FAQ – Miscellaneous Order for Mechanical Properties of Pipe or Components

What is a “Miscellaneous Order”?

Miscellaneous Orders (MO) approve miscellaneous matters, such as the upgrading of maximum authorized operating pressures, conveyance, sale or lease of a pipeline or parts thereof, abandonment of pipelines, etc. MO’s may stipulate certain conditions a company must meet in order to be compliant.

What is this MO intended to do?

The purpose of this MO is to have an ongoing requirement for companies to notify the NEB of any pipe or components received, installed, or in service, that do not meet the mechanical property requirements of industry standards or company specifications.

Specifically, the MO will require:

  • Companies to have an ongoing requirement to notify the NEB of any pipe or components received, installed, or in service, that do not meet the mechanical property requirements of industry standards or company specifications.
  • A company’s Accountable Officer (AO) to confirm that its QA Program has been improved with the objective of preventing future instances of pipe or components not meeting specifications from occurring.
  • A company’s AO to confirm that the company has conducted an engineering assessment (EA) to verify that the pipe or components remain fit for service (where required).
  • When requested by the NEB, companies must provide completed EA’s under this Order. The NEB could make this request for several reasons, including validation of compliance with the MO.
  • In addition, the NEB could conduct targeted implementation assessment meetings or specific inspections to evaluate the EA and the criteria the EA used to assess the safety of the pipeline and related facilities.

Why did the NEB release a Draft Miscellaneous Order prior to finalizing the MO?

The NEB wanted input from Canadians and NEB-regulated companies regarding how the draft MO, if made final, would impact those companies and/or to ensure all provisions were clear – for example:

  • obtaining companies’ views on whether or not certain stipulated provisions could be carried out;
  • helping to identify if other provisions should be added or modified; and
  • specifying the scope of the requirements so that companies will be more accurate in reporting.

Why is there no end date for this MO?

The NEB recognizes that addressing this industry wide concern cannot be done overnight and that it will require time. All regulated companies are expected to have fully implemented management systemsFootnote 1 that include provisions for continual improvement. Over time these companies gain a better understanding of the factors they need to consider to address this issue in their management system, and as a result will make the necessary changes in their processes. The NEB however wants to be kept informed of all instances of pipe or components not meeting specifications in order to maintain its oversight and also to be able to intervene when it deems necessary.

What changes were made to the Draft MO as a result of these comments?

The comments received were made where it was thought to increase clarity on the scope of the MO. Significant changes from the draft version of the MO include:

  • Clarification that the order does not apply to pipe or components that companies have already notified the Board about pursuant to MO-001-2016.
  • Specification that the Board is interested in pipe and components at all stages: received, installed, and in service.
  • Changing the phrase “material properties” to “mechanical properties” to align with CSA definitions and clarify that this MO is not intended to apply to defects such as minor damage during transport or coating defects.
  • Clarification that “required specifications” refers to both industry standards as well as company specifications.
  • Separating required actions for pipe and components that have been or will be installed from those for pipe and components that have not been and will not be installed.

What happens if a company is non-compliant with the MO?

If an NEB-regulated company is found to be non-compliant with the MO (for example not producing an EA when requested), the NEB can take advantage of a number of enforcement tools, including issuing Order(s) to that specific company to compel its compliance, issuing Administrative Monetary Penalties,  or revoking a company’s authorization to operate.

Have more questions?

Check out our FAQ on Pipeline Fittings or our Video on our website.

Date modified:

FAQ – Ordonnance diverse concernant les propriétés mécaniques des conduites ou des composantes

Ordonnance diverse concernant les propriétés mécaniques des conduites ou des composantes

Les ordonnances diverses servent à approuver différentes questions telles que les suivantes : augmentation de la pression maximale d’exploitation autorisée; transfert, vente ou location d’un pipeline ou de parties de pipeline; cessation d’exploitation des pipelines, etc. Les ordonnances diverses peuvent comporter certaines conditions qu’une société doit respecter pour être conforme.

Quel est le but de cette ordonnance diverse?

Cette ordonnance diverse exige que les sociétés avisent l’Office de toute conduite ou composante reçue, installée ou en service dont les propriétés mécaniques ne respectent pas les normes de l’industrie ou les exigences techniques de la société.

