Interactive Pipeline Map– FAQs

What information is shown in the map?

The map is able to display NEB-regulated pipelines, and incidents reported to the NEB since January 2008.

The default display of the map shows pipelines. You can choose to display the map with pipelines and/or incidents.

The default display for incidents shows those that have not been closed.

The map can be customized to show additional years of incident data. See the user guide in the Related Pages toolbox to discover all the functionality.

Why can’t I download the data for the pipeline map?

This map shows the approximate location of pipelines based on data from a third-party supplier who specializes in digital geographic information for pipelines. As this data is licensed from the supplier, the NEB cannot provide free downloads.

The NEB provides its incident data in an easy to download format from the “Related Pages” tool box.

What are the differences between the two incident data download files?

The Comprehensive incident download is a detailed set of information that is collected from every reportable incident. The Map Display download is a subset of the Comprehensive dataset which only contains the fields used on the Interactive Incident Map.

What do the pipeline statuses mean?

Operating: The NEB has been notified that the pipeline is being used.

Approved: The pipeline has been approved and either construction has not been completed, or the line is not yet being used.

Deactivated: The pipeline has been temporarily removed from service.

Decommissioned: The pipeline or pipeline segment has permanently ceased operation; however it does not result in the discontinuance of service.

Abandoned: The pipeline is permanently removed from operation resulting in the discontinuance of service.

What do the incident statuses mean?

Initially Submitted: The company has notified the NEB that an incident has occurred and provided preliminary information. An investigation is ongoing.

Submitted: The company has submitted all of the required information and the NEB’s review process is on-going.

Closed: The NEB’s incident review has been completed and the file is closed.

How often is the data updated?

Data on the map is updated on a quarterly basis.

Why is location data approximate?

  1. Pipeline location:
  2. The NEB’s record of pipeline locations is mainly based on files submitted by companies called Plan, Profile, Book of Reference (PPBoR). This online map shows the approximate location of pipelines based on data from a third-party supplier specializing in digital geographic pipeline information. As this data is constantly improved and updated, additional NEB-Regulated pipelines will be added and the accuracy of pipeline location improved. Accordingly, the pipeline data shown is subject to change.

  3. Incident location:
  4. Prior to 2015, companies could provide their incident location information in various formats. As a result, locational data may have been extrapolated from Townships with Legal Subdivisions, Nearest Populated Centre or other sources. As of January 2015, the Board released a new Event Reporting System, which requires consistent reporting of latitude and longitude for all incidents.

Why has an incident that was previously on the map changed or disappeared?

The incident data shown is subject to change over time. As investigations are completed for open incidents, or as new information becomes available, the incident record is updated and may change the incident data, including whether the incident remains reportable under the applicable regulations. Accordingly, incident data shown is subject to change.

Why am I unable to find an incident that occurred?

  1. The incident map only includes incidents reported under the Onshore Pipeline Regulations that occurred on NEB-regulated pipelines. Incidents reported under other legislation such as the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act are not currently mapped.  Information relating to incidents on NEB-regulated pipelines that are not on the incident map can be obtained through the NEB’s Contact Us page.  For information on incidents which occurred on non-NEB-regulated pipelines, please contact the applicable regulator in the province or territory where the incident took place.

  2. If more than one incident occurred within approximately 50 meters of each other, then the incident dots may overlap on the map so it appears that one or more incidents were not mapped. This can be verified by looking at the tabular data and sorting on latitude and longitude.

How close I can zoom?

This map enables you to zoom to neighborhood level.

Why is Volume Released “Not Provided” on many Gas Release Incidents?

Volumes of natural gas releases are typically not estimated as there is no accurate method of estimating the release on a per event basis. As a result of this, the Onshore Pipelines Regulations require that companies report all unintended releases of natural gas regardless of volume. While the NEB does not track specific volumes, emission reporting is done at the provincial level as relevant air quality legislation often requires a level of reporting for overall emissions. For additional information on those reporting requirements, please direct inquiries to the relevant provincial authorities.

Why does an incident appear outside the Province or Territory that I selected?

This rare situation can occur if the reported latitude and longitude is outside the boundaries of the reported Province or Territory. The map uses reported latitude and longitude for the placement of the locator dot, whereas the filter uses the reported Province or Territory to select which incidents to display on the map.

Why do I see dots of different colours even after applying a filter on incident type?

Each event reported by a company may result in multiple reportable incident types. An event resulting in both a fire and a serious injury is an example of an event with multiple reportable incidents. In such cases, the dot represents multiple incident types and may appear in a colour that does not match the incident type selected in the map filter.

What is a Miscellaneous Release?

Miscellaneous releases are incidents where a product other than oil or gas is released. This includes incidents where a commodity is released from an NEB-regulated pipeline, or where any other product is released from facilities, equipment or activities related to NEB-regulated pipelines.

