Compliance and Enforcement

The National Energy Board (NEB) holds those we regulate accountable for their actions so that Canadians and the environment are protected.

As Canada’s federal pipeline regulator, the NEB evaluates regulated companies, their facilities and activities on an ongoing basis to ensure appropriate compliance oversight. Targeted compliance verification activities are conducted throughout all stages of a project to ensure the safety and security of people, property and the environment. Each year, the NEB conducts targeted audits and more than 150 inspections of regulated companies. This is in addition to the 100+ technical meetings and exercises conducted on an annual basis.

The NEB’s approach to enforcing regulatory requirements under its mandate is based on the principle of a compliance and enforcement continuum. This includes ensuring compliance with regulatory requirements, and escalating matters of non-compliance for appropriate action when required, using a Graduated Enforcement Response Model.

The NEB’s approach and compliance and enforcement tools are outlined in the Enforcement Policy.

In 2011, the NEB began proactively posting information on its compliance and enforcement activities, with the goal of providing information related to its compliance and enforcement actions, in a manner that is clear and accessible.

Reports


OFFICIAL LANGUAGES: The National Energy Board is bound by the Official Languages Act and relevant Treasury Board policies. However, some material on these pages originates with organizations not subject to the Official Languages Act and is made available on this site in the language in which it was written.

“The NEB has an obligation to protect information and documents as required by the law and existing security policies. Relevant laws and policies include the National Energy Board Act (sections 16.1 and 16.2), Security Organization and Administration Standard, Privacy Act, and Access to Information Act”.


Date modified:

Conformité et exécution

L’Office national de l’énergie tient les sociétés qu’il réglemente responsables de leurs actions afin d’assurer la sécurité de la population et la protection de l’environnement.

À titre d’organisme de réglementation fédéral des pipelines au Canada, l’Office évalue les sociétés de son ressort, leurs installations et leurs activités afin d’assurer la surveillance appropriée de leur conformité. Il mène des activités de vérification de la conformité ciblées à toutes les étapes d’un projet afin de garantir la sécurité et la sûreté du public, des biens et de l’environnement. Chaque année, l’Office réalise des audits choisis et plus de 150 inspections. À ces activités s’ajoutent plus de 100 réunions techniques et exercices annuels.

L’approche de l’Office pour ce qui est de veiller au respect des exigences réglementaires conformément à son mandat se fonde sur le principe d’un continuum de conformité et d’application de la loi. À ce titre, il s’assure de la conformité aux exigences réglementaires et, en cas de non-respect, impose la prise de mesures selon un modèle d’intervention progressive en matière d’exécution.

L’approche et les outils de conformité et d’exécution de l’Office sont présentées dans la Politique d’application de la Loi.

En 2011, l’Office a commencé à rendre publiques de façon proactive ses activités de conformité et d’exécution dans le but de fournir de l’information à ce sujet d’une manière claire et accessible.

Rapports


LANGUES OFFICIELLES : L’Office national de l’énergie est lié par la Loi sur les langues officielles et les politiques pertinentes du Conseil du Trésor. Certains documents lui sont soumis par des organisations qui ne sont pas assujetties à cette loi; ils sont donc reproduits sur notre site dans leur version originale.

L’Office a l’obligation de protéger les documents et les renseignements, comme l’exigent la loi et les politiques de sécurité en vigueur. Les lois et les politiques applicable comprennent : Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie (articles 16.1 et 16.2), la Norme de sécurité relative à l'organisation et à l'administration, la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, et la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.


 

Date de modification :