Plus précisément, l’ordonnance diverse exige ce qui suit :

  • Les sociétés doivent aviser l’Office de toute conduite ou composante reçue, installée ou en service dont les propriétés mécaniques ne respectent pas les normes de l’industrie ou les exigences techniques de la société.
  • Le dirigeant responsable de la société doit confirmer que le programme d’assurance de la qualité a été amélioré de manière à prévenir toute autre situation de non-conformité d’une conduite ou des composantes.
  • Le dirigeant responsable doit confirmer que la société a réalisé une évaluation technique pour vérifier que la conduite ou les composantes restent propres au service (au besoin).
  • À la demande de l’Office, les sociétés doivent fournir les évaluations techniques effectuées selon l’ordonnance diverse qui a été rendue. L’Office peut faire une telle demande pour plusieurs raisons, y compris pour valider la conformité avec l’ordonnance diverse.
  • En outre, l’Office peut tenir des réunions ciblées d’évaluation de la mise en œuvre ou mener des inspections précises afin d’étudier l’évaluation technique et les critères utilisés pour évaluer la sûreté du pipeline et des installations connexes.

Pourquoi l’Office a-t-il publié une ébauche d’ordonnance diverse avant la version finale?

L’Office voulait obtenir l’avis des Canadiens et des sociétés réglementées pour connaître l’impact d’une telle ordonnance sur les sociétés et pour assurer la clarté des dispositions énoncées, plus précisément :

  • obtenir l’opinion des sociétés sur la possibilité de mettre en application certaines dispositions;
  • déterminer la nécessité d’ajouter ou de modifier des dispositions;
  • préciser la portée des exigences pour que les sociétés puissent signaler les problèmes de façon plus exacte.

Pourquoi cette ordonnance diverse n’a-t-elle pas de date de fin?

L’Office est conscient qu’il faudra du temps pour traiter ce problème à l’échelle de l’industrie. Toutes les sociétés réglementées sont tenues d’avoir des systèmes de gestion entièrement mis en œuvreNote de bas de page 1 qui comprennent des méthodes d’amélioration continue. Avec le temps, les sociétés comprennent mieux les facteurs à considérer pour corriger un problème dans leur système de gestion et apporter les changements nécessaires dans leurs procédés. L’Office veut être informé de toutes les conduites ou composantes non conformes aux exigences pour maintenir la surveillance et pouvoir intervenir au besoin.

Quels changements ont été apportés à l’ébauche d’ordonnance diverse par suite des commentaires reçus?

Les commentaires reçus visaient à clarifier davantage la portée de l’ordonnance diverse. Voici une liste de changements importants apportés à l’ébauche de l’ordonnance diverse :

  • clarifier que l’ordonnance ne s’applique pas aux conduites ou composantes déjà signalées à l’Office par les sociétés conformément à l’ordonnance MO-001-2016;
  • préciser que l’Office est intéressés par les conduites et composantes reçues, installées et en service;
  • remplacer « propriétés des matériaux « par « propriétés mécaniques » pour aligner l’ordonnance sur les définitions de la CSA et clarifier que l’ordonnance diverse ne s’applique pas aux dommages mineurs survenus pendant le transport ni aux défauts de revêtement;
  • préciser que les exigences requises englobent les normes de l’industrie et les exigences techniques de la société;
  • séparer les mesures requises pour les conduites et composantes déjà installées, ou devant l’être, de celles qui s’appliquent aux conduites et composantes qui n’ont pas été installées et ne le seront pas.

Qu’arriverait-il aux sociétés qui ne se conformeraient pas à l’ordonnance diverse?

Pour les sociétés qui ne respectent pas l’ordonnance diverse (par exemple en ne soumettant pas l’évaluation technique sur demande), l’Office peut avoir recours à un certain nombre d’outils d’exécution, soit en rendant des ordonnances, en infligeant des sanctions administratives pécuniaires ou en révoquant l’autorisation d’exploitation.

D’autres questions?

Consultez la FAQ sur les raccords de pipeline ou la vidéo sur notre site Web.

Date de modification :