ARCHIVED - Letter and Order M0-066-2015 to Enbridge Pipelines (NW) Inc.

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Letter and Order M0-066-2015 to Enbridge Pipelines (NW) Inc. [PDF 136 KB]

File OF-Surv-Inc-2011 74 01
27  November 2015

Mr. Ryan Sporns
Senior Manager, Pipeline Compliance Liquid Pipelines
Enbridge Pipelines Inc.
10201 Jasper Avenue NW
Edmonton, AB  T5J 3N7
Facsimile 780-420-8177

Dear Mr. Sporns:

Enbridge Pipeline (NW) Inc. (Enbridge)
Letter Dated 20 July 2015 Requesting Approval to Modify Two Requirements
Of Safety Order SO-E102-002-2011, as Amended
Revision to NEB Letter Dated 16 November 2015
and Order Approved 12 November 2015

Further to the National Energyand the Board is re-issuing it with the correct number. There are no other changes to the order or letter.

Please destroy the copy Board’s letter of 16 November 2015 along with Order MO-001-E101-04-2015, please be advised that there was an administrative oversight in issuing this order, of the letter and order previously received, as it is no longer a valid number, and replace with the attached letter and Order MO-066-2015. Apology extended for any inconvenience this may have caused.

If you require any additional information in this regard, do not hesitate to contact Janet Foreman, Regulatory Officer, at 403-221-3055 or janet.foreman@neb-one.gc.ca. Thanks.

Yours truly,

Original signed by S. Young

Sheri Young
Secretary of the Board

Attachment


ORDER M0-066-2015

IN THE MATTER OF the National Energy Board Act (the Act) and the regulations made thereunder; and

IN THE MATTER OF the Enbridge Pipelines (NW) Inc. (Enbridge) letter dated 20 July 2015, pursuant to Order SO-E102-002-2011 (Order), as amended, filed with the National Energy Board under File OF-Surv-Inc-2011 74 01

BEFORE the Board on 12 November 2015.

WHEREAS on 9 June 2011, the Board issued Order SO-E102-02-2011 (Order) to Enbridge, pursuant to sections 12 and 48 of the Act, the effect of which was to impose pressure restrictions on the Norman Wells to Zama Pipeline (Line 21).

AND WHEREAS on 8 March 2013, the Board issued Amending Order A0-001-SO-E102-002-2011 to Enbridge, pursuant to sections 12 and 48 of the Act, the effect of which was to impose an additional pressure restriction on the Mackenzie to Zama section of Line 21;

AND WHEREAS on 22 March 2013, the Board issued Amending Order A0-002-SO-E102-002-2011 to Enbridge, pursuant to sections 12 and 48 of the Act, the effect of which was to impose additional analysis and leak detection methodologies on the Wrigley to Mackenzie segment of Line 21;

AND WHEREAS Enbridge operates Line 21;

AND WHEREAS Enbridge is required to comply with all conditions contained in the Order SO-E102-002-2011, Amending Order A0-001-SO-E102-002-2011 and Amending Order A0-002-SO-E102-002-2011 which include the requirement to conduct weekly aerial patrols of Line 21 to monitor for leaks, and continue to conduct quarterly high-resolution in-line leak detection inspections on Line 21;

AND WHEREAS Enbridge is required to comply with the current Onshore Pipeline Regulations reporting requirements of an unintended or uncontained release of low vapour pressure (LVP) hydrocarbons in excess of 1.5 m³ but that the Board is concerned with any hydrocarbon being released in the circumstances;

AND WHEREAS Enbridge has conducted its investigation into the cause and contributing factors of the 2011 and 2013 crude oil releases;

AND WHEREAS the Board is of the view that Enbridge has demonstrated that Line 21 remains fit for its intended service at the reduced maximum operating pressures;

AND WHEREAS Enbridge has sought by written request dated 20 July 2015 to return to its standard aerial patrol frequency of Line 21 as identified in its Operating and Maintenance Manual, and to discontinue the requirement to complete quarterly high-resolution in-line leak detection inspections on Line 21;

