation peut également être accordé si l’Office estime que votre participation faciliterait son processus décisionnel. Vous pouvez appartenir à l’une de ces catégories ou au deux.

Comment l’Office détermine-t-il si je suis suffisamment touché?

Pour être suffisamment touché, vous devez démontrer qu’un de vos intérêts est touché et que la décision au sujet de la demande aurait une incidence directe sur cet intérêt.

L’Office considère chaque cas individuellement et décide qui est suffisamment touché. L’Office tiendra compte de la nature de votre intérêt et de votre intérêt particulier et détaillé qui va au delà de l’intérêt public général. Voici des exemples d’intérêt pouvant justifier la participation, selon le type de demande : l’intérêt commercial, foncier ou financier (y compris l’emploi), l’utilisation des terres et des ressources, l’occupation personnelle des terres et l’utilisation des terres et des ressources à des fins traditionnelles autochtones.

L’Office prend aussi en considération si la décision relative à la demande a une incidence directe sur votre intérêt. Par exemple, il examine si votre intérêt a trait à des questions pertinentes par rapport à l’audience, la probabilité que sa décision ait une incidence sur votre intérêt et si votre intérêt risque d’être suffisamment touché.

Comment l’Office détermine-t-il si je peux l’aider à rendre sa décision?

L’Office prend en considération, selon les faits de chaque cas, la source de vos connaissances (p. ex. locale, régionale ou autochtone), vos compétences (p. ex. si vous possédez des connaissances et de l’expérience spécialisées), la mesure dans laquelle l’information est liée à la demande et la mesure dans laquelle votre participation ajoutera de la valeur à la décision de l’Office ou aidera ce dernier à rendre une décision.

Une fois que je suis autorisé à participer, puis-je participer comme il me convient?

Non. Il n’y a aucun niveau garanti de droits procéduraux pour une personne à laquelle le droit de participation est accordé.

Dans votre demande, vous devez indiquer la méthode de participation souhaitée.

Une fois qu’il aura déterminé que vous avez le droit de participer, l’Office décidera de la méthode de participation.

L’Office précisera le processus et les droits de participation qu’il estime appropriés pour que vos observations soient prises en considération. Toute décision de l’Office doit respecter les principes de la justice naturelle et les exigences de la Loi ou d’autres lois pertinentes.

Le processus et les droits de participation accordés au participant à une instance dépendront des circonstances. La partie orale d’une audience, avec contre-interrogatoire et plaidoiries finales orales, n’est pas toujours requise pour toutes les audiences. Certaines audiences se déroulent entièrement par écrit.

Si on m’accorde le droit de participation et des droits de participation au plus haut niveau (intervenant), dois-je participer pleinement à toutes les étapes?

Non. Vous avez la possibilité de participer, mais vous n’êtes pas tenu de le faire. Par exemple, si vous avez le droit de participer et que l’Office vous a accordé le statut d’intervenant, vous n’êtes pas tenu de dépose de preuve écrite, de poser des questions ou de présenter une plaidoirie finale, mais vous pouvez le faire. Si vous ne prévoyez pas faire ces choses, il pourrait être préférable pour vous de demander le statut d’auteur d’une lettre de commentaires. Le statut d’intervenant exige un investissement de temps et d’efforts.

Si vous décidez d’exercer ces droits de participation, vous devez aussi vous acquitter des responsabilités associées à ces droits. Par exemple, si vous décidez de déposer une preuve écrite, il vous revient de signifier (transmettre) cette preuve à toutes les autres parties d’ici la date limite fixée par l’Office.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet du processus d’audience de l’Office ou si vous avez besoin d’aide pour un volet précis d’une audience, composez le numéro sans frais de l’Office, le 1-800-899-1265, et demandez à parler à l’un des conseillers en processus.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le Guide sur le processus d’audience.

[1] Les audiences concernant l’autorisation d’un tracé détaillé, par exemple, ne sont pas assujetties à ces critères, étant donné qu’il y a un processus et des critères législatifs liés au droit de participation qui sont énoncés aux articles 34 à 39.

Date de modification :