Q&A on Emergency Procedures Manuals

1. Why does an NEB-regulated company need an emergency procedures manual(s)?

The NEB’s Onshore Pipeline Regulations require a company to have a manual(s) so that it can effectively respond to an emergency.  Emergency procedures manuals, also know as emergency response plans, describe specialized response capabilities, equipment, procedures, and roles and responsibilities that will be used to support a response to an emergency. The manual(s) supplement local and provincial authorities, and must be integrated with other organizations to help mitigate the consequences of the emergency.  This integration is usually accomplished by working within an incident management system. This system integrates multiple authorities and response organizations into a common organizational structure designed to improve emergency response operations.

2. Why should an NEB-regulated company submit a manual with the NEB?

The purpose of submitting the company’s manual to the NEB is so that we have the same response procedures as the company.  This helps us understand who the stakeholders might be, how they are integrated, and be aware of the internal and external company contact information.

3. How are manuals filed with the NEB?

The NEB currently requires all regulated oil and gas companies to file one hard copy and one electronic copy of their respective manuals with the Board.  Currently, the hard copy is considered the official record. When filing updates to the manuals, a new or complete manual in both electronic and hard copy incorporating all updates is required.

4. How often are manuals filed with the NEB?

All manuals and updates must be regularly submitted to the NEB. At a minimum, annual manual updates are filed by 1 April of each year or, alternatively, companies file a letter indicating that there have been no changes to their manual.

5. What is the NEB’s process when manuals are received?

The hard copy is date and time stamped upon receipt.  Both the electronic and hard copies are filed in a repository at the NEB’s Calgary office.

6. What is the manual review process?

The NEB has a comprehensive manual review process to examine elements of companies’ emergency response procedures.  By 31 December 2016, all manuals and any pertinent supporting documentation will have gone through a thorough NEB review. As new manuals are filed, they will also be reviewed.

The NEB will continue to use its risk model to identify when subsequent reviews will be conducted on updated manuals.  Ongoing NEB monitoring ensures continued compliance with emergency response regulatory requirements.

7. What happens when a non-compliance is identified?

Should there be any non-compliances identified through the review, the NEB will gather additional information to assess the nature of the non-compliance. The NEB will then enforce regulatory requirements to obtain compliance, deter future non-compliance, and prevent harm by using the most appropriate tool from a large spectrum of available tools. This may include issuing:

  • Notices of Non-Compliance,
  • Inspection Officer Orders,
  • Board-issued Safety Orders,
  • Administrative Monetary Penalties, and the
  • Revocation of a company’s authorization to operate; and prosecution.

Pursuant to the National Energy Board Act, any person who fails to comply with an Inspection Officer has committed an offence and is liable on summary conviction to a fine of up to $100,000 and/or 1 year imprisonment, and on conviction on indictment to a fine of up to $1,000,000 dollars and/or 5 years in imprisonment.

8. Why doesn’t the NEB “approve” manuals?

Through its management system requirements, the NEB holds companies accountable to manage and reduce risk, and continually improve their operations. A carefully-designed and well-implemented management system includes an Emergency Management Program and supports a strong culture of safety.  This is fundamental to keeping people safe and protecting the environment.

As part of an Emergency Management Program companies produce manuals that are living documents which are continually updated and improved to proactively identify, assess, control and mitigate hazards before incidents occur. The NEB’s regulatory framework allows for this innovation while at the same time holding companies accountable to make regular improvements to their manuals and file these with the Board.

The NEB conducts a thorough review of all manuals filed with the Board to verify the manuals comply with regulatory requirements. Where necessary, the NEB will enforce regulatory requirements in order to obtain compliance, deter future non-compliance and prevent harm by using the most appropriate tool or tools available.

9. Are the manuals we have on file the same as the first responders and municipalities?

Companies are required to file a copy of the original manual(s) with the NEB.  Companies also share manuals or sections of it related to public safety with emergency planners, first responders and agencies to ensure they are fully aware of applicable emergency response procedures and protocols.  The majority of the manuals’ content is publicly available through companies’ websites. The content that would not be publicly available would include information that if made public, could infringe upon individual privacy, national security, and third party confidentiality.

For more information on public disclosure of manuals, please refer to the Canadian Energy Pipeline Association website at CEPA.com [Pipeline operators coming together to advance common approach to public disclosure of emergency response plans].

10. How does the NEB assess emergency preparedness?

NEB staff evaluate a company’s emergency management program through evaluations of a company’s emergency response exercises, compliance meetings (with companies and other stakeholders), audits of their emergency management program and in the unlikely event of a significant emergency.

 

 

Date modified:

Questions et réponses sur les manuels de mesures d’urgence

1. Pourquoi les sociétés réglementées par l’Office doivent-elles avoir un manuel de mesures d’urgence?

Le Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres exige que les sociétés aient un manuel afin de pouvoir intervenir efficacement en cas d’urgence. Les manuels de mesures d’urgence, aussi appelés plans d’intervention d’urgence, décrivent les moyens d’intervention spécialisés, l’équipement, les marches à suivre, les rôles et les responsabilités servant à soutenir une intervention en cas d’urgence. Les manuels complètent l’intervention des autorités locales et provinciales, et doivent être intégrés aux mesures d’autres organisations pour aider à atténuer les conséquences d’une urgence. Cette intégration est habituellement réalisée à l’intérieur d’un système de gestion des incidents, qui regroupe diverses autorités et organisations d’intervention en une structure organisationnelles commune conçue pour améliorer les opérations d’intervention d’urgence.