AND WHEREAS the Board has considered Enbridge's request dated 20 July 2015;

IT IS ORDERED THAT, pursuant to sections 12 and 48 of the NEB Act, the Board rescinds Order SO-El02-002-2011, Amending Orders A0-001-SO-E102-002-2011 and A0-002-SO-E102-002-2011, and hereby orders the following:

  1. Enbridge will operate Line 21 at the following maximum operating pressures (MOPs):

    Segment and maximum operating pressure
    Segment Maximum
    Operating
    Pressure
    (kPa)
    Norman Wells to Wrigley 7735
    Wrigley to Mackenzie Highway 5723
    Mackenzie Highway to Zama 4744
  2. Enbridge will conduct aerial patrols of Line 21 once every two weeks to monitor for leaks;
  3. Enbridge will provide an Engineering Assessment (EA) by 30 June 2016 demonstrating the fit-for-purpose of the pipeline at the above MOPs, and which details Enbridge's Integrity Management Program for Line 21 including the planned intervals for in-line inspection integrity assessment
  4. Enbridge will report to the Board any release of crude oil of any volume from the pipeline.

The first consultation summary should be filed with the Board by 24 June 2011.

NATIONAL ENERGY BOARD

Original signed by S. Young

Sheri Young
Secretary of the Board

M0-066-2015

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Lettre et Ordonnance MO-066-2015 à Enbridge Pipelines (NW) Inc.

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Lettre et ordonnance MO-066-2015 à Enbridge Pipelines (NW) Inc. [PDF 370 ko]

Dossier OF-Surv-Inc-2011 74 01
Le 27 novembre 2015

Monsieur Ryan Sporns
Cadre de direction, conformité des pipelines
Pipelines de liquides
Pipelines Enbridge Inc.
10201, avenue Jasper N.-O.
Edmonton (Alberta) T5J 3N7
Télécopieur : 780-420-8177

Enbridge Pipelines (NW) Inc. (Enbridge NW)
Lettre en date du 20 juillet 2015 demandant l’autorisation de modifier
deux exigences de l’ordonnance de sécurité SO-E102-002-2011, dans sa version modifiée
Modification de la lettre de l’Office du 16 novembre 2015
et de l’ordonnance approuvée le 12 novembre 2015

Monsieur,

Comme suite à la lettre de l’Office national de l’énergie en date du 16 novembre 2015 à laquelle était jointe l’ordonnance MO-001-E101-04-2015, veuillez noter qu’une erreur administrative s’est glissée au moment de rendre cette ordonnance; l’Office rend de nouveau l’ordonnance avec le numéro approprié. Aucune autre modification n’a été apportée à l’ordonnance ou à la lettre.

Vous voudrez bien détruire la lettre et l’ordonnance initiales, dont le numéro n’est plus valide, et les remplacer par la lettre et l’ordonnance MO-066-2015 ci-jointes. L’Office tient à s’excuser de tout inconvénient que cette situation aurait pu causer.

Pour tout renseignement supplémentaire, veuillez communiquer avec Janet Foreman, agente de réglementation, at numéro 403-221-3055, ou par courriel, à l’adresse janet.foreman@neb-one.gc.ca. Merci!

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, mes sincères salutations.

Original signé par

Sheri Young
Secrétaire de l’Office

Pièce jointe


ORDONNANCE M0-066-2015

RELATIVEMENT À la Loi sur l'Office national de l'énergie (la Loi) et à ses règlements d'application;

RELATIVEMENT À la lettre d’Enbridge Pipelines (NW) Inc. (Enbridge) en date du 20 juillet 2015 concernant l’ordonnance SO-E102-002-2011 (l’ordonnance), dans sa version modifiée, déposée auprès de l’Office national de l’énergie dans le dossier OF-Surv-Inc-2011 74 01.

DEVANT l’Office, le 12 novembre 2015.