Who determines why an incident happened or what happened?

The NEB requires companies to identify causes for incidents relating to their facilities, and to include these in their reports. As part of the incident review, NEB staff considers whether the company has provided appropriate causes and supporting rationale.

Why do some incidents not have information for why an incident happened or what happened?

When an incident report is initially submitted, the company may not include why an incident happened or precisely what happened. This is often because the company is still investigating the incident to determine all causes. Prior to closing an incident, NEB staff ensure that immediate and basic causes have been identified.

What do the release types mean?

The release type relates to the primary product that is transported in the pipeline. Examples of the release types applicable to each category are as follows:

The gas category includes substances such as natural gas, sweet gas, fuel gas, and acid gas.

The liquid category includes substances such as low vapour pressure hydrocarbons, crude oil, natural gas liquids, and jet fuel.

The miscellaneous category includes substances such as mechanical pulp slurry, steam, effluent, processed water, and fresh water.

 

Date modified:

Carte interactive des pipelines – FAQ

En quoi consiste l’information montrée sur la carte?

La carte peut illustrer les pipelines réglementés par l’Office et les incidents signalés à l’Office depuis janvier 2008.

Par défaut, elle illustre les pipelines seulement. Vous pouvez modifier les paramètres pour voir les pipelines et les incidents, ensemble ou séparément.Par défaut, les incidents illustrés sont ceux qui ne sont pas encore conclus.

Vous pouvez personnaliser la carte pour voir des incidents survenus à des années antérieures. Veuillez consulter le guide d’utilisation ou cliquer sur les liens sous Pages connexes pour découvrir toutes les fonctionnalités de l’outil.

Pourquoi ne peut-on pas télécharger les données sur les pipelines?

La carte montre l’emplacement approximatif des pipelines, selon les données fournies par un fournisseur tiers spécialisé dans l’information géographique numérique. Comme ces données sont sous licence, l’Office ne peut pas offrir gratuitement des fichiers téléchargeables.

En revanche, vous pouvez télécharger facilement les données sur les incidents au moyen du lien sous Pages connexes.

Qu’est-ce qui distingue les deux fichiers de données à télécharger?

Le fichier de données intégrales sur les incidents renferme les informations complètes qui ont été collectées sur chacun des incidents dont le signalement est obligatoire. Le fichier de données alimentant la carte est un sous-ensemble du fichier de données intégrales qui ne renferme que les champs utilisés pour la carte interactive des incidents.

À quoi correspondent les divers états des pipelines?

En service : L’Office a été avisé que le pipeline est utilisé.

Approuvé : Le pipeline a été approuvé, mais il n’est pas utilisé ou la construction n’est pas terminée.

Désactivé : Le pipeline a été mis temporairement hors service.

Désaffecté : L’exploitation du pipeline ou du tronçon a cessé de façon définitive; toutefois, cela n’entraîne pas la suppression du service.

Cessé d’être exploité : L’exploitation du pipeline a cessé de façon définitive et le service est supprimé.

À quoi correspondent les divers statuts d’un incident?

Signalé : La société a signalé à l’Office qu’un incident s’est produit et a fourni des renseignements préliminaires. Une enquête est en cours.

Transmis : La société a transmis tous les renseignements requis et une enquête est en cours.

Fermé : L’enquête relative à l’incident est terminée et le dossier est clos.

À quelle fréquence les données sur les incidents sont-elles mises à jour?

Les données sur la carte des incidents sont mises à jour chaque trimestre.

Pourquoi les emplacements sont-ils approximatifs?

  1. Emplacements des pipelines
  2. Le registre de l’Office concernant l’emplacement des pipelines se fonde essentiellement sur des documents déposés par des sociétés (plan, profil et livre de renvoi). La carte montre l’emplacement approximatif des pipelines selon des données fournies par un fournisseur tiers spécialisé dans l’information géographique numérique. Comme ces données sont continuellement améliorées et mises à jour, l’Office pourra ajouter des renseignements sur d’autres pipelines de son ressort et indiquer l’emplacement des installations avec plus de précision. L’information présentée est donc sujette à changement.

  3. Lieux des incidents
  4. Avant 2015, les données fournies par les sociétés sur les emplacements des incidents pouvaient être dans divers formats. C’est pourquoi les données sur les emplacements ont pu être extrapolées à partir des cantons dotés de subdivisions officielles, de l’agglomération la plus proche ou d’autres sources. En janvier 2015, l’Office a lancé un nouveau système de signalement d’événements qui oblige les sociétés à signaler la latitude et la longitude d’une manière uniforme pour tous les incidents.

Quelles sont les raisons à l’origine de la modification d’un incident sur la carte ou de sa disparition?