2. Pourquoi les sociétés réglementées par l’Office doivent-elles lui soumettre un manuel de mesures d’urgence?

Les sociétés doivent soumettre leur manuel afin que l’Office soit au courant des mêmes méthodes d’intervention. Cela aide l’Office à comprendre qui sont les parties prenantes et comment elles sont intégrées, et lui permet de connaître les coordonnées internes et externes des sociétés.

3. Comment les manuels sont-ils soumis à l’Office?

À l’heure actuelle, l’Office exige que toutes les sociétés pétrolières et gazières réglementées lui déposent une copie de leur manuel sur support papier et une version électronique. La copie papier est considérée comme le document officiel. Lorsqu’il y a des mises à jour, le manuel complet, incorporant tous les changements apportés, doit être déposé sur support papier et sur support électronique.

4. À quelle fréquence les manuels sont-ils déposés auprès de l’Office?

Tous les manuels ainsi que les mises à jour doivent être déposés régulièrement à l’Office. Les sociétés doivent, au minimum, déposer des mises à jour annuelles du manuel de mesures d’urgence au plus tard le 1er avril de chaque année, ou encore présenter une lettre indiquant qu’aucun changement n’a été apporté à leur manuel.

5. Comment procède l’Office lorsqu’il reçoit les manuels?

Dès réception, la date et l’heure sont tamponnées sur la copie papier. Les versions imprimées et électroniques sont toutes deux classées dans un dépôt au bureau de Calgary de l’Office.

6. En quoi consiste le processus d’examen des manuels?

L’Office a un processus complet qu’il applique pour examiner les éléments des méthodes d’intervention d’urgence des sociétés. Au 31 décembre 2016, tous les manuels et la documentation pertinente auront été examinés attentivement par l’Office. Les nouveaux manuels qui sont déposés sont examinés eux aussi.
L’Office continuera d’utiliser son modèle de risque pour déterminer quand les examens subséquents des manuels mis à jour auront lieu. Une surveillance constante de l’Office permet d’assurer le respect des exigences réglementaires en matière d’intervention d’urgence.

7. Que se passe-t-il quand une non-conformité est relevée?

Si des non-conformités sont relevées pendant l’examen, l’Office recueille des renseignements supplémentaires pour en évaluer la nature. L’Office applique ensuite les exigences réglementaires de façon à obtenir la conformité, à décourager d’autres cas de non-conformité et à prévenir les dommages au moyen de l’outil le plus approprié parmi le vaste éventail d’outils disponibles, qui peut inclure ce qui suit :

  • des avis de non-conformité;
  • des ordres d’inspecteur;
  • des ordonnances de sécurité rendues par l’Office;
  • des sanctions administratives pécuniaires;
  • la révocation de l’autorisation d’exploitation d’une société et des poursuites.

Selon la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, quiconque omet de se conformer à un ordre d’inspecteur commet une infraction et est passible sur déclaration de culpabilité par procédure sommaire d’une amende pouvant atteindre 100 000 $ ou de 1 an d’emprisonnement (ou les deux), ou est passible sur déclaration de culpabilité par mise en accusation d’une amende pouvant atteindre 1 000 000 $ ou de 5 ans d’emprisonnement (ou les deux).

8. Pourquoi l’Office n’approuve-t-il pas les manuels?

L’Office se sert de ses exigences en matière de système de gestion pour tenir les sociétés responsables de gérer et réduire les risques et d’améliorer continuellement leur mode de fonctionnement. Tout système de gestion bien conçu et mis en œuvre comprend un programme de gestion des situations d’urgence et appuie une solide culture de sécurité. Cela est fondamental pour assurer la sécurité du public et protéger l’environnement.

Dans le cadre de leur programme de gestion des situations d’urgence, les sociétés produisent des manuels; il s’agit de documents évolutifs qui sont continuellement mis à jour et améliorés pour relever, évaluer, contrôler et atténuer les dangers de manière proactive avant que des incidents se produisent. Le cadre de réglementation de l’Office permet cette innovation tout en tenant les sociétés responsables d’apporter régulièrement des améliorations à leurs manuels et de les déposer à l’Office.

L’Office examine attentivement tous les manuels qui lui sont déposés pour s’assurer qu’ils sont conformes aux exigences réglementaires. Au besoin, l’Office a recours aux outils les plus appropriés pour faire respecter les exigences réglementaires de manière à obtenir la conformité, à dissuader d’autres comportements non conformes et à prévenir les dommages.

9. Les manuels que nous avons en dossier sont-ils les mêmes que ceux des premiers intervenants et des municipalités?

Les sociétés sont tenues de déposer une copie de leurs manuels originaux à l’Office. En outre, les sociétés envoient leurs manuels, ou les sections reliées à la sécurité publique, aux planificateurs d’urgence, aux premiers intervenants et aux organismes afin que tous connaissent les mesures et protocoles d’urgence applicables. La plus grande partie du contenu des manuels est à la disposition du public dans le site Web de chaque société. Les sections qui ne seraient pas mises à la disposition du public comprendraient de l’information susceptible de porter atteinte à la vie privée des personnes, à la sécurité nationale et aux renseignements confidentiels de tierces parties.

Pour plus d’information sur la divulgation publique des manuels, reportez-vous au site Web de l’Association canadienne de pipelines d’énergie à l’adresse CEPA.com [exploitants pipeliniers en faveur d’une démarche commune de divulgation publique des plans d’intervention d’urgence].

10. Comment l’Office évalue-t-il la préparation aux situations d’urgence?

Le personnel de l’Office évalue le programme de gestion des situations d’urgence des sociétés en examinant les exercices d’intervention d’urgence et les réunions sur la conformité (avec les sociétés et autres parties prenantes), en vérifiant le programme de gestion des situations d’urgence et en étudiant les cas peu probables d’urgence grave.

 

Date de modification :