ATTENDU QUE, le 9 juin 2011, l’Office a rendu l’ordonnance SO-E102-02-2011 (l’ordonnance) à l’encontre d’Enbridge aux termes des articles 12 et 48 de la Loi, imposant des réductions de pression sur le pipeline allant de Norman Wells à Zama (canalisation 21);

ATTENDU QUE, le 8 mars 2013, l’Office a rendu l’ordonnance modificatrice A0-001-SO-E102-02-2011 à l’encontre d’Enbridge aux termes des articles 12 et 48 de la Loi, imposant de nouvelles réductions de pression sur le tronçon pipelinier de la canalisation 21 allant de la route du Mackenzie à Norman Wells;

ATTENDU QUE, le 22 mars 2013, l’Office a rendu l’ordonnance modificatrice A0-002-SO-E102-02-2011 à l’encontre d’Enbridge aux termes des articles 12 et 48 de la Loi, imposant de nouvelles méthodes d’analyse et de détection des fuites sur le tronçon de la canalisation 21 allant de Wrigley à la route du Mackenzie;

ATTENDU QU’Enbridge exploite la canalisation 21;

ATTENDU QU’Enbridge est tenue de se conformer à toutes les conditions énoncées dans l’ordonnance SO-E102-002-2011 et les ordonnances modificatrices A0-001-SO-E102-02-2011 et A0-002-SO-E102-02-2011, dont l’une des exigences est de mener des patrouilles aériennes hebdomadaires de la canalisation 21 et de continuer à faire des inspections internes trimestrielles à haute résolution afin de détecter les fuites sur cette même canalisation;

ATTENDU QU’Enbridge est tenue de se conformer aux exigences du Règlement sur les pipelines terrestres de l’Office national de l’énergie visant à signaler tout rejet d’hydrocarbures à basse pression de vapeur non confiné ou non intentionnel de plus de 1,5 m³, mais que l’Office est préoccupé par tout rejet d’hydrocarbures dans les circonstances;

ATTENDU QU’Enbridge a mené sa propre enquête afin de déterminer la cause et les facteurs contributifs des rejets de pétrole brut survenus en 2011 et 2013;

ATTENDU QUE l’Office juge qu’Enbridge a démontré que la canalisation 21 demeure apte au service à la pression maximale d’exploitation;

ATTENDU QU’Enbridge a présenté une demande écrite en date du 20 juillet 2015 visant à revenir à sa fréquence normale de patrouille aérienne de la canalisation 21, précisée dans son manuel d’exploitation et d’entretien, et de lever l’exigence de faire des inspections internes trimestrielles à haute résolution afin de détecter les fuites sur cette même canalisation;

ATTENDU QUE l’Office a pris en considération la demande d’Enbridge en date du 20 juillet 2015;

IL EST ORDONNÉ QUE, conformément aux articles 12 et 48 de la Loi, l’Office annule l’ordonnance SO-E102-002-2011 et les ordonnances modificatrices A0-001-SO-E102-02-2011 et A0-002-SO-E102-02-2011 et ordonne, par les présentes, ce qui suit :

  1. Enbridge exploitera la canalisation 21 aux pressions maximales d’exploitation (PME) suivantes :
    Tronçon et pression maximale d'exploitation
    Tronçon Pression
    maximale
    d'exploitation
    (kPa)
    De Norman Wells à Wrigley 7 735
    De Wrigley à la route du Mackenzie 5 723
    De la route du Mackenzie à Zama 4 744
  2. Enbridge effectuera des patrouilles aériennes de la canalisation 21 toutes les deux semaines afin de détecter d’éventuelles fuites;
  3. Au plus tard le 30 juin 2016, Enbridge déposera une évaluation technique démontrant l’aptitude au service de la canalisation aux pressions maximales d’exploitation indiquées ci-dessus et exposant en détail son programme de gestion de l’intégrité pour la canalisation 21, y compris la fréquence prévue pour effectuer des évaluations d’intégrité au moyen d’inspections internes;
  4. Enbridge déclarera à l’Office tout rejet de pétrole brut de la canalisation, quel que soit le volume en cause.

OFFICE NATIONAL DE L’ÉNERGIE

La secrétaire de l’Office,

Original signé par

Sheri Young

MO-066-2015

Date de modification :