Les données présentées relativement aux incidents sont sujettes à changement avec le temps. À mesure que de nouveaux renseignements sont mis en lumière, grâce à une enquête ou non, le dossier d’incident est mis à jour. Certaines données de l’incident peuvent ainsi être modifiées de telle sorte que l’incident signalé au départ ne répond plus aux critères d’incident à déclarer aux termes des règlements applicables. Par conséquent, les données présentées relativement aux incidents sont sujettes à changement.

Pourquoi est-ce que je ne parviens pas à trouver un incident qui s’est bel et bien produit?

  1. La carte des incidents ne renferme que les incidents causés par des pipelines réglementés par l’Office et qui ont été signalés en vertu du Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres. Les incidents rapportés aux termes, par exemple, de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada ne figurent pas actuellement sur la carte. De l’information sur des incidents qui ne figurent pas sur la carte peut être obtenue en passant par la page du site Web de l’Office intitulée Contactez-nous du site Web de l’Office. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur des incidents survenus sur des pipelines non réglementés par l’Office, prière de consulter l’organisme compétent de la province où s’est produit l’incident.

  2. Si plus d’un incident s’est produit à moins de 50 m environ l’un de l’autre, les points illustrant les incidents peuvent se chevaucher sur la carte, de sorte qu’on pourrait penser qu’un ou plusieurs incidents n’y ont pas été consignés. Cela peut se vérifier en consultant les données tabulaires et en faisant un tri par latitude et longitude.

À quelle échelle puis-je zoomer la carte?

Vous pouvez zoomer la carte à l’échelle du quartier.

Pourquoi, pour nombre d’incidents causés par un rejet de gaz, le volume rejeté n’est pas fourni?

Le volume des rejets de gaz naturel n’est généralement pas estimé, car il n’existe pas de méthode pour quantifier le volume rejeté lors d’un incident. C’est pourquoi le Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres prescrit aux sociétés de signaler tous les rejets de gaz naturel non intentionnels, quel que soit le volume. Les lois provinciales régissant la qualité de l’air exigent souvent un niveau de signalement pour les émissions globales; pour de plus amples renseignements, prière de s’adresser aux autorités provinciales compétentes.

Pourquoi un incident apparaît-il en dehors de la province ou du territoire que j’ai choisi?

Cette situation inusitée peut se produire lorsque la latitude et la longitude signalées se trouvent à l’extérieur des limites de la province ou du territoire déclaré. La carte utilise la latitude et la longitude signalées pour le placement du point de couleur, alors que le filtre utilise la province ou le territoire signalé pour sélectionner les incidents à afficher sur la carte.

Pourquoi vois-je des points de couleurs différentes même après avoir appliqué un filtre sur le type d’événement?

Chaque événement signalé par une société peut donner lieu à plusieurs types d’incidents à signaler. Une situation entraînant un incendie et une blessure grave est un exemple d’événement comportant plusieurs incidents à signaler. En pareils cas, le point représente plusieurs types d’incidents et peut apparaître dans une couleur qui ne correspond pas au type d’incident sélectionné dans le filtre de la carte.

Qu’est-qui est inclus dans « Autre » sur la carte des incidents?

La catégorie « Autre » comprend les incidents entraînant des effets négatifs sur l’environnement ou découlant de l’exploitation au-delà des tolérances de conception ou les déversements/rejets divers. Les utilisateurs peuvent afficher les divers types d’incidents individuellement en utilisant des filtres.

Qui détermine pourquoi un incident est survenu ou ce qui s’est passé?

L’Office exige des sociétés qu’elles cernent les causes d’un incident survenant à leurs installations et qu’elles les précisent dans leur rapport. Dans le cadre d’un examen subséquent du personnel de l’Office, celui-ci voit si les causes mentionnées par la société sont appropriées pour expliquer l’incident.

Pourquoi, pour certains incidents, n’y a-t-il pas de renseignements sur la raison de l’incident ou sur ce qui s’est passé?

Au moment de la présentation du rapport d’incident initial, il est possible que la société n’ait pas indiqué pourquoi un incident est survenu ou ce qui s’est passé de façon précise. Bien souvent, cela s’explique par le fait que l’enquête visant à déterminer toutes les causes n’est pas terminée. Avant de clore le dossier d’un incident, le personnel de l’Office s’assure que les causes immédiates et fondamentales ont été recensées.

À quoi correspondent les types de rejets?

Le type de rejet décrit le principal produit transporté dans le pipeline. Voici des exemples de types de rejets de chaque catégorie.

La catégorie « gaz » regroupe le gaz naturel, le gaz non corrosif, le gaz combustible et le gaz acide.

La catégorie « liquides » comprend les hydrocarbures à faible pression de vapeur, le pétrole brut, les liquides de gaz naturel et le carburéacteur.

La catégorie « divers » englobe des substances comme la pâte liquide résultant d’un procédé mécanique, la vapeur, les effluents, l’eau de procédé et l’eau fraîche.

 

Date de